История Бирмингеме

После того, как известный как «город тысячи торгов, Бирмингем был мировым лидером в производстве ручек, пряжки, пуговицы, ювелирные изделия и орудий.

Идеи лунного общества , группы гениальных промышленников, философов и интеллектуалов не только изменила ход истории Бирмингема, но история мира.

Начало

Увлекательная история Бирмингема уходит корнями далеко как 10 500 лет назад, когда каменного века охотники бродили луга и леса по долине реки Rea. Римляне также оставили свой ​​след в городской пейзаж, с крупной крепости возле Harborne и многих дорог, которые пересекают территорию.

Хотя доказательств скудные, считается небольшое поселение англо-саксонской существовал недалеко от реки Ри в Дигбет. Название этого поселения было Бирмингем. Первоначальный смысл названия поселения (ветчина) из последователей (ING) из Beorma, который, как полагают, были воин саксонской или дворянин.

В июле 2009 года невероятные артефакты англо-саксонские были обнаружены в районе Бирмингема. В 3500 золотых и серебряных изделий восходят к 7-м веке англо-саксонской царства Мерсии и составляют самый ценный клад с сокровищами когда-либо обнаруженных в Великобритании. Выбор этого знаменитого ныне Стаффордширский клад в данный момент отображается в Бирмингеме музей и картинная галерея и был предметом международного внимания от далеко как Смитсоновского института в Вашингтоне и в Лувре в Париже.

Ранняя история Бирмингема, как крупное поселение датируется начале 12 века, когда Питер де Бермингем, обладатель усадьбы Бирмингеме, получили право на проведение еженедельный рынок. В Книге Судного Дня 1086, Бирмингем был оценен в скромную сумму в £ 1 с в общей сложности 9 домов! Рынок чартер 1166 помог Питер де Бермингем, чтобы заложить основы для Бирмингем развиваться как торговый город, и превратил перспективы небольшого поселения навсегда.

Центральный сердце географической экспансии Бирмингема была церковь Святого Мартина , одна из старейших зданий Бирмингема. Ранняя запись о церкви восходит к 1290, но ранее местом поклонения, скорее всего, были здесь. Рынки Бирмингема были расположены вокруг церкви, и до сих пор существует в том же месте 850 лет спустя! Сегодня, церковь Святого Мартина содержит ряд исторических сокровищ и предлагает просветительскую взгляд на захватывающий истории города .

С 16 века Бирмингем был преобразован из к рыночной город промышленный центр. Блейд-решения таких отраслях, как столовые приборы, оружие и в конечном итоге орудия были сделаны в Бирмингем из-за его центрального расположения, хорошей транспортной и природных ресурсов.

Бирмингем или Brummagem? Узнайте больше о названии города.

"Город тысячи торгов

По 18-го века, город стал главным европейским производителем пряжками, пуговицами и ряд небольших коробках, ювелирных изделий и аксессуаров часто называют "Brummagem игрушки". "Игрушка промышленности» доминировали производителей Джон Тейлор и Мэтью Болтон . Болтон вместе с Джеймс Уатт и Эразм Дарвин были соучредителями в Лунной общества , которые признан во всем мире для инновационных, новаторские идеи в области науки, искусства, философии и торговли. Лунный общества встретились во время полнолуния в Soho House , который сегодня превращен в музей и открыт для посетителей с апреля по октябрь.

В течение этого периода, сети каналов был продлен в Бирмингем и внес существенный ссылку на мировых экспортных рынках. Сырье может быть быстро доставлен в город и готовой продукции может быть отправлен обратно, помогая дать Бирмингеме конкурентное преимущество на других конкурирующих производственных центров.

Бирмингем получил всемирную репутацию электростанция производства и изобретения, приобретая репутацию «город тысячи торгов и" магазин игрушек Европы ». От производства медалей и монет на Бирмингем Mint к производству стали наконечники пера миллионами, Бирмингем может претендовать с гордостью, что 75% из всего, написанного в мире в то время была написана с ручкой "Бирмингема". Оригинальные техника, ручки и коллекции выставлены в критиками Pen номер музей в историческом Ювелирного квартала . На сегодняшний день более 40% всех украшения ручной работы в Великобритании производится в Ювелирного квартала Бирмингема, с его наградами музей Ювелирного квартала .

Быстрый экономический рост привел к буму в населении города. Строительство спиной к спине корпус был ответ на быстро растущее население к середине 19-го века. Во внутреннем дворе дома не были единственным-заповедник рабочих классов, но многие средние классы тоже. Несмотря на то, экономический рост принесла процветание некоторые, не все в обществе пользу. Жилищные условия ухудшились, как плотность населения увеличилась с плохим состоянием здоровья и образование ухудшение во время Промышленной революции. В Бирмингеме, там были реформаторами, которые считают, что это неприемлемо, и установить, чтобы сделать изменения. Реформа уже начато 1779, когда первый бесплатный госпиталь в Бирмингеме был открыт доктором Джоном Эшем и был профинансирован богатых людей, как Мэтью Болтон. Позже под руководством Джозефа Чемберлена , Бирмингем стал Международная модель "муниципального социализма". Во время своего пребывания в должности, чистая вода и газ поставляются в более людей, школы Общественного совета были построены и трущоб зазоры были проведены.

В конце 19-го шоколадного века производителя, Джордж и Ричард Cadbury открыли шоколадную фабрику в Bournville и построили дома и удобства для работников завода. Посетители могут узнать больше об истории Кэдбери в Cadbury World .

Послевоенного бума

В начале 20-го века Бирмингем адаптированы к новому образу жизни, как электротехнические и автомобильные производители стали доминирующими отрасли в городе. Некоторые из великих старых транспортных средств и машин отображаются в Heritage Centre Motor , Музей транспорта Ковентри , Национальный музей мотоциклов , мозгового центра Бирмингема Музей науки и Центром музейных коллекций. Первой и Второй мировой войны привело к росту производства боеприпасов в Уэст-Мидлендс, в частности, в Бирмингеме и Ковентри.



Будучи важным центром производства, Бирмингем был главной мишенью во время Второй мировой войны, и в значительной степени пострадал от бомбардировок. Цели включали аэродрома завода Касл Бромвич, где были сделаны самолеты Spitfire и Ланкастер и завод Остин на Лонгбридж, производящим военную технику и самолеты. После Лондона и Ливерпуля, Бирмингема получил наибольший ущерб от воздушных налетов и 2 241 человек в городе погибли. Их имена увековечены на Древе Мемориал жизни рядом с церковью Святого Мартина.

"Послевоенный бум» в 1950-х годах привело к росту занятости в машиностроении и автомобильной промышленности автомобиля в Уэст-Мидлендс, а население Бирмингема росли и новые общины от Индийского субконтинента и Карибского бассейна сделаны Бирмингем их новый дом.

Сегодня

Экономические изменения 1970-х годов оказали существенное влияние на экономику Бирмингема. За последние 30 лет однако, фокус города сместился от преимущественно обрабатывающая промышленность к экономике услуг. Бывшие промышленные свойства, такие как Custard Factory были преобразованы в некоторые из самых захватывающих искусства и ночных клубов Бирмингема.

Бирмингем испытал здоровый уровень экономического роста в течение последних двух десятилетий, извлекая выгоду из того региональная столица и центр занятости и торговли.

Инновационные новые отрасли промышленности быстро делают Бирмингем их домой, от графических дизайнеров до компьютерных игр программистов, и поддерживается нашими всемирно известных университетов и колледжей.


Бирмингем дух инноваций, совершенствования и обновления заключена в девизе города: Вперед!

The history of Birmingham

Once famous as a 'City of a Thousand Trades', Birmingham was a world leader in the production of pens, buckles, buttons, jewellery and guns.

The ideas of The Lunar Society, a group of genius industrialists, philosophers and intellectuals not only changed Birmingham's history, but the history of the world.

The beginning

Birmingham’s fascinating history goes back as far as 10,500 years ago, when Stone Age hunters roamed the grasslands and forests along the River Rea valley. The Romans also left their mark on the city’s landscape, with a major fort near Harborne and many roads that cross the area.

Although evidence is scant, it is believed a small Anglo-Saxon settlement existed close to the River Rea in Digbeth. The name of this settlement was Birmingham. The original meaning of the name is the settlement (ham) of the followers (ing) of Beorma, who is believed to have been a Saxon warrior or nobleman.

In July 2009 incredible Anglo-Saxon artefacts were unearthed in the Birmingham region. The 3,500 pieces of gold and silver items date back to the 7th century Anglo-Saxon kingdom of Mercia and amount to the most valuable treasure hoard ever discovered in the UK. A selection of this now famous Staffordshire Hoard is currently displayed in the Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery and has been the subject of international attention from as far as the Smithsonian in Washington and the Louvre in Paris.

Birmingham’s early history as a major settlement dates back to the early 12th century when Peter de Bermingham, holder of the manor of Birmingham, gained the right to hold a weekly market. In the Doomsday Book of 1086, Birmingham was valued at the modest sum of £1 with a total of 9 houses! The 1166 market charter helped Peter de Bermingham to lay the foundations for Birmingham to develop as a market town, and transformed the prospects of the small settlement forever.


The central heart of Birmingham’s geographical expansion was St Martin’s church, one of Birmingham’s oldest buildings. The earliest record of a church dates back to 1290, but an earlier place of worship was likely to have been here. Birmingham’s markets were located around the church, and still exist in the same location 850 years later! Today, St Martin’s Church contains a number of historical treasures and offers an enlightening perspective on the city’s exciting history.

From the 16th century Birmingham was transformed from a market-orientated town to an industrial centre. Blade-making industries such as cutlery, weapons and ultimately guns were drawn to Birmingham owing to its central location, good transport links and natural resources.  

Birmingham or Brummagem? Find out more about the name of the city.

'City of a Thousand Trades'

By the 18th century, the city had become the main European producer of buckles, buttons and a range of small boxes, jewellery and accessories often called “Brummagem toys”. The ‘Toy Industry’ was dominated by the manufacturers John Taylor and Matthew Boulton. Boulton, together with James Watt and Erasmus Darwin were co-founders of the Lunar Society which gained worldwide recognition for innovative, pioneering ideas in science, arts, philosophy and commerce.  The Lunar Society met during the full moon at Soho House which is today converted into a museum and open to visitors from April to October.

During this period, the canal network was extended to Birmingham and provided an essential link to the global export markets. Raw materials could be quickly brought in to the town and finished goods could be sent back out, helping to give Birmingham a competitive edge on other rival manufacturing centres.

Birmingham gained a worldwide reputation as a powerhouse of manufacturing and invention, gaining the reputation as a “City of a Thousand Trades’ and the “Toyshop of Europe”. From the production of medals and coins at the Birmingham Mint to the production of steel pen nibs by the million, Birmingham could claim with pride that 75% of everything written in the world at the time was written with a ‘Birmingham’ pen. Original machinery, pens and collections are exhibited at the critically-acclaimed Pen Museum in the historic Jewellery Quarter. To this day, over 40% of all the UK’s handmade jewellery is produced in Birmingham’s Jewellery Quarter, with its award winning Museum of the Jewellery Quarter.

Rapid economic growth led to a boom in the city’s population. The construction of Back to Back housing was a response to the rapidly increasing population by the mid-19th century. The courtyard houses were not the sole-preserve of the working-classes, but many middle-classes too. Whilst economic growth brought prosperity to some, not everyone in society benefited. Housing conditions worsened as population density increased, with poor health and education worsening during the Industrial Revolution. In Birmingham, there were reformers who believed this was unacceptable and set out to make changes. Reform had already begun by 1779 when the first free hospital in Birmingham was opened by Dr John Ash and was funded by wealthy individuals like Matthew Boulton. Later under the leadership of Joseph Chamberlain, Birmingham became an international model for “municipal socialism”. During his tenure, clean water and gas was supplied to more people, public board schools were built and slum clearances were carried out.

At the end of the 19th century chocolate maker George and Richard Cadbury opened their chocolate factory at Bournville and built houses and amenities for the factory workers. Visitors can find out more about Cadbury's history at Cadbury World.

Post-war boom

At the beginning of the 20th century Birmingham adapted to the new way of life as electrical engineering and car manufacturers became the dominant industries in the city.  Some of the great old vehicles and machines are displayed at the Motor Heritage Centre, Coventry Transport Museum, National Motorcycle Museum, ThinkTank Birmingham Science Museum and the Museum Collections Centre. The First and Second World War resulted in the increased production of munitions in the West Midlands, particularly in Birmingham and Coventry.



Being an important manufacturing centre, Birmingham was a major target during the Second World War, and suffered heavily from bombing raids. Targets included the Castle Bromwich aerodrome plant where the Spitfire and Lancaster planes were made and the Austin factory at Longbridge which was producing military vehicles and airplanes. After London and Liverpool, Birmingham received the most damage from air raids and 2,241 people in the city died. Their names are commemorated on the Tree of Life Memorial near to St. Martin’s Church.

The ‘Post-war boom’ in the 1950's caused a growth of employment in the engineering and motor vehicle industry in the West Midlands, as Birmingham’s population grew and new communities from the Indian sub-continent and Caribbean made Birmingham their new home.

Today

The economic changes of the 1970s had a significant impact on Birmingham’s economy.  Over the last 30 years however, the city’s focus has shifted from being predominantly a manufacturing industry to a service economy.  Former industrial properties such as the Custard Factory have been transformed into some of Birmingham's most exciting art and nightlife venues.

Birmingham has experienced a healthy level of economic growth over the last two decades, benefiting from being the regional capital and centre for employment and commerce.

Innovative new industries are rapidly making Birmingham their home, from graphic designers to computer game programmers, and are supported by our world-renowned universities and colleges.


The Birmingham spirit of innovation, improvement and renewal is encapsulated in the city’s motto: Forward!

Essentials

Maps & Guides

Maps & Guides for your visit.

Read More

Getting around

Getting around Birmingham couldn’t be easier...

Read More

What's on

Search for places, events & accommodation...

Read More

Festivals & events

Take a look at what’s on now and coming up here...

Read More

FROM TWITTER

RT @rockupadventure: #Birmingham Calling all Super Hero's. 26th Aug Book online https://t.co/s0oDcOgcFl. Climb with #Batman, have a photo w…

RT @birminghamcg22: All eyes on #Birmingham's @alex_stadium for Sir @Mo_Farah's final UK track appearance - and it's a 3000m win! 🥇 #brumbi…

RT @birminghamcg22: Overwhelming support for #BrumBid2022 today, including @Iwanrunner! #athletics https://t.co/s3IrK5esKq

RT @birminghamcg22: Make your way to the Bull @Bullring right now for the chance to hold the #QBR2018...send us your photos! #BrumBid2022 h…

Festivals & events

Sporting highlights

Culture

Art Galleries

Birmingham’s art collection is as wide as it is impressive. 

Read More

Stage & Screen

From touring West End shows to showcasing local talent.

Read More

Music

A huge arena tour or an intimate gig?  You’ll find it here.

Read More

Film

Multiplexes, the UK’s oldest working cinema or art house cool?

Read More

Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery

A vibrant museum in the heart of the city with over 40 galleries.

Read More

Dance

A diverse range of dance groups and venues.

Read More

See More, Feel More

Come, stay and soak up the culture in one of Europe's most vibrant cities.

Read More

Shopping

Shoppinginbirmingham.com

Plan the perfect shopping trip with full store, centre and brand directories.

Read More

Shopping centres

From the world-famous, 21st Century Bullring to the Victorian elegance of the Great Western Arcade.

Read More

Vibrant streets

Linking the centres are Birmingham’s bustling shopping streets, packed with major brands and boutique independents.

Read More

Markets

Don’t miss Birmingham’s amazing markets – whether it’s the 850-year old Bullring markets or the...

Read More

Jewellery Quarter

Home to more diamond rings, finishing touches and tokens of love than anywhere else in...

Read More

Getting Married in Birmingham

We have everything covered from the rings right up to the venue itself.

Read More