L'histoire de Birmingham

Une fois célèbre comme «Ville des mille métiers», Birmingham était un chef de file mondial dans la production de stylos, boucles, boutons, bijoux et armes à feu.

Les idées de la Société Lunaire , un groupe d'industriels génie, des philosophes et des intellectuels non seulement changé l'histoire de Birmingham, mais l'histoire du monde.

Le début

l'histoire fascinante de Birmingham remonte il y a aussi loin que 10.500 années, lorsque les chasseurs Stone Age parcouraient les prairies et les forêts le long de la vallée de la rivière Rea. Les Romains ont également laissé leur empreinte sur le paysage de la ville, avec un fort majeur près de Harborne et de nombreuses routes qui traversent la région.

Bien que les preuves sont rares, on croit qu'une petite colonie anglo-saxonne existait près de la rivière Rea en Digbeth. Le nom de ce règlement était Birmingham. La signification originale du nom est le règlement (jambon) des disciples (ING) de Beorma, qui est soupçonné d'avoir été un guerrier saxon ou noble.

En Juillet 2009 incroyables objets anglo-saxons ont été découverts dans la région de Birmingham. Les 3500 pièces d'objets d'or et d'argent datent du 7ème siècle anglo-saxon royaume de Mercie et le montant de trésor de trésor le plus précieux jamais découvert au Royaume-Uni. Une sélection de ce désormais célèbre Hoard Staffordshire est actuellement affiché dans le Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery et a fait l'objet d' une attention internationale d'aussi loin que le Smithsonian à Washington et le Louvre à Paris.

histoire des débuts de Birmingham comme une colonie majeure remonte au début du 12ème siècle, lorsque Pierre de Bermingham, titulaire du manoir de Birmingham, a gagné le droit de tenir un marché hebdomadaire. Dans le Domesday Book de 1086, Birmingham a été évalué à la modique somme de £ 1 avec un total de 9 maisons! La charte de marché 1166 a aidé Peter de Bermingham à jeter les bases de Birmingham de se développer comme une ville de marché, et transformé les perspectives de la petite colonie pour toujours.

Le cœur central de l' expansion géographique de Birmingham était l'église Saint - Martin , l' un des plus anciens bâtiments de Birmingham. La première mention d'une église remonte à 1290, mais un lieu de culte plus tôt était susceptible d'avoir été ici. Les marchés de Birmingham étaient situés autour de l'église, et existent toujours dans le même endroit 850 ans plus tard! Aujourd'hui, l' église Saint - Martin contient un certain nombre de trésors historiques et offre une enrichissante perspective sur l' histoire passionnante de la ville .

Dès le 16ème siècle Birmingham a été transformé d'une ville orientée vers le marché à un centre industriel. industries Lame-faire tels que les couverts, les armes et, finalement, des armes ont été tirées à Birmingham en raison de son emplacement central, bien desservi par les transports et les ressources naturelles.

Birmingham ou Brummagem? Pour en savoir plus sur le nom de la ville.

«Ville des mille métiers»

Par le 18ème siècle, la ville était devenue le principal producteur européen de boucles, des boutons et une gamme de petites boîtes, bijoux et accessoires souvent appelés «jouets Brummagem». Le «Toy Industry» a été dominé par les fabricants John Taylor et Matthew Boulton . Boulton, en collaboration avec James Watt et Erasmus Darwin étaient co-fondateurs de la Société lunaire qui a gagné une reconnaissance mondiale pour des idées d' avant - garde innovants dans les sciences, les arts, la philosophie et le commerce. La Société lunaire rencontré pendant la pleine lune au Soho House qui est aujourd'hui transformée en musée et ouvert aux visiteurs d'Avril à Octobre.

Pendant cette période, le réseau de canaux a été étendu à Birmingham et a fourni un lien essentiel pour les marchés d'exportation mondiaux. Les matières premières pourraient être rapidement amenés à la ville et les produits finis peuvent être renvoyés, à aider à donner Birmingham un avantage concurrentiel sur les autres centres de fabrication rivaux.

Birmingham a gagné une réputation dans le monde entier comme une puissance de la fabrication et de l'invention, gagnant la réputation de «ville des mille métiers» et le «Toyshop de l'Europe». De la production de médailles et de pièces de monnaie à la Birmingham Mint à la production de stylos en acier grué par millions, Birmingham pourrait prétendre avec fierté que 75% de tout écrit dans le monde à l'époque a été écrit avec la plume d' un 'Birmingham'. Originaux des machines, des stylos et des collections sont exposées à la critique acclamé Musée Pen dans l'historique quartier des bijoutiers . A ce jour, plus de 40% de tous les bijoux faits à la main du Royaume - Uni est produit dans Bijoux Quarter de Birmingham, avec son primé Musée de la Jewellery Quarter .

La croissance économique rapide a conduit à un boom dans la population de la ville. La construction de Back to Back logement était une réponse à la population de plus en plus rapidement par le milieu du 19e siècle. Les maisons de la cour ne sont pas le seul apanage des-classes ouvrières, mais beaucoup de classes moyennes aussi. Alors que la croissance économique a apporté la prospérité à certains, pas tout le monde dans la société a bénéficié. Les conditions de logement se sont aggravés lorsque la densité de la population accrue, une mauvaise santé et de l'éducation aggravation pendant la révolution industrielle. A Birmingham, il y avait des réformateurs qui croyaient cela était inacceptable et se mit à faire des changements. Réforme avait déjà commencé par 1779 lorsque le premier hôpital gratuit à Birmingham a été ouverte par le Dr John Ash et a été financé par des individus riches comme Matthew Boulton. Plus tard , sous la direction de Joseph Chamberlain , Birmingham est devenu un modèle international pour le «socialisme municipal». Durant son mandat, l'eau potable et de gaz ont été fournis à plus de gens, les écoles du conseil d'administration publiques ont été construites et les dégagements de taudis ont été effectués.

A la fin du 19ème chocolatier siècle George et Richard Cadbury ont ouvert leur usine de chocolat à Bournville et construit des maisons et des équipements pour les travailleurs d'usine. Les visiteurs peuvent en apprendre davantage sur l'histoire de Cadbury à Cadbury World .

boom d'après-guerre

Au début du 20e siècle Birmingham adapté au nouveau mode de vie que l'ingénierie et les constructeurs automobiles électriques sont devenus les industries dominantes de la ville. Certains des grands vieux véhicules et machines sont affichées au Heritage Motor Centre , Coventry Transport Museum , National Motorcycle Museum , ThinkTank Birmingham Science Museum et le Centre des collections muséales. La Première et la Seconde Guerre mondiale ont donné lieu à la production accrue de munitions dans les West Midlands, en particulier à Birmingham et Coventry.



Être un important centre de fabrication, Birmingham était une cible importante au cours de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, et a beaucoup souffert de bombardements. Les cibles comprenaient l'usine de Castle Bromwich aérodrome où les avions Spitfire et Lancaster ont été faites et l'usine Austin à Longbridge qui produisait des véhicules militaires et des avions. Après Londres et Liverpool, Birmingham a reçu le plus de dégâts de raids aériens et de 2.241 personnes dans la ville morte. Leurs noms sont commémorés sur l'Arbre de Vie Memorial à proximité de l'église Saint-Martin.

Le «boom d'après-guerre» dans les années 1950 a entraîné une croissance de l'emploi dans l'industrie des véhicules d'ingénierie et de moteur dans le West Midlands, alors que la population de Birmingham a augmenté et les nouvelles communautés du sous-continent indien et des Caraïbes a Birmingham leur nouvelle maison.

Aujourd'hui

Les changements économiques des années 1970 ont eu un impact significatif sur l'économie de Birmingham. Au cours des 30 dernières années, toutefois, l'accent de la ville a changé d'être principalement une industrie manufacturière à une économie de services. Les anciens immeubles industriels tels que la Custard Factory ont été transformés en certains des plus passionnants d' art et de la vie nocturne des lieux de Birmingham.

Birmingham a connu un niveau sain de la croissance économique au cours des deux dernières décennies, bénéficiant d'être la capitale régionale et centre pour l'emploi et le commerce.

de nouvelles industries innovantes sont rapidement font Birmingham leur maison, des concepteurs graphiques pour les programmeurs de jeux informatiques, et sont soutenus par nos universités et collèges de renommée mondiale.


L'esprit Birmingham de l'innovation, l'amélioration et le renouvellement est encapsulé dans la devise de la ville: En avant!

The history of Birmingham

Once famous as a 'City of a Thousand Trades', Birmingham was a world leader in the production of pens, buckles, buttons, jewellery and guns.

The ideas of The Lunar Society, a group of genius industrialists, philosophers and intellectuals not only changed Birmingham's history, but the history of the world.

The beginning

Birmingham’s fascinating history goes back as far as 10,500 years ago, when Stone Age hunters roamed the grasslands and forests along the River Rea valley. The Romans also left their mark on the city’s landscape, with a major fort near Harborne and many roads that cross the area.

Although evidence is scant, it is believed a small Anglo-Saxon settlement existed close to the River Rea in Digbeth. The name of this settlement was Birmingham. The original meaning of the name is the settlement (ham) of the followers (ing) of Beorma, who is believed to have been a Saxon warrior or nobleman.

In July 2009 incredible Anglo-Saxon artefacts were unearthed in the Birmingham region. The 3,500 pieces of gold and silver items date back to the 7th century Anglo-Saxon kingdom of Mercia and amount to the most valuable treasure hoard ever discovered in the UK. A selection of this now famous Staffordshire Hoard is currently displayed in the Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery and has been the subject of international attention from as far as the Smithsonian in Washington and the Louvre in Paris.

Birmingham’s early history as a major settlement dates back to the early 12th century when Peter de Bermingham, holder of the manor of Birmingham, gained the right to hold a weekly market. In the Doomsday Book of 1086, Birmingham was valued at the modest sum of £1 with a total of 9 houses! The 1166 market charter helped Peter de Bermingham to lay the foundations for Birmingham to develop as a market town, and transformed the prospects of the small settlement forever.


The central heart of Birmingham’s geographical expansion was St Martin’s church, one of Birmingham’s oldest buildings. The earliest record of a church dates back to 1290, but an earlier place of worship was likely to have been here. Birmingham’s markets were located around the church, and still exist in the same location 850 years later! Today, St Martin’s Church contains a number of historical treasures and offers an enlightening perspective on the city’s exciting history.

From the 16th century Birmingham was transformed from a market-orientated town to an industrial centre. Blade-making industries such as cutlery, weapons and ultimately guns were drawn to Birmingham owing to its central location, good transport links and natural resources.  

Birmingham or Brummagem? Find out more about the name of the city.

'City of a Thousand Trades'

By the 18th century, the city had become the main European producer of buckles, buttons and a range of small boxes, jewellery and accessories often called “Brummagem toys”. The ‘Toy Industry’ was dominated by the manufacturers John Taylor and Matthew Boulton. Boulton, together with James Watt and Erasmus Darwin were co-founders of the Lunar Society which gained worldwide recognition for innovative, pioneering ideas in science, arts, philosophy and commerce.  The Lunar Society met during the full moon at Soho House which is today converted into a museum and open to visitors from April to October.

During this period, the canal network was extended to Birmingham and provided an essential link to the global export markets. Raw materials could be quickly brought in to the town and finished goods could be sent back out, helping to give Birmingham a competitive edge on other rival manufacturing centres.

Birmingham gained a worldwide reputation as a powerhouse of manufacturing and invention, gaining the reputation as a “City of a Thousand Trades’ and the “Toyshop of Europe”. From the production of medals and coins at the Birmingham Mint to the production of steel pen nibs by the million, Birmingham could claim with pride that 75% of everything written in the world at the time was written with a ‘Birmingham’ pen. Original machinery, pens and collections are exhibited at the critically-acclaimed Pen Museum in the historic Jewellery Quarter. To this day, over 40% of all the UK’s handmade jewellery is produced in Birmingham’s Jewellery Quarter, with its award winning Museum of the Jewellery Quarter.

Rapid economic growth led to a boom in the city’s population. The construction of Back to Back housing was a response to the rapidly increasing population by the mid-19th century. The courtyard houses were not the sole-preserve of the working-classes, but many middle-classes too. Whilst economic growth brought prosperity to some, not everyone in society benefited. Housing conditions worsened as population density increased, with poor health and education worsening during the Industrial Revolution. In Birmingham, there were reformers who believed this was unacceptable and set out to make changes. Reform had already begun by 1779 when the first free hospital in Birmingham was opened by Dr John Ash and was funded by wealthy individuals like Matthew Boulton. Later under the leadership of Joseph Chamberlain, Birmingham became an international model for “municipal socialism”. During his tenure, clean water and gas was supplied to more people, public board schools were built and slum clearances were carried out.

At the end of the 19th century chocolate maker George and Richard Cadbury opened their chocolate factory at Bournville and built houses and amenities for the factory workers. Visitors can find out more about Cadbury's history at Cadbury World.

Post-war boom

At the beginning of the 20th century Birmingham adapted to the new way of life as electrical engineering and car manufacturers became the dominant industries in the city.  Some of the great old vehicles and machines are displayed at the Motor Heritage Centre, Coventry Transport Museum, National Motorcycle Museum, ThinkTank Birmingham Science Museum and the Museum Collections Centre. The First and Second World War resulted in the increased production of munitions in the West Midlands, particularly in Birmingham and Coventry.



Being an important manufacturing centre, Birmingham was a major target during the Second World War, and suffered heavily from bombing raids. Targets included the Castle Bromwich aerodrome plant where the Spitfire and Lancaster planes were made and the Austin factory at Longbridge which was producing military vehicles and airplanes. After London and Liverpool, Birmingham received the most damage from air raids and 2,241 people in the city died. Their names are commemorated on the Tree of Life Memorial near to St. Martin’s Church.

The ‘Post-war boom’ in the 1950's caused a growth of employment in the engineering and motor vehicle industry in the West Midlands, as Birmingham’s population grew and new communities from the Indian sub-continent and Caribbean made Birmingham their new home.

Today

The economic changes of the 1970s had a significant impact on Birmingham’s economy.  Over the last 30 years however, the city’s focus has shifted from being predominantly a manufacturing industry to a service economy.  Former industrial properties such as the Custard Factory have been transformed into some of Birmingham's most exciting art and nightlife venues.

Birmingham has experienced a healthy level of economic growth over the last two decades, benefiting from being the regional capital and centre for employment and commerce.

Innovative new industries are rapidly making Birmingham their home, from graphic designers to computer game programmers, and are supported by our world-renowned universities and colleges.


The Birmingham spirit of innovation, improvement and renewal is encapsulated in the city’s motto: Forward!

Essentials

Maps & Guides

Maps & Guides for your visit.

Read More

Getting around

Getting around Birmingham couldn’t be easier...

Read More

What's on

Search for places, events & accommodation...

Read More

Festivals & events

Take a look at what’s on now and coming up here...

Read More

FROM TWITTER

RT @rockupadventure: #Birmingham Calling all Super Hero's. 26th Aug Book online https://t.co/s0oDcOgcFl. Climb with #Batman, have a photo w…

RT @birminghamcg22: All eyes on #Birmingham's @alex_stadium for Sir @Mo_Farah's final UK track appearance - and it's a 3000m win! 🥇 #brumbi…

RT @birminghamcg22: Overwhelming support for #BrumBid2022 today, including @Iwanrunner! #athletics https://t.co/s3IrK5esKq

RT @birminghamcg22: Make your way to the Bull @Bullring right now for the chance to hold the #QBR2018...send us your photos! #BrumBid2022 h…

Festivals & events

Sporting highlights

Culture

Art Galleries

Birmingham’s art collection is as wide as it is impressive. 

Read More

Stage & Screen

From touring West End shows to showcasing local talent.

Read More

Music

A huge arena tour or an intimate gig?  You’ll find it here.

Read More

Film

Multiplexes, the UK’s oldest working cinema or art house cool?

Read More

Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery

A vibrant museum in the heart of the city with over 40 galleries.

Read More

Dance

A diverse range of dance groups and venues.

Read More

See More, Feel More

Come, stay and soak up the culture in one of Europe's most vibrant cities.

Read More

Shopping

Shoppinginbirmingham.com

Plan the perfect shopping trip with full store, centre and brand directories.

Read More

Shopping centres

From the world-famous, 21st Century Bullring to the Victorian elegance of the Great Western Arcade.

Read More

Vibrant streets

Linking the centres are Birmingham’s bustling shopping streets, packed with major brands and boutique independents.

Read More

Markets

Don’t miss Birmingham’s amazing markets – whether it’s the 850-year old Bullring markets or the...

Read More

Jewellery Quarter

Home to more diamond rings, finishing touches and tokens of love than anywhere else in...

Read More

Getting Married in Birmingham

We have everything covered from the rings right up to the venue itself.

Read More