讓我們去的布萊克地區生活博物館(譯)

昨天我們前往達德利參觀布萊克地區生活博物館。首先,讓我只想說,這個地方是'bostin“(黑色國家的”真正而穿上一定蠻帥'講)。

我必須承認,AR去與有些驚懼的AR曾在拖我的5年期舊(張曼玉)和3歲老(洛伊絲),和Ar是不能確定的工業歷史露天博物館將舉行他們的興趣 - 按AR錯了 - 他們絕對崇拜這個地方;一點也不亞於我。

當我們進入博物館喲注意到的第一件事是氣味 - 這是偉大的,它聞起來真火和煙 - 工業。當我們掀起它開始下毛毛雨 - 無後顧之憂,把它添加到大氣中,有很充足的地方,發現室內 - 首先在村莊的郊外的小溫馨“傾斜小屋”,為什麼呢?在第一章裡面已經有了一個咆哮的火。他很熱情,馬上從事與孩子們...瑪吉星期一 - '在哪裡電視嗎?“

這是他們的反應,外部廁所的前景...

這將是一個有趣的和啟發性的一天!整個村子的人物真的把它帶到生活和很偉大與誰AR孩子我肯定認為他們實際上住在這裡。除了上面提到的,想像這裡的傢伙 - 他們的女人在硬件商店,誰要讓他們敲響了下鈴,誰教他們怎麼玩傳統遊戲的街道,在活潑的酒吧侍女誰把他們的親切和老女孩都全神貫注週一誰告訴他們沐浴在他的錫槽在開放式壁爐前。我有更多的榮譽,並給他們的所有。

今天是'黑色國家去打仗'的日子,和博物館了整個複雜一些額外的娛樂。士兵和護士周圍的街道,現場戲劇,詩歌和音樂走,藥房外的中士正在指導戰時演練的孩子,看著他行軍他們周圍,並通過切橋是偉大的。張曼玉喜歡聽,並與加盟“當罌粟繁華落盡”一對夫婦女士唱的工人研究所網吧戰時歌曲。 AR真的沒想到AR是在集“贖罪”或“希望與榮耀”的。

當他們發現在地平線上的一個老繽我們沒有選擇,只能咕的遊樂場。一定要採取一些額外的錢進入博物館的喲必須購買令牌咕的遊樂設施。這個區域是美好的,先起來,他們騎著老旋轉木馬,這是熱鬧,因為它似乎真的是撿了速度,每轉一圈。在一個點AR思想AR可能需要煽動基努·里維斯“速度”的風格提取 - 但沒必要,這是完全安全的,他們絕對喜歡它和扒手道奇類型小子跑傳送帶保持著謹慎的眼睛,他們是安全的。接下來擺船,然後在椰子害羞了幾個鏡頭;然後時間來檢驗我的實力在射擊場。不差,錯過了第一,打接下來的兩袋裝他們的獎金;他們選擇了一個隨機的玩具老虎。

旁邊的遊樂場是聖詹姆斯學校,我是誰剛剛進入她的第二年,張曼玉是在設置了特別感興趣,在這裡​​沒有互動板!整個一天,他們也跑學校的功課,可惜一次是在會議上,我們進入了,但是喲可以看到透過窗戶看著他們。學校大娘看著嚇人!這是為孩子和內存調用的前輩大樂趣。

作為一個電影研究生的我喜歡的地方是風頭電影院 - 今天是顯示從1914年至1915年罕見的電影,它像一個更老的電動影院和整體大氣。 AR心想AR想住在這裡(一天或兩個反正!)

我很驚訝在博物館的規模和東西可看量,注重細節是驚人的,它完全身臨其境,衣服,硬件,甜,蛋糕店,後院(我喜歡去人跡罕至的地方尋找在所有的角落和縫隙)野生花卉花園以及豬,在教堂,WI,與船的運河邊上,AR可以想見誰在這裡工作,住在小時後,喝在酒吧的人; AR一定會的。

說到這瓶和玻璃Inn酒店是我們的下一站 - 真正的吐和木屑的地方,也只是鋸末謝天謝地。由於AR正在享受我的憔悴布林德ALE品脫(第二系列的部分我正在這裡拍攝)坐在熊熊燃燒的篝火,並回歸到bostin醇'天最後的訂單鈴響了,AR檢查了我的手錶,AR意味著我的手錶 - 3.45(arrrghhh),該副井我關在15分鐘 - AR頸我PB和熱足它品脫霍布斯“魚和薯條店,使得它只是在時間,AR是當天的最後一個客戶。霍布斯“炸魚和薯條是全國各地著名的是其中最好的,他們沒有讓人失望,雖然孩子們吃了大部分 - 他們熟牛肉淋漓,他們不知道,或許AR應該有告訴他們!

現在,位於沿切割博物館的實體產業的部分 - 包括晶圓代工,連鎖製造車間,工廠和偽造。在這裡,我們看到技術工人,使他們的商品,氣味,煙塵,塵垢果然是大氣。在即喲可以登上削減船,乘坐到石灰岩溶洞,有一個嘗試,在“裹腿'通過隧道將船;要知道,我有這個額外費用,但它是值得的。

電車是出於今日(被服務)的行動,但我們搭便車的老車,蹦跳著在後面路過的士兵和護士戰時外,我們評論說,感覺就像我們在那些電影場景,其中一個孩子們正在疏散到農村抓著自己的旅行箱到胸前。然而,我們的目的地是回到我們開始,我們有村之一決賽圈,沿AR的方式發現某些位,我們錯過了 - (!宕)(!詛咒)的地下礦山,園區呦真的需要一個完整的當天在這裡體驗到完整的產品。

最後一站是孩子們得到了一些彈珠店;目前他們已經取代了innotab為一時的玩物。

這個地方確實是令人驚訝和AR懇請喲咕。這是一個迷人的洞察到這一顯著的領域 - 誰,雖然行業可能是太令人興奮了。如果你已經有了孩子 - AR的承諾,他們會愛上它!

在9月13日凌晨黑色國家之夜上幾個星期 - AR想像這個地方會是在晚上特別是大氣 - AR迫不及待地想回到咕既不可以張曼玉還是洛伊斯說誰當我們離開之多。

In "讓我們去的布萊克地區生活博物館(譯)"

要點

地圖與指南

地圖和指南為您的光臨。

閱讀更多

四處逛逛

四處逛逛伯明翰再簡單不過了......

閱讀更多

探索

搜索地點,活動和住宿...

閱讀更多

節日及活動

一起來看看什麼在此時此地來了...

閱讀更多

FROM TWITTER

RT @BirminghamFCM: Heading to the German Market later, and fancy impressing our friends from Deutschland? Try using some of these simple ph…

RT @B4Parking: Christmas shopping in Birmingham this weekend? B4 Car Park offers unbeatable parking tariffs with their free membership. Eve…

RT @custardfactory: The @SaraPreisler Gallery's stunning festive window display is worthy of a place in the gallery itself.Pop in today f…

RT @AVFCOfficial: 📸 @Dr_TonyXia and @Retsub12 welcome the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge to Villa Park...#PartOfThePride #AVFC https://t.c

節日及活動

體育亮點

文化

藝術畫廊

伯明翰的藝術收藏品是一樣寬,它是令人印象深刻。

閱讀更多

影片

复,英國最古老的電影院工作或美術家很酷?

閱讀更多

伯明翰博物館和藝術畫廊

一個充滿活力的博物館在城市的心臟有超過40個展廳。

閱讀更多

舞蹈

一個多元化的舞蹈團體和場所。

閱讀更多

看多了,覺得比較

得來,留得住,沉浸在文化在歐洲最具活力的城市之一。

閱讀更多

購物

Shoppinginbirmingham.com

計劃全店,中心和品牌目錄完美的購物之旅。

閱讀更多

購物中心

來自世界著名的,21世紀的鬥牛場的西部大商場的維多利亞式的優雅。

閱讀更多

充滿活力的街道

鏈接中心是伯明翰繁華的購物街,擠滿了各大品牌和精品獨立。

閱讀更多

市場

千萬不要錯過伯明翰的驚人的市場 - 無論是850歲的鬥牛市場或正規農貿市場。

閱讀更多

珠寶區

首頁更多的鑽戒,收尾和定情比其他地方的國家。

閱讀更多

在伯明翰結婚

我們擁有一切,從覆蓋環說得最多的場館本身。

閱讀更多

Let's go to the Black Country Living Museum (Translated)

Yesterday we headed to Dudley to visit the Black Country Living Museum. First off, let me just say that this place am ‘bostin’ (Black Country speak for ‘really rather spiffing’).

I must confess ar went in with some trepidation as ar had in tow my 5yr old (Maggie) and 3 yr old (Lois), and ar wasn’t certain that an historical industrial open-air museum would hold their interest – as per ar was wrong - they absolutely adored this place; almost as much as me.

As we entered the museum the first thing yo notice am the smell – It’s great, it smells of real fires and smoke - industrial. As we set off it begins to drizzle – no worries, it adds to the atmosphere and there’re plenty of places to discover indoors - First off a small cosy ‘tilted cottage’ on the outskirts of the village, why? The chap inside has got a roaring fire on. He’s very welcoming and immediately engages with the kids... Maggie to mon – ‘Where’s the TV?’

This am their reaction to the prospect of an outside toilet...

this was going to be an entertaining and enlightening day! The characters throughout the village really bring it to life and am great with the kids who ar am sure believed they actually lived here. Besides the guy mentioned above and pictured here - They were engrossed by the woman in the hardware shop, who let them ring her bell, the girl who taught them how to play traditional street games, the chirpy bar maid who poured their cordial and the old mon who told them about bathing in his tin bath in front of the open fire. There am many more and kudos to them all.

Today was ‘Black Country Goes to War’ day, and the museum had some extra entertainment throughout the complex. Soldiers and nurses were walking around the streets, live theatre, poetry and music, outside the pharmacy a sergeant was instructing the kids in wartime drills, watching him march them around and over the cut bridge was great. Maggie loved listening to and joining in with ‘When Poppies Bloom Again’ a couple of ladies singing wartime songs in the Workers’ Institute cafe. ar really did think ar was on the set of ‘Atonement’ or ‘Hope & Glory’.

As soon as they spotted an old helter skelter on the horizon we had no option but to goo to the funfair. Be sure to take some extra money into the museum as yo have to purchase tokens to goo on the rides. This area was wonderful, first up they rode an old carousel, this was hilarious as it really seemed to be picking up speed with each revolution. At one point ar thought ar might need to instigate a Keanu Reeves ‘Speed’ style extraction – but no need, it was perfectly safe and they absolutely loved it and the Artful Dodger type kid running the carousel kept a careful eye that they were safe. Next up the swing boats and then a couple of shots on the coconut shy; then time to test my prowess on the shooting gallery. Not bad, missed the first, hit the next two and bagged them a prize; they chose a random stuffed tiger.

Next to the funfair am the St. James’ school, Maggie who am just entering her second year was especially interested in the set-up, no interactive board here! Throughout the day they also run school lessons, unfortunately one was in session as we entered, but yo can see watch them through the windows. The School ma’am looked intimidating! This am great fun for the kids and memory invoking for the older generation.

Being a film graduate one of my favourite locations was the Limelight Cinema – today it was showing rare films from 1914-1915, it was like an even older Electric Cinema and wholly atmospheric. ar thought to myself ar would like to live here (for a day or two anyway!)

I was amazed at the size of the museum and the amount of things to see, the attention to detail was astounding, it was fully immersive, the clothes, hardware, sweet and cake shops, the backyards (I loved going off the beaten track looking in all the nooks and crannies) the wild flower gardens complete with pigs, the church, the WI, the canalside with boats, ar can imagine the people who work here, staying over after hours, drinking in the pub; ar certainly would.

Talking of which The Bottle and Glass Inn was our next stop – a real spit and sawdust place, well just sawdust thankfully. As ar was enjoying my pint of Peaky Blinder ale (parts of the 2nd series am being filmed here) sat by a roaring fire and regressing into the bostin ol’ days the last orders bell rang, ar checked my timepiece, ar mean my watch - 3.45 (arrrghhh), the chippy am shutting in 15 mins - ar necked my pint of PB and hot-footed it to Hobbs’ Fish and Chip Shop, making it just in time, ar was the last customer of the day. Hobbs’ fish and chips am renown throughout the land for being amongst the best, and they didn’t disappoint, although the kids ate most of them - they’re cooked in beef dripping, they didn’t know that, perhaps ar should have told them!

Now to the real industrial part of the museum located along the cut - including the foundry, the chain making shop, the mill and the forge. Here we watched skilled workers making their wares, the smells, the soot, the grime it really was atmospheric. Around the corner yo can board a cut boat and take a ride into the limestone caverns and have a try at ‘legging’ to move the boat through the tunnels; be aware that there am an additional charge for this, but it’s worth it.

The tram was out of action today (being serviced), but we hitched a ride on an old truck, bouncing around in the back passing the soldiers and wartime nurses outside, we commented that it felt like we were in one of those film scenes where children am evacuated to the countryside clutching their suitcases to their chests. Our destination however was back to where we embarked as we had one final loop of the village, along the way ar noticed some bits that we missed - the underground mine (dang!), the park (curses!) Yo really do need a full day here to experience the complete offering.

Last stop the shop were the kids got some marbles; at present they have replaced the innotab as the plaything of the moment.

This place really was surprising and ar implore yo to goo. It’s a fascinating insight into this remarkable area - who though industry could be so exciting. And if you’ve got children – ar promise they’ll love it!

In a couple of weeks on the 13th September am Black Country Night – ar imagine this place would be especially atmospheric at night - ar can’t wait to goo back and neither can Maggie or Lois who said as much as we left.

In "Let's go to the Black Country Living Museum (Translated)"

Essentials

Maps & Guides

Maps & Guides for your visit.

Read More

Getting around

Getting around Birmingham couldn’t be easier...

Read More

What's on

Search for places, events & accommodation...

Read More

Festivals & events

Take a look at what’s on now and coming up here...

Read More

FROM TWITTER

RT @ParkRegisBirm: It's half-term! 🎉To help you out, we've made a list of 10 free things to do with your little ones in the city: https://…

RT @thechrismoose: There's a strange tingling in my antlers which means Christmas is coming! Either that or my medication's wearing off htt…

RT @BhamCityCouncil: Christmas is coming to Brum: https://t.co/iGFh3XFeUW Get ready for the #Christmascountdown - 4 weeks 'til the market,…

Festivals & events

Sporting highlights

Culture

Art Galleries

Birmingham’s art collection is as wide as it is impressive. 

Read More

Stage & Screen

From touring West End shows to showcasing local talent.

Read More

Music

A huge arena tour or an intimate gig?  You’ll find it here.

Read More

Film

Multiplexes, the UK’s oldest working cinema or art house cool?

Read More

Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery

A vibrant museum in the heart of the city with over 40 galleries.

Read More

Dance

A diverse range of dance groups and venues.

Read More

See More, Feel More

Come, stay and soak up the culture in one of Europe's most vibrant cities.

Read More

Shopping

Shoppinginbirmingham.com

Plan the perfect shopping trip with full store, centre and brand directories.

Read More

Shopping centres

From the world-famous, 21st Century Bullring to the Victorian elegance of the Great Western Arcade.

Read More

Vibrant streets

Linking the centres are Birmingham’s bustling shopping streets, packed with major brands and boutique independents.

Read More

Markets

Don’t miss Birmingham’s amazing markets – whether it’s the 850-year old Bullring markets or the...

Read More

Jewellery Quarter

Home to more diamond rings, finishing touches and tokens of love than anywhere else in...

Read More

Getting Married in Birmingham

We have everything covered from the rings right up to the venue itself.

Read More