Shakespeare Sonnet Giveaway bei der Geburtstags-Parade

Die Besucher von Stratford-upon-Avon für Shakespeares 453. Geburtstagsfeiern am 22. April sollten auf der Suche nach diesem oder den vielen anderen Sonetten von Shakespeare sein, die an die Massen verteilt werden, während sie sich auf dem Weg der diesjährigen Geburtstags-Parade durch das Stadtzentrum versammeln. Von knapp nach 9:30 Uhr werden die Schüler des ehemaligen Lernplatzes des Königs, die König Edward VI Schule, die handgehaltenen Geburtstagsfeierfahnen und Schriftrollen mit Shakespeares Sonetten verschenken.

Soll ich dich mit einem Sommertag vergleichen? Viele Menschen erkennen diese Linie als Shakespeares Arbeit, vielleicht sogar, dass es der Anfang eines der berühmtesten Sonetten des Bard ist, aber weißt du, welches? Shakespeare schrieb 154 Sonette in allen, und das ist Nummer 18.

Es gibt 10.000 Scrolls, jeweils mit einem Sonett gedruckt innen, jeder einzeln geschnitten, gerollt und gesichert mit dem Siegel von 'WS' bezeichnet William Shakespeare. Jeder ist ein Andenken in seinem eigenen Recht an diesem besonderen Tag, der den 453. Geburtstag des berühmtesten Sohnes der Stadt markiert. Aber es gibt mehr zu unterhalten und begeistern Zuschauer, wie sie sorgfältig brechen das Siegel zu entdecken, welches Sonett sie haben und ob sie ein preisgekröntes 'Lucky Sonnet' haben.

 

 

 

 

  Der Bürgermeister von Stratford-upon-Avon, Juliet Short sagte:

Wir wollten den Menschen ein Andenken über ihren Besuch bei den 453. Geburtstagsfeiern präsentieren, denn die letzten Shakespeare Masken des letzten Jahres waren so ein Erfolg. Das Sonett ist eine perfekte Verbindung zu dem reichen Erbe, das uns alle in William Shakespeares Schriftzug hinterlassen hat.
Ich muss ein großes Dankeschön an die Teams von Freiwilligen sagen, die mit einer Schere bewaffnet sind, die die Lucky Sonnet Scrolls Realität gemacht haben. Unsere freiwilligen "Schneidbesatzungen" haben alle 10.000 Schriftrollen ausgeschnitten, um ihnen den Blick eines alten, handschriftlichen Dokuments zu geben. Und die drei abends verbrachten rockin 'und ROLLIN' im Rathaus sahen alle rollen einzeln gerollt und versiegelt, bereit zu liefern.

Lokale Unternehmen und Organisationen in Stratford-upon-Avon haben großzügig eine fabelhafte Reihe von Preisen von einer erfrischenden Tasse Tee während der Feier-Wochenende, freien Eintritt zu lokalen Exponate, sowie Schönheitsbehandlungen und andere Produkte gespendet.

Ein sehr glücklicher Empfänger wird das "Goldene Sonett" mit einer hervorragenden Sammlung von Gastfreundschaftspreisen eröffnen, die von den Geschäftsmitgliedern von Shakespeares England, der offiziellen Zielverwaltungsorganisation für Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwick, Kenilworth, Royal Leamington Spa und der Umgebung, zusammengetragen wurden Städte und Dörfer. Es gibt eine Übernachtung in einem der Top-Hotels von Stratford-upon-Avon, dem Welcombe Hotel, dem Golf Club und dem Spa, dem Eintritt in die Shakespeare's Family Houses, einem Besuch in Shakespeares Schoolroom & Guildhall und einer Chance, die Ausstellung des RSC "The Play" zu besuchen Das Ding 'am Schwanentheater. Der glückliche Gewinner ist zu tun, ist da, am richtigen Ort zur richtigen Zeit!

Stadtschreiber, Sarah Summers fügte hinzu:

Bei der Organisation von Shakespeares Feiern hängen wir in den Stadt- und Bezirksräten sehr stark von der Unterstützung und dem guten Willen jeder Organisation in und um Stratford-upon-Avon ab. Daher sind wir allen örtlichen Unternehmen besonders dankbar, die uns gut gegeben haben Mit Preisen für unsere Lucky Sonnets.
Jede gewinnende Rolle enthält einen Papierzettel mit Details des Preises und wann und wo es behauptet werden sollte. Jeder Slip ist mit dem Ausweis des Stadtrates als Beweis für seine Echtheit geprägt - es kann nicht repliziert werden, so dass nur der echte Artikel genügen wird!
Es gibt keine Verpflichtung, uns zu sagen, wenn Sie einen Preis gewinnen, aber wir würden besonders gerne hören, wer das "Goldene Sonett" genießen wird. Also, wenn Sie glücklich sind, mit uns zu sprechen, damit wir Ihr Glück veröffentlichen können, lassen Sie bitte die verschiedenen Organisationen wissen, wem Sie sind, wenn Sie Ihre Preise beanspruchen. Viel Glück und eine tolle Zeit feiern mit uns am 22. April!

Der Bard wird als Schriftsteller eines bestimmten Stils bekannt, der als "englisch" oder "Shakespeare-Sonett" bekannt ist - aber er hat es nicht wirklich erfinden und er war nicht der erste, der Sonette in der englischen Sprache schrieb. Das Shakespeare- oder Englisch-Sonett hat typischerweise 14 Zeilen, die als drei verschiedene reimende vierzeilige Abschnitte strukturiert sind, gefolgt von einem zweireihigen reimenden Couplet zum Abschluss.

Das Sonett wurde von vielen Dichtern in vielen Sprachen benutzt, da es im Mittelalter erfunden wurde, angeblich von einem sizilianischen Schriftsteller Giacomo da Lentini. Während der Herrschaft von Heinrich VIII. Führten englische Dichter wie Sir Thomas Wyatt und Henry Howard, Earl of Surrey, vor Gericht ein. Seitdem haben die Dichter neue und verschiedene Wege gefunden, es zu benutzen - es war ein Liebesgedicht, eine Elegie, ein Naturgedicht, ein Argument, ein Gedicht des Gedächtnisses und vieles mehr nach der Internetseite www.interestingliterature.com.

Eine vollständige Liste der Organisationen, die die Preise geschickt haben, wird auf www.shakespearescelebrations.com und auf dem gedruckten Programm auf der Geburtstags-Parade am Samstag, 22. April 2017 erscheinen.

Shakespeare Sonnet giveaway at the Birthday Parade

Visitors to Stratford-upon-Avon for Shakespeare’s 453rd Birthday Celebrations on 22nd April should be on the lookout for this or the many other sonnets of Shakespeare being distributed to the crowds as they gather along the route of this year’s Birthday Parade through the town centre. From just after 9:30am students of the Bard’s former place of learning, King Edward VI School, will give away hand held Birthday Celebration flags and scrolls bearing Shakespeare’s sonnets.

 

Shall I compare thee to a summer’s day…?  Many people recognise this line as Shakespeare’s work, maybe even that it is the beginning of one of the Bard’s most famous sonnets, but do you know which one? Shakespeare wrote 154 sonnets in all, and that one is number 18. 

There are 10,000 scrolls, each with a Sonnet printed inside, each individually cut, rolled and secured with the seal of ‘WS’ denoting William Shakespeare.  Each is a keepsake in its own right of this special day marking the 453rd birthday of the town’s most famous son.  But there is more to entertain and excite spectators as they carefully break the seal to discover which sonnet they have and whether they have a prizewinning ‘Lucky Sonnet’.  

 

 

 

 

 The Mayor of Stratford-upon-Avon, Juliet Short said:

We wanted to present people with a memento of their visit to the 453rd Birthday Celebrations, as last year’s free Shakespeare masks were such a success.  The sonnet is a perfect link to the rich legacy left to us all in William Shakespeare’s writing. 
I have to say a huge thank you to the teams of volunteers armed with scissors who have made the Lucky Sonnet scrolls a reality.  Our volunteer ‘cutting crews’ have cut out all 10,000 scrolls to give them the look of an old, handwritten document; and the three evenings spent rockin’ and ROLLIN’ at the Town Hall saw all the scrolls individually rolled and sealed, ready to deliver.

Local businesses and organisations in Stratford-upon- Avon have generously donated a fabulous array of prizes ranging from a refreshing cup of tea during the Celebrations weekend, free entrance to local exhibits, as well as beauty treatments and other products.

One very fortunate recipient will open the ‘Golden Sonnet’ containing a superb collection of hospitality prizes gathered together from its business members by Shakespeare’s England, the official destination management organisation for Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwick, Kenilworth, Royal Leamington Spa and the surrounding towns and villages. It includes an overnight stay at one of Stratford-upon-Avon’s top hotels, the Welcombe Hotel, Golf Club and Spa, entrance to Shakespeare’s Family Houses, a visit to Shakespeare’s Schoolroom & Guildhall and a chance to visit the RSC’s exhibition, ‘The Play’s The Thing’ at the Swan Theatre .  All the lucky winner has to do is be there, in the right place at the right time!

Town Clerk, Sarah Summers added:

In organising Shakespeare’s Celebrations, we at the Town and District Councils depend very much on the support and goodwill of every organisation in and around Stratford-upon-Avon, so we are especially grateful to all the local businesses who have been kind enough to provide us with prizes for our Lucky Sonnets.  
Each winning scroll contains a paper slip with details of the prize and when and where it should be claimed.  Each slip is embossed with the Town Council’s badge as evidence of its authenticity – it can’t be replicated, so only the genuine article will suffice!
There is no obligation to tell us if you win a prize, but we’d particularly love to hear who gets to enjoy the ‘Golden Sonnet’. So, if you are happy to talk to us so we may publicise your good fortune, please let the various organisations know who you are when you claim your prizes.  Good luck and have a great time celebrating with us on April 22nd!

The Bard is acknowledged as a writer of a particular style known as the ‘English’ or ‘Shakespearean’ sonnet – but he didn’t actually invent it and he wasn’t the first to write sonnets in the English language. The Shakespearean or English sonnet typically has 14 lines, structured as three different rhyming four-line sections, followed by a two-line rhyming couplet to conclude.

The sonnet has been used by many poets in many languages since it was invented in the Middle Ages, reputedly by a Sicilian writer, Giacomo da Lentini.  During the reign of Henry VIII, English poets such as Sir Thomas Wyatt and Henry Howard, Earl of Surrey, introduced it at court. Since then poets have found new and various ways to use it– it’s been a love poem, an elegy, a nature poem, an argument, a poem of remembrance, and more besides, according to the website, www.interestingliterature.com.

A full list of the organisations who have kindly donated prizes will appear on www.shakespearescelebrations.com and on the printed programme available at the Birthday Parade on Saturday 22 April 2017.

Essentials

Maps & Guides

Maps & Guides for your visit.

Read More

Getting around

Getting around Birmingham couldn’t be easier...

Read More

What's on

Search for places, events & accommodation...

Read More

Festivals & events

Take a look at what’s on now and coming up here...

Read More

FROM TWITTER

RT @CoffinWorks: As part of the #JewelleryQuarterFestival we have a brilliant evening of folk music! Book your tickets here! https://t.co/t

RT @thegastrocard: #WinningWednesday #Birmingham 💕@TheCBSO @staying_cool @flybe ✈️ @SummerSolihull @Lemar @HogarthsHotel @harry_moseley htt…

RT @chibeba: Lovely colourful weekend break #Birmingham @visitengland @visit_bham @BhamBotanicalGd city that exceeds expectations; love the…

Festivals & events

Sporting highlights

Culture

Art Galleries

Birmingham’s art collection is as wide as it is impressive. 

Read More

Stage & Screen

From touring West End shows to showcasing local talent.

Read More

Music

A huge arena tour or an intimate gig?  You’ll find it here.

Read More

Film

Multiplexes, the UK’s oldest working cinema or art house cool?

Read More

Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery

A vibrant museum in the heart of the city with over 40 galleries.

Read More

Dance

A diverse range of dance groups and venues.

Read More

See More, Feel More

Come, stay and soak up the culture in one of Europe's most vibrant cities.

Read More

Shopping

Shoppinginbirmingham.com

Plan the perfect shopping trip with full store, centre and brand directories.

Read More

Shopping centres

From the world-famous, 21st Century Bullring to the Victorian elegance of the Great Western Arcade.

Read More

Vibrant streets

Linking the centres are Birmingham’s bustling shopping streets, packed with major brands and boutique independents.

Read More

Markets

Don’t miss Birmingham’s amazing markets – whether it’s the 850-year old Bullring markets or the...

Read More

Jewellery Quarter

Home to more diamond rings, finishing touches and tokens of love than anywhere else in...

Read More

Getting Married in Birmingham

We have everything covered from the rings right up to the venue itself.

Read More