伯明翰歷史

一旦出名為“一城千行業的',伯明翰是一個世界領先的生產鋼筆,扣,鈕扣,珠寶和槍支。

的想法農曆協會 ,一群天才的企業家,哲學家和知識分子不僅改變了伯明翰的歷史,但世界的歷史。

剛開始

伯明翰迷人的歷史可以追溯到10500年前,當石器時代獵人出沒的草原和森林沿江河谷Rea的。羅馬人也留下了自己的印記在城市的景觀,附近的主要堡壘HARBORNE許多道路交叉的區域。

儘管證據很少,但相信小盎格魯撒克遜結算存在靠近河里亞在Digbeth。此定居的名字是伯明翰。這個名字的本義是追隨者(荷蘭國際集團)Beorma,誰被認為是一個撒克遜武士或貴族的結算(火腿)。

在2009年7月難以置信的盎格魯 - 撒克遜文物出土於伯明翰地區。 3500件金銀物品可以追溯到麥西亞的公元7世紀盎格魯 - 撒克遜王國和數量有史以來發現的英國最寶貴的財富寶藏。一個選擇現在這個著名的斯塔福德郡囤目前顯示在伯明翰博物館和藝術畫廊 ,並一直是國際社會關注的主題,從盡可能的史密森在華盛頓和巴黎的盧浮宮。

伯明翰的早期歷史的主要結算的歷史可以追溯到12世紀初,當彼得去伯明翰,伯明翰莊園的持有人,獲得了每週舉行一次市場的權利。在1086年的末日審判書,伯明翰是價值1英鎊的微薄之共9房子! 1166市場租船幫助彼得去伯明翰奠定了基礎伯明翰發展成為一個集鎮,並改變了小解決的前景永遠。

伯明翰的地域擴張的中央心臟是聖馬丁教堂 ,伯明翰的最古老的建築之一。一個教堂的歷史可以追溯到1290最早記錄,但較早禮拜場所很可能在這兒了。伯明翰的市場被周圍設教堂,並在同一位置仍存在850年後!今天,聖馬丁教堂包含了一些歷史寶藏,並提供一個啟發性的對城市的激動人心的歷史視角

從16世紀的英國伯明翰是從市場為導向的城鎮轉變為一個工業中心。刀片製造行業,如餐具,武器和最終槍支被吸引到伯明翰由於其中心位置,便利的交通和自然資源。

伯明翰還是徒有其表?了解更多有關這個城市的名字。

“城千的行業”

到了18世紀,這座城市已經成為扣,鈕扣以及各種小盒子,首飾及配飾通常被稱為“玩具徒有其表”的歐洲主要生產商。在“玩具行業是佔主導地位的製造商約翰·泰勒和馬修·博爾頓 。博爾頓,加上詹姆斯·瓦特和伊拉斯謨達爾文是對的聯合創始人農曆學會其中得到了全世界的認可,不斷創新,開拓思路科學,藝術,哲學和商業。滿月時在農曆學會滿足蘇荷館也就是今天改建成博物館和遊客開放四月至十月。

在此期間,運河網絡擴展至伯明翰,並提供給全球出口市場的一個必不可少的環節。原料可以迅速帶來鎮和成品可能被送回出去,幫助伯明翰給其他對手製造中心的競爭優勢。

伯明翰獲得了享譽世界的製造和發明的老牌勁旅,贏得了美譽為“城千的行業”和“玩具店歐洲”。從製作獎牌和硬幣在對伯明翰造幣廠生產的鋼鐵筆尖由億,伯明翰可以自豪地宣稱,一切都寫在當時世界的75%,被寫入了“伯明翰”筆。原機械,鋼筆和集合展出了廣受好評的筆間博物館在歷史悠久的珠寶區 。為了這一天,所有的英國手工製作的珠寶40%以上產於伯明翰的珠寶區,憑藉其屢獲殊榮的珠寶區博物館

經濟的快速增長導致城市的人口的繁榮。建設背靠背的住房是由19世紀中葉的人口迅速增加的響應。院子裡的房子是不是唯一的,保留的工薪階層,但許多中產階級了。雖然經濟增長帶來了繁榮一些,不是每個人在社會中受益。住房條件進一步惡化人口密度增加,在工業革命期間的健康狀況不佳和教育惡化。在伯明翰,還有誰認為這是不能接受的,並闡明了做出改變的改革者。改革已經開始了1779年的時候第一個自由醫院在伯明翰開幕式由約翰·阿什博士和經費由像馬修·博爾頓富有的個人。後來的領導下約瑟夫·張伯倫 ,伯明翰成為“市級社會主義”的國際典範。在他任職期間,清潔的水和氣體提供給更多的人,公板學校建成和貧民窟間隙進行。

在19世紀的巧克力製造商年底喬治和理查德·吉百利打開他們的巧克力工廠在伯恩維爾建成的房屋和設施為工廠的工人。參觀者可以了解更多關於吉百利的歷史,在吉百利世界

戰後繁榮

在20世紀初,英國伯明翰適應生活的新方式,電氣工程和汽車製造商成為城市的主導產業。一些偉大的老舊車輛和機器的顯示在汽車遺產中心考文垂交通博物館國家摩托車博物館智庫伯明翰科學博物館和博物館收藏中心。第一次和第二次世界大戰導致彈藥的西米德蘭的產量增加,特別是在伯明翰和考文垂。



作為一個重要的製造業中心,伯明翰是第二次世界大戰期間的一個主要目標,並從轟炸嚴重受到影響。目標列入其中,噴火和蘭開斯特的飛機作了城堡維奇機場設備和奧斯汀的工廠,在長橋這是生產軍用車輛和飛機。倫敦和利物浦之後,伯明翰獲得了最大的傷害來自空襲和2241人在城市死亡。他們的名字是在紀念陣亡將士的生活之樹附近的聖馬丁教堂。

在20世紀50年代的“戰後繁榮”導致就業的工程和汽車行業的增長在西米德蘭,伯明翰的人口增長和來自印度次大陸和加勒比海地區新社區取得了伯明翰他們的新家園。

今天

20世紀70年代的經濟變化對伯明翰的經濟顯著影響。在過去的30年不過時,全市重點已經從主要是一個製造業向服務經濟轉變。前工業屬性,如蛋奶廠已變成一些伯明翰的最令人興奮的藝術和夜生活場所。

伯明翰經歷了經濟增長的健康水平在過去的二十年中,得益於作為自治區首府和中心的就業和商業。

創新的新產業迅速作出伯明翰自己的家,從平面設計師到電腦遊戲程序員,和我們的世界著名大學和學院的支持。


創新,改進和更新伯明翰精神封裝在城市的座右銘:前進!

要點

地圖與指南

地圖和指南為您的光臨。

閱讀更多

四處逛逛

四處逛逛伯明翰再簡單不過了......

閱讀更多

探索

搜索地點,活動和住宿...

閱讀更多

節日及活動

一起來看看什麼在此時此地來了...

閱讀更多

FROM TWITTER

RT @JQBID: 7 days to go 🎉🎉🎉#JQFestival. This time next week, they’ll be entertainment courtesy of a range of artists including the brillian…

節日及活動

體育亮點

所有體育賽事

總有一些東西,或者一個人,歡呼這裡

閱讀更多

文化

藝術畫廊

伯明翰的藝術收藏品是一樣寬,它是令人印象深刻。

閱讀更多

影片

复,英國最古老的電影院工作或美術家很酷?

閱讀更多

伯明翰博物館和藝術畫廊

一個充滿活力的博物館在城市的心臟有超過40個展廳。

閱讀更多

舞蹈

一個多元化的舞蹈團體和場所。

閱讀更多

看多了,覺得比較

得來,留得住,沉浸在文化在歐洲最具活力的城市之一。

閱讀更多

購物

Shoppinginbirmingham.com

計劃全店,中心和品牌目錄完美的購物之旅。

閱讀更多

購物中心

來自世界著名的,21世紀的鬥牛場的西部大商場的維多利亞式的優雅。

閱讀更多

充滿活力的街道

鏈接中心是伯明翰繁華的購物街,擠滿了各大品牌和精品獨立。

閱讀更多

市場

千萬不要錯過伯明翰的驚人的市場 - 無論是850歲的鬥牛市場或正規農貿市場。

閱讀更多

珠寶區

首頁更多的鑽戒,收尾和定情比其他地方的國家。

閱讀更多

在伯明翰結婚

我們擁有一切,從覆蓋環說得最多的場館本身。

閱讀更多

The history of Birmingham

Once famous as a 'City of a Thousand Trades', Birmingham was a world leader in the production of pens, buckles, buttons, jewellery and guns.

The ideas of The Lunar Society, a group of genius industrialists, philosophers and intellectuals not only changed Birmingham's history, but the history of the world.

The beginning

Birmingham’s fascinating history goes back as far as 10,500 years ago, when Stone Age hunters roamed the grasslands and forests along the River Rea valley. The Romans also left their mark on the city’s landscape, with a major fort near Harborne and many roads that cross the area.

Although evidence is scant, it is believed a small Anglo-Saxon settlement existed close to the River Rea in Digbeth. The name of this settlement was Birmingham. The original meaning of the name is the settlement (ham) of the followers (ing) of Beorma, who is believed to have been a Saxon warrior or nobleman.

In July 2009 incredible Anglo-Saxon artefacts were unearthed in the Birmingham region. The 3,500 pieces of gold and silver items date back to the 7th century Anglo-Saxon kingdom of Mercia and amount to the most valuable treasure hoard ever discovered in the UK. A selection of this now famous Staffordshire Hoard is currently displayed in the Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery and has been the subject of international attention from as far as the Smithsonian in Washington and the Louvre in Paris.

Birmingham’s early history as a major settlement dates back to the early 12th century when Peter de Bermingham, holder of the manor of Birmingham, gained the right to hold a weekly market. In the Doomsday Book of 1086, Birmingham was valued at the modest sum of £1 with a total of 9 houses! The 1166 market charter helped Peter de Bermingham to lay the foundations for Birmingham to develop as a market town, and transformed the prospects of the small settlement forever.


The central heart of Birmingham’s geographical expansion was St Martin’s church, one of Birmingham’s oldest buildings. The earliest record of a church dates back to 1290, but an earlier place of worship was likely to have been here. Birmingham’s markets were located around the church, and still exist in the same location 850 years later! Today, St Martin’s Church contains a number of historical treasures and offers an enlightening perspective on the city’s exciting history.

From the 16th century Birmingham was transformed from a market-orientated town to an industrial centre. Blade-making industries such as cutlery, weapons and ultimately guns were drawn to Birmingham owing to its central location, good transport links and natural resources.  

Birmingham or Brummagem? Find out more about the name of the city.

'City of a Thousand Trades'

By the 18th century, the city had become the main European producer of buckles, buttons and a range of small boxes, jewellery and accessories often called “Brummagem toys”. The ‘Toy Industry’ was dominated by the manufacturers John Taylor and Matthew Boulton. Boulton, together with James Watt and Erasmus Darwin were co-founders of the Lunar Society which gained worldwide recognition for innovative, pioneering ideas in science, arts, philosophy and commerce.  The Lunar Society met during the full moon at Soho House which is today converted into a museum and open to visitors from April to October.

During this period, the canal network was extended to Birmingham and provided an essential link to the global export markets. Raw materials could be quickly brought in to the town and finished goods could be sent back out, helping to give Birmingham a competitive edge on other rival manufacturing centres.

Birmingham gained a worldwide reputation as a powerhouse of manufacturing and invention, gaining the reputation as a “City of a Thousand Trades’ and the “Toyshop of Europe”. From the production of medals and coins at the Birmingham Mint to the production of steel pen nibs by the million, Birmingham could claim with pride that 75% of everything written in the world at the time was written with a ‘Birmingham’ pen. Original machinery, pens and collections are exhibited at the critically-acclaimed Pen Museum in the historic Jewellery Quarter. To this day, over 40% of all the UK’s handmade jewellery is produced in Birmingham’s Jewellery Quarter, with its award winning Museum of the Jewellery Quarter.

Rapid economic growth led to a boom in the city’s population. The construction of Back to Back housing was a response to the rapidly increasing population by the mid-19th century. The courtyard houses were not the sole-preserve of the working-classes, but many middle-classes too. Whilst economic growth brought prosperity to some, not everyone in society benefited. Housing conditions worsened as population density increased, with poor health and education worsening during the Industrial Revolution. In Birmingham, there were reformers who believed this was unacceptable and set out to make changes. Reform had already begun by 1779 when the first free hospital in Birmingham was opened by Dr John Ash and was funded by wealthy individuals like Matthew Boulton. Later under the leadership of Joseph Chamberlain, Birmingham became an international model for “municipal socialism”. During his tenure, clean water and gas was supplied to more people, public board schools were built and slum clearances were carried out.

At the end of the 19th century chocolate maker George and Richard Cadbury opened their chocolate factory at Bournville and built houses and amenities for the factory workers. Visitors can find out more about Cadbury's history at Cadbury World.

Post-war boom

At the beginning of the 20th century Birmingham adapted to the new way of life as electrical engineering and car manufacturers became the dominant industries in the city.  Some of the great old vehicles and machines are displayed at the Motor Heritage Centre, Coventry Transport Museum, National Motorcycle Museum, ThinkTank Birmingham Science Museum and the Museum Collections Centre. The First and Second World War resulted in the increased production of munitions in the West Midlands, particularly in Birmingham and Coventry.



Being an important manufacturing centre, Birmingham was a major target during the Second World War, and suffered heavily from bombing raids. Targets included the Castle Bromwich aerodrome plant where the Spitfire and Lancaster planes were made and the Austin factory at Longbridge which was producing military vehicles and airplanes. After London and Liverpool, Birmingham received the most damage from air raids and 2,241 people in the city died. Their names are commemorated on the Tree of Life Memorial near to St. Martin’s Church.

The ‘Post-war boom’ in the 1950's caused a growth of employment in the engineering and motor vehicle industry in the West Midlands, as Birmingham’s population grew and new communities from the Indian sub-continent and Caribbean made Birmingham their new home.

Today

The economic changes of the 1970s had a significant impact on Birmingham’s economy.  Over the last 30 years however, the city’s focus has shifted from being predominantly a manufacturing industry to a service economy.  Former industrial properties such as the Custard Factory have been transformed into some of Birmingham's most exciting art and nightlife venues.

Birmingham has experienced a healthy level of economic growth over the last two decades, benefiting from being the regional capital and centre for employment and commerce.

Innovative new industries are rapidly making Birmingham their home, from graphic designers to computer game programmers, and are supported by our world-renowned universities and colleges.


The Birmingham spirit of innovation, improvement and renewal is encapsulated in the city’s motto: Forward!

Essentials

Maps & Guides

Maps & Guides for your visit.

Read More

Getting around

Getting around Birmingham couldn’t be easier...

Read More

What's on

Search for places, events & accommodation...

Read More

Festivals & events

Take a look at what’s on now and coming up here...

Read More

FROM TWITTER

RT @rockupadventure: #Birmingham Calling all Super Hero's. 26th Aug Book online https://t.co/s0oDcOgcFl. Climb with #Batman, have a photo w…

RT @birminghamcg22: All eyes on #Birmingham's @alex_stadium for Sir @Mo_Farah's final UK track appearance - and it's a 3000m win! 🥇 #brumbi…

RT @birminghamcg22: Overwhelming support for #BrumBid2022 today, including @Iwanrunner! #athletics https://t.co/s3IrK5esKq

RT @birminghamcg22: Make your way to the Bull @Bullring right now for the chance to hold the #QBR2018...send us your photos! #BrumBid2022 h…

Festivals & events

Sporting highlights

Culture

Art Galleries

Birmingham’s art collection is as wide as it is impressive. 

Read More

Stage & Screen

From touring West End shows to showcasing local talent.

Read More

Music

A huge arena tour or an intimate gig?  You’ll find it here.

Read More

Film

Multiplexes, the UK’s oldest working cinema or art house cool?

Read More

Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery

A vibrant museum in the heart of the city with over 40 galleries.

Read More

Dance

A diverse range of dance groups and venues.

Read More

See More, Feel More

Come, stay and soak up the culture in one of Europe's most vibrant cities.

Read More

Shopping

Shoppinginbirmingham.com

Plan the perfect shopping trip with full store, centre and brand directories.

Read More

Shopping centres

From the world-famous, 21st Century Bullring to the Victorian elegance of the Great Western Arcade.

Read More

Vibrant streets

Linking the centres are Birmingham’s bustling shopping streets, packed with major brands and boutique independents.

Read More

Markets

Don’t miss Birmingham’s amazing markets – whether it’s the 850-year old Bullring markets or the...

Read More

Jewellery Quarter

Home to more diamond rings, finishing touches and tokens of love than anywhere else in...

Read More

Getting Married in Birmingham

We have everything covered from the rings right up to the venue itself.

Read More