伯明翰圖書館

你參觀了伯明翰圖書館

由荷蘭建築師梅卡諾設計,圖書館已經改變了城市的圖書館服務,並成為一個主要的文化旅遊勝地,住房伯明翰的世界級的檔案,照片和善本的收藏品,以及一百萬卷印刷,任何公共圖書館舉辦的規模最大數量在英國。其中,超過 40萬的書籍都可以 在圖書館的公共地板。

憑藉優秀的資源,並獲得專家的幫助,圖書館更是精益求精掃盲,研究,學習,技能發展,健康信息,創意表達和創業的中心。

在31000平方米,它比老中央圖書館的建築大20%左右,是歐洲最大的公共圖書館

 

伯明翰圖書館是伯明翰市議會的20年大市計劃一個旗艦項目,重點城市的再生和有史以來在英國最深遠的市中心開發項目。

 

 

十級圖書館股寬敞的入口大廳和以及靈活的小劇場座位300人,伯明翰話劇團。選址在百年廣場的話,伴隨著的REP和交響樂大廳,形成了一個新的文化心臟的城市。

室外露天劇場,野生花卉種植包圍,在百年廣場為音樂,戲劇,詩歌朗誦和講故事表演空間。

有兩個室外花園露台,兒童空間和全景觀景廊在峰會上,在那裡遊客可以享受壯麗景色在城市的最高點之一。

 

 

 

金盒

安全的歸檔存儲A'金盒子“佔有水平五類和六類建築,包含城市的國際重要檔案,文物和攝影收藏。而圖書館的珍貴藏品都在這個保護環境保持安全,得益於數字化的一個持續的計劃,他們已開闢了公眾網上,並通過採用新技術數字化創新項目。

所謂庫,使集合選擇部分通過展覽計劃去展出。該庫包含了世界上最大的莎士比亞的收藏品之一,帕克收集兒童圖書和遊戲,早期和精美的印刷收集和博爾頓和瓦特存檔。

 

莎士比亞紀念室

上面的金色箱子,遊客可以遊覽莎士比亞紀念室,從城市的維多利亞女王時代的圖書館的原始特徵。維多利亞女王房間的木製鑲板和玻璃櫥櫃已被移動的全部內容,並精心修復。雖然圖書館的莎士比亞全集傲然挺立的房間在20世紀初,集合仍然設在庫中。

 

攝影及電影

伯明翰的攝影收藏的圖書館是九個國家的收藏品之一。最近增加包括瓦爾·威廉姆斯存檔,距離著名的攝影合作,馬格南圖片,並從國際知名的攝影師三大展覽,布賴恩·格里芬,誰擁有伯明翰圖書館舉行了大量的蒐集工作。圖書館的攝影樞紐糧食已經研究,開發和提供新的,雄心勃勃的高品質的機會,加強在該地區的攝影。糧食還與在FORMAT國際攝影節提供的伯明翰攝影獎的新圖書館。

伯明翰圖書館也是家庭對BFI媒體中心,提供免費使用BFI國家檔案館。遊客可以在觀察站登錄,享受精彩的民族電影珍藏,包括電影和電視特色伯明翰和西米德蘭的特別策劃的選擇,從米切爾科技肯於1901年拍攝的朱莉·沃爾特斯扮演的一所大學遊行在西米德蘭圖標的賬戶名角色,瑪麗白宮的故事(2008年)。

 


 

新今年圖書館

聲音季節

伯明翰圖書館慶祝其第一個週年慶典今年九月,它匯集了事件的最發人深省和鼓舞人心的節目呢。聲音季節揭示背後各行各業的人們如何學習找到自己的聲音,表達自己對世界的有趣故事。從未來的過去和聲音,那些追求變革的被壓迫和被遺忘的,聲音的聲音。

賽季亮點:

戰爭展會的聲音。

9月29日- 2014年12月31日

戰爭的聲音提供了一個有價值的洞察伯明翰人的第一次世界大戰期間的生活。 Combiningphotographs,文件和信件從圖書館的廣泛檔案和特殊的收藏選擇,戰爭的聲音傳輸遊客的歷史淵源百年,專注於故事從前線到工業伯明翰和不可估量的努力的男人,婦女和兒童犧牲誰是自己的日常生活。戰爭的聲音也呈現黑色和亞洲的士兵的重要貢獻,並討論了愛國主義與和平的概念在城市。本次展覽的補充了一系列會談和活動,在線資源和伴隨的書。

了解更多在這裡!

 

 

要點

地圖與指南

地圖和指南為您的光臨。

閱讀更多

四處逛逛

四處逛逛伯明翰再簡單不過了......

閱讀更多

探索

搜索地點,活動和住宿...

閱讀更多

節日及活動

一起來看看什麼在此時此地來了...

閱讀更多

FROM TWITTER

RT @MPW_Birmingham: Welcome to MPW @VeuveClicquotUK! We're launching #VeuveClicquotRich out on our terrace this evening... https://t.co/LuN

RT @CoffinWorks: As part of the #JewelleryQuarterFestival we have a brilliant evening of folk music! Book your tickets here! https://t.co/t

RT @thegastrocard: #WinningWednesday #Birmingham 💕@TheCBSO @staying_cool @flybe ✈️ @SummerSolihull @Lemar @HogarthsHotel @harry_moseley htt…

節日及活動

體育亮點

文化

藝術畫廊

伯明翰的藝術收藏品是一樣寬,它是令人印象深刻。

閱讀更多

影片

复,英國最古老的電影院工作或美術家很酷?

閱讀更多

伯明翰博物館和藝術畫廊

一個充滿活力的博物館在城市的心臟有超過40個展廳。

閱讀更多

舞蹈

一個多元化的舞蹈團體和場所。

閱讀更多

看多了,覺得比較

得來,留得住,沉浸在文化在歐洲最具活力的城市之一。

閱讀更多

購物

Shoppinginbirmingham.com

計劃全店,中心和品牌目錄完美的購物之旅。

閱讀更多

購物中心

來自世界著名的,21世紀的鬥牛場的西部大商場的維多利亞式的優雅。

閱讀更多

充滿活力的街道

鏈接中心是伯明翰繁華的購物街,擠滿了各大品牌和精品獨立。

閱讀更多

市場

千萬不要錯過伯明翰的驚人的市場 - 無論是850歲的鬥牛市場或正規農貿市場。

閱讀更多

珠寶區

首頁更多的鑽戒,收尾和定情比其他地方的國家。

閱讀更多

在伯明翰結婚

我們擁有一切,從覆蓋環說得最多的場館本身。

閱讀更多

The Library of Birmingham

Have you visited the Library of Birmingham?

Designed by Dutch architects Mecanoo, the Library has transformed the city’s library services and become a major cultural destination, housing Birmingham’s world-class collections of archives, photography and rare books as well as a million printed volumes, the largest number held by any public library in the UK. Of these, over 400,000 books are available on the Library’s public floors.

With outstanding resources and access to expert help, the Library is a centre of excellence for literacy, research, study, skills development, health information, creative expression and entrepreneurship.

At 31,000 sq. metres it is around 20% larger than the old Central Library building and is the largest public library in Europe.

 

The Library of Birmingham is a flagship project of Birmingham City Council’s 20-year Big City Plan, focusing on the regeneration of the city and the most far-reaching city centre development project ever undertaken in the UK.

 

 

The ten-level Library shares a spacious entrance and foyer as well as a flexible studio theatre seating 300 people with the Birmingham Repertory Theatre. Sited in Centenary Square it, along with The REP and Symphony Hall, forms a new cultural heart for the city.

An outdoor Amphitheatre, surrounded by wild flower planting, in Centenary Square provides a performance space for music, drama, poetry reading and storytelling.

There are two outdoor garden terraces, children’s spaces and a panoramic viewing gallery at the summit, where visitors are able to enjoy stunning views from one of the highest points in the city.

 

 

 

The Golden Box

A ‘golden box’ of secure archive storage occupies levels five and six of the building and contains the city’s internationally important archive, heritage and photographic collections. Whilst the Library’s precious collections are kept safe in this protective environment, thanks to an ongoing programme of digitisation they have been opened up to the public online and through digital innovations projects using new technology.

A gallery enables select parts of the collection to go on display through a programme of exhibitions. The Library contains one of the world’s largest Shakespeare collections, the Parker Collection of Children’s Books and Games, the Early and Fine Printing Collection and the Boulton and Watt archive.

 

Shakespeare Memorial Room

Above the golden box, visitors can explore the Shakespeare Memorial Room, an original feature from the city’s Victorian library. The Victorian room with its wooden panelling and glass cabinets has been moved in its entirety and painstakingly restored. Although the Library’s Shakespeare collection outgrew the room in the early 20th century, the collection is still housed in the Library.

 

Photography & film

The Library of Birmingham’s Photography Collection is one of nine national collections. Recent additions including the Val Williams archive, work from the renowned photographic cooperative, Magnum Photos, and three major exhibitions from internationally-acclaimed photographer, Brian Griffin, who has a substantial collection held by the Library of Birmingham. The Library’s photography hub GRAIN is already researching, developing and delivering new, ambitious high quality opportunities, strengthening photography in the region. GRAIN has also collaborated with the FORMAT International Photography Festival to offer a new Library of Birmingham photography prize.

The Library of Birmingham is also home to a BFI Mediatheque, providing free access to the BFI National Archive. Visitors are able to log on at a viewing station and enjoy highlights of the national film collection including a specially curated selection of films and television featuring Birmingham and the West Midlands, from a university procession captured by Mitchell & Kenyon in 1901 to Julie Walters playing the title role in an account of an West Midlands icon, The Mary Whitehouse Story (2008).

 


 

The opening hours for the Library are:

 

  • Mondays and Tuesdays: 11am - 7pm 
  • Wednesdays to Saturdays: 11am - 5pm 
  • Sundays: CLOSED

 

The Wolfson Centre for Archival Research is open Tuesday to Saturday 11am - 4pm.

 

 

 

Essentials

Maps & Guides

Maps & Guides for your visit.

Read More

Getting around

Getting around Birmingham couldn’t be easier...

Read More

Explore

Search for places, events & accommodation...

Read More

Festivals & events

Take a look at what’s on now and coming up here...

Read More

FROM TWITTER

RT @HBHBroadStreet: View from the waffle truck in Victoria Square Birmingham @LBC @Hamptonality #free #today #waffles https://t.co/UhQjM74Z

RT @caribfestbrum: Download the #APP for #caribfestbrum why not see #WHATSON in #Brum @visit_bham do the #survey win a #prize https://t.co

RT @myDriverEN: We are delighted to announce that we are now official partners with @visit_bham, a fantastic website for everyone visiting…

RT @visit_solihull: See what's happening in #Solihull with our Calendar of Events @EnjoySolihull @NailcoteHall #Par3 @SolihullBID #Jazz htt…

More festivals & events

Sporting highlights

All sporting events

There’s always something, or someone, to cheer for here

Read More

Culture

Art Galleries

Birmingham’s art collection is as wide as it is impressive. 

Read More

Stage & Screen

From touring West End shows to showcasing local talent.

Read More

Music

A huge arena tour or an intimate gig?  You’ll find it here.

Read More

Film

Multiplexes, the UK’s oldest working cinema or art house cool?

Read More

Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery

A vibrant museum in the heart of the city with over 40 galleries.

Read More

Dance

A diverse range of dance groups and venues.

Read More

See More, Feel More

Come, stay and soak up the culture in one of Europe's most vibrant cities.

Read More

Shopping

Shoppinginbirmingham.com

Plan the perfect shopping trip with full store, centre and brand directories.

Read More

Shopping centres

From the world-famous, 21st Century Bullring to the Victorian elegance of the Great Western Arcade.

Read More

Vibrant streets

Linking the centres are Birmingham’s bustling shopping streets, packed with major brands and boutique independents.

Read More

Markets

Don’t miss Birmingham’s amazing markets – whether it’s the 850-year old Bullring markets or the...

Read More

Jewellery Quarter

Home to more diamond rings, finishing touches and tokens of love than anywhere else in...

Read More

Getting Married in Birmingham

We have everything covered from the rings right up to the venue itself.

Read More

Featured Itineraries