遺產景點

 

阿斯頓音樂廳

的詹姆士一世時期的輝煌阿斯頓廳近日重新開放一個1300萬英鎊英鎊的修復工程。亮點包括漂亮的內飾,從17世紀開始,到風景優美的花園和內戰的連接。入場收費只適用於霍爾,但整個網站是免費的,每月的第一個星期日開放的季節。

 

 

珠寶區

珠寶區的歷史可以追溯到250多年,仍是家庭超過400珠寶企業。珠寶區提供了一個快照伯明翰在美麗的格魯吉亞和維多利亞式的環境設置創新和創意產業。它被描述為一個獨特的歷史環境在英國,其中有幾個,如果有的話,平行於歐洲的英國遺產。

本季度還包含伯​​明翰最好的廣場,聖保羅的一員,以其優良的格魯吉亞教堂,眾多的餐館,酒吧和畫廊。超過100個專業的珠寶零售商提供經典作品和美麗的手工製作的珠寶首飾 - 在很多地方,你可以委託自己的設計。本季度寶石的珠寶區博物館藝術家皇家伯明翰學會鋼筆室博物館聖保羅美術館以及伯明翰檢驗局在這裡你可以了解純度標記的歷史,了解他們的作用21世紀(訪問通過預先安排)。

一個隱藏的寶石在伯明翰的珠寶區, 紐曼兄弟是伯明翰保護基金會的二級*上市的維多利亞廠建於1894年的工廠生產的最高質量的棺材配件,直到它關閉於1999年15年的項目後恢復出廠,紐曼兄弟現在是恢復經營,其原有的股票重新上架,和維多利亞機械再次合作。在其新的生活,作為一個“時間囊”工廠文物古蹟有每天和一系列的事件和活動,包括家庭觀眾都是古裝導遊。

伯明翰博物館和藝術畫廊

充分領略這座城市的底蘊非凡的範圍內, 伯明翰博物館和藝術畫廊是一個必須看到的。藝術和歷史的國際顯著藏品包括拉斐爾前派的作品在世界工業畫廊的大收藏,致力於在伯明翰在過去200年中產生的最優秀的工藝品。在博物館參觀後,您可以享受傳統的英國茶歷史悠久的愛德華七世時代的茶室。

教會和教堂

伯明翰有三個教堂:聖菲,聖乍得和希臘東正教教堂的天主教教堂奉獻給東正和聖安地列斯的英國國教大教堂。

伯明翰大教堂(聖菲利浦)自1715年一直是一個禮拜的地方,是英國巴洛克建築的罕見例子。大教堂房子美麗的彩繪玻璃窗由拉斐爾前派藝術家和本地出生的愛德華·伯恩 - 瓊斯坐落在城市的心臟。特殊服務和活動還舉行貫穿全年。進入是免費的,開放給所有。

聖馬丁在鬥牛場是伯明翰最古老的教堂。第一次有記錄的建築始建於1290年,但教會可能有撒克遜的起源。它仍作為教區教堂的城市,是英國唯一的教會神職人員有市場交易員的專用部件!教會已經重建了無數次了幾個世紀,但是從伯明翰原上議院墓葬可以接近祭壇找到。此外,還有由愛德華·伯恩 - 瓊斯一個彩色玻璃窗,看到所有其他窗口摧毀了閃電戰期間,奇蹟般地保存不受損壞。教會是開放的上午10點至下午4點30(週一至週六)上午九時之間旅客至晚上七時(星期日)。進入是免費的,開放給所有。

大都會大教堂和聖乍得大教堂坐落在歷史悠久的珠寶區的邊緣。在1841年的哥特式復興大教堂開業,主要是由著名的奧古斯都普金設計的。大教堂是宗教改革後內置在英格蘭的第一個羅馬天主教大教堂。局部設計的內飾,聖乍得的是伯明翰的設計和藝術的體現。進入是免費的,開放給所有。

進一步的寶石是聖保羅教堂在聖保羅廣場在歷史悠久的珠寶區。美麗的格魯吉亞教會奉獻於1779年,並迅速成為被稱為“首飾堂”。在內部,參觀者可以看到原來的木製長凳和驚人的東窗,描繪聖保羅的轉換。聖保羅為您開放,上午10時和下午4時之間旅客(週二至週六)。進入是免費的,開放給所有。導遊可以事先直接與教會預訂。

Warstone公墓裡的珠寶區在1848年被打開了作為英國國教教會的成員墓地。它的目的是在哥特式風格和它的墓穴都很好呈現。著名的人被埋在這座二級註冊歷史花園範圍從約翰·巴斯克維爾,打印機,通過對主要哈利寶石,草地網球的創始人。

歷史建築

版權所有伯明翰博物館市中心之外,遊客可以盡情淋漓恢復Blakesley大廳 ,建於16世紀的木質結構的農舍,而神奇的沙熱後坊在霍爾綠色-這就形成了靈感JRR托爾金的“哈比”的魔戒。 沙熱後坊是一家二級保護水磨坊。

在200年的老廠是唯一倖存的水車在伯明翰的一個。第二水磨可以在薩頓科爾菲爾德被發現。在二級保護建築, 新館磨坊是工業遺產的顯著本地的例子,被形容為“薩頓的小寶石”。

參觀蘇荷館是必須的-一個精心修復的喬治亞風格的建築,曾經是馬修·博爾頓的國內和世界的聚會場所著名農曆協會。農曆學會是偉大的發明家,作家和設計師,包括喬賽亞·韋奇伍德,伊拉斯謨達爾文和詹姆斯·瓦特一個有影響力的群體。蘇荷館的亮點包括精細格魯吉亞銀器,設計和製造在英國伯明翰,以及家具,盛大的室內設計和精心修復的18世紀花園。入場收費的房子和特殊事件,但進入的理由是免費開放的季節。

Stanbrook修道院 ,在莫爾文山在伍斯特郡的陰影設置,直到最近才回家篤會修女的社區。

前者修道院是預計的屋頂保留了值得稱道的標準下修建的紅磚與石選礦和哥特式窗戶。修道院教堂是由愛德華·韋爾比普金設計,並於1871年的哥特式復興大廈宣誓就職,由奉獻是一個熟悉當地的地標和建築本身是國家重要的天主教建築的建築歷史的一部分。

Woodbrooke是歐洲唯一的桂格燕研究中心和一個有著悠久歷史的distinguisghed。它是基於前家當地的巧克力製造商,喬治吉百利,自己是貴格會,並已,自1903年以來,來自世界各地提供的教育與任何信仰或無。遊客誰感興趣的社會歷史和商業道德來住在Woodbrooke以品嚐的氛圍,並能更多地了解伯恩維爾。

禮拜堂

至於他訪問英國在2010年9月的一部分,教皇本篤十六世參觀了大教堂在伯明翰,他成為第一個在祈禱的祝福紅衣主教紐曼新祠堂的第一人。在大教堂的遊客可以找到更多關於大教堂當前的使徒,它的過去和現在的社會,S·菲利普和他的家人在全球,紅衣主教約翰·亨利·紐曼和有關與大教堂相連的數字,如JRR托爾金。禮拜堂是整週開放,服務經常舉行。有關詳細信息,請參閱禮拜堂的網站。

花園和歷史建築

伯明翰植物園及玻璃溫室 ,位於埃德巴斯頓美麗的郊區是喜悅的15英畝的綠洲。花園是由這個時候JC勞登領先的園林規劃師設計並開放給用戶在1832年今天,遊客們可以在其最好的享受大自然,發現植物的重要性。

 


內置的實業家約翰Nettlefold的越來越多的家庭在1903年, 溫特故居和花園是一個20世紀初的郊外別墅和花園難得的倖存的例子。現在,該網站是一個廣泛的裝飾精美的時期展覽室提供了一個洞察到愛德華七世時代的生活上面和下面的樓梯向公眾開放,每週7天。外,在工藝美術園喜悅在所有的季節,露台茶室是一個奇妙的地方享受午餐或下午茶。

伯明翰返回後背

伯明翰的最後倖存法院背靠背房屋提供一步往回趕。這個國家信託基金的位置是勞動人民的房子精心修復的19世紀庭院。它是通過誰住在這裡工作了四個時期,從1840年到1977年每個內飾的設計體現了誰在這裡做了他們的家園的家庭的不同文化,宗教和職業的人的經歷講了一個故事。遊客被迅速捲入歷史和這些獨特的房子的故事,並鼓勵他們觸覺,嗅覺,體驗展品本身。只有導遊顯示,預訂是必須的。對於一個真實的歷史體驗,你可以留在一個國家信託度假別墅在伯明翰。

布萊克地區生活博物館

出差回來的時候,發現了一個迷人的世界布萊克地區生活博物館其中100多年前描繪日常生活中的黑色國家。來自世界各地的區域歷史建築都被感動,真正的重建在博物館,展示如何將人們一度生活在英國工業的心臟。運回的時間,從現代展廳到運河邊上的村莊,在那裡打扮示威者和工作手工藝人把建築物的生活與他們的當地知識,實踐技能和獨特的黑色幽默國家。 

汽車遺產博物館

有在伯明翰三輪摩托遺產博物館和更廣泛的地區。

阿斯頓莊園公路交通博物館是一個必須參觀的博物館,每摩托車遺產風扇。從公交車,旅遊車,商務車和有軌電車機構都坐落在一座19世紀的電車逐出。博物館是在移動到一個新的位置 - 請檢查自己的網站,開放時間和更多細節的過程。

汽車遺產中心汽車博物館位於Gaydon,沃里克附近,是家庭對世界上最偉大的英國汽車的集合!該博物館講述的故事,從一些最早的汽車採取英國的道路,一直到最新的設計。

考文垂是英國的週期和電機行業的發源地。在考文垂交通博物館 ,參觀者可以發現背後從最早的週期,以土地的速度紀錄斷路器道路運輸發展的引人入勝的故事。

伯恩維爾和吉百利世界

1824年,約翰·吉百利睜開了對公牛街菜市場店位於伯明翰市中心,銷售的一系列產品,以及昂貴的可可。它很快成為流行和產量增長較快。更大的場所開設了歪路和橋街道,原材料需要做巧克力由運河船被帶​​來。吉百利的接受了他們的皇家權證於1854年,作為巧克力維多利亞女王的供應商。

到1879年,吉百利的業務,現在理查德和喬治的掌舵下,把他們的整個生產了專用位置,伯明翰以外幾英里的是當時農場的土地。新的解決將是一個“工廠的花園”,被賦予伯恩維爾的名稱。吉百利家庭是社會的先鋒,擁有寬敞的大家園,新學校,甚至游泳池只為工人建設。相較於四合院是如此普遍在伯明翰的時候,伯恩維爾是開創性的。

今天吉百利世界是一個重大的家庭的吸引力,其中年輕人和老年人可以更多地了解巧克力的製造工藝。遊客伯恩維爾也可以看到,吉百利系列開發的村一樣的環境,並且仍然是最可取的地區居住的城市之一。

運河

伯明翰是英國的“運河城”,與著名的多英里的運河超過威尼斯。伯明翰的運河原本在200年前建的工業運輸和工業遺產仍然可以看到。在許多地方,如Brindleyplace區 ,運河網絡已經恢復活力,以工作,生活和社交,與運河邊上的酒吧和餐館,藝術畫廊和精品購物的地方。在英國的運河網絡的心臟,燃氣街盆地是一個令人回味的和非常拍照的吸引力,是許多難忘的啟動運河乘船遊覽和假期。

幾乎在伯明翰整個運河網絡訪問步行者,騎自行車和輪椅使用者,以信息板定位於纖道提供的歷史和遊客信息。 免費的“步行和騎自行車地圖”可以在這裡獲得

聖尼古拉斯廣場,國王諾頓

伯明翰最大的中世紀建築複雜,聖尼古拉斯廣場在國王諾頓是該地區最優秀的文化遺產瑰寶之一。都鐸商人之家,老文法學校和大氣聖尼古拉斯教堂形成對國王諾頓綠色風景如畫的集群,並提供遊客有機會體驗到伯明翰的過去。隨著導遊,一間咖啡廳和常規跳蚤和農貿市場,聖尼古拉斯廣場是一定要留下了難忘的印象。聖尼古拉斯廣場是公共交通很方便。這是一個從國王諾頓火車站步行5分鐘或公交車45,145146,距離市中心(從伯明翰新街火車服務),所有停靠在酒店附近。開放時間和事件的詳細信息, 請參閱他們的網站

Nickolls&心動

成立於公元1797年,位於黑色國家,Stourbridge的, Nickolls和心動 ,是在倫敦之外的英國最古老的葡萄酒和烈性酒的商人。

波爾多,香檳,葡萄酒港口和威士忌是他們的主要專業領域,他們最近被評為由葡萄酒指南為“英國的波爾多酒商專家”。 Nickolls與心動定期舉辦針對零售和企業客戶在他們的16世紀酒窖在中部地區品嚐活動等場地。

 

伯明翰遺產論壇

對於文物景點整個城市的整個主機的詳細信息,請訪問伯明翰遺產論壇

要點

地圖與指南

地圖和指南為您的光臨。

閱讀更多

四處逛逛

四處逛逛伯明翰再簡單不過了......

閱讀更多

探索

搜索地點,活動和住宿...

閱讀更多

節日及活動

一起來看看什麼在此時此地來了...

閱讀更多

FROM TWITTER

RT @birminghamcg22: Plans for the site that would be home to the #Birmingham2022 Commonwealth Games Village have been formally submitted fo…

RT @unibirmingham: Excited much? Congratulations to everyone joining us! You'll be here very soon! #hellobrum We can't wait 😊 https://t.co

RT @BirminghamDL: 🔴 Start-lists are LIVE!🇬🇧 ..and the British stars are coming! The meeting will see @lauramuiruns will attack @damekelly

節日及活動

體育亮點

所有體育賽事

總有一些東西,或者一個人,歡呼這裡

閱讀更多

文化

藝術畫廊

伯明翰的藝術收藏品是一樣寬,它是令人印象深刻。

閱讀更多

影片

复,英國最古老的電影院工作或美術家很酷?

閱讀更多

伯明翰博物館和藝術畫廊

一個充滿活力的博物館在城市的心臟有超過40個展廳。

閱讀更多

舞蹈

一個多元化的舞蹈團體和場所。

閱讀更多

看多了,覺得比較

得來,留得住,沉浸在文化在歐洲最具活力的城市之一。

閱讀更多

購物

Shoppinginbirmingham.com

計劃全店,中心和品牌目錄完美的購物之旅。

閱讀更多

購物中心

來自世界著名的,21世紀的鬥牛場的西部大商場的維多利亞式的優雅。

閱讀更多

充滿活力的街道

鏈接中心是伯明翰繁華的購物街,擠滿了各大品牌和精品獨立。

閱讀更多

市場

千萬不要錯過伯明翰的驚人的市場 - 無論是850歲的鬥牛市場或正規農貿市場。

閱讀更多

珠寶區

首頁更多的鑽戒,收尾和定情比其他地方的國家。

閱讀更多

在伯明翰結婚

我們擁有一切,從覆蓋環說得最多的場館本身。

閱讀更多

Heritage attractions

 

Aston Hall

The Jacobean splendour of Aston Hall has recently re-opened following a £13million pound restoration project. Highlights include beautiful interiors from the 17th Century, to the landscaped gardens and Civil War connections. Admission charges apply to the Hall only, but the whole site is free on the first Sunday of every month during the open season.

 

 

The Jewellery Quarter

The Jewellery Quarter dates back over 250 years and is still home to over 400 jewellery businesses.  The Jewellery Quarter offers a snap-shot of Birmingham’s innovative and creative industries set in the beautiful Georgian and Victorian surroundings. It has been described by English Heritage as a unique historic environment in England, which has few, if any, parallels in Europe. 

The Quarter also contains one of Birmingham’s finest squares, St Paul’s, with its fine Georgian church, numerous restaurants, bars and galleries. Over 100 specialist jewellery retailers offer classic pieces and beautiful handcrafted jewellery - in many places you can commission your own design. Gems of the quarter are the Museum of the Jewellery Quarter, the Royal Birmingham Society of Artists, The Pen Room Museum, St Paul's Gallery as well as the Birmingham Assay Office where you can learn about the history of hallmarking and find out their role in the 21st century (visit by pre-arrangement).

A hidden gem in Birmingham's Jewellery Quarter, Newman Brothers is Birmingham Conservation Trust's Grade II* listed Victorian factory built in 1894. The factory made coffin fittings of the highest quality until it closed in 1999.

Finally, after more than 10 years of fundraising, the building is being restored and brought back into use as a factory heritage attraction which will also incorporate commercial units.

Conservation work is currently underway and Newman Brothers open to the public on the 28 October 2014.

Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery

To fully appreciate the extraordinary range of the city’s heritage, the Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery is a must-see. The internationally significant collections of art and history include the largest collection of pre-Raphaelite artwork in the world and the Industrial Gallery, dedicated to the finest crafts produced in Birmingham over the past 200 years. After a visit at the museum, you can enjoy a traditional English tea in the historic Edwardian tea room.

Churches & Cathedrals

Birmingham has three cathedrals: the Anglican cathedral of St. Philip, the Roman Catholic basilica of St. Chad and the Greek Orthodox cathedral dedicated to Theotokos and St. Andreas.

Birmingham Cathedral (St. Philip’s) has been a place of worship since 1715 and is a rare example of English Baroque architecture. Situated in the heart of the city, the Cathedral houses beautiful stained glass windows by the pre-Raphaelite artist and locally-born Edward Burne-Jones. Special services and events also take place throughout the year. Entry is free and open to all.

St Martin in the Bull Ring is Birmingham's oldest church. The first recorded building was founded in 1290 but the church may have Saxon origins. It still serves as the parish church for the city and is the only British church to have a dedicated member of clergy for market traders! The Church has been rebuilt numerous times over the centuries, but tombs from the original Lords of Birmingham can be found near the altar. In addition, there is a stained glass window by Edward Burne-Jones, miraculously saved from damage during the Blitz which saw every other window destroyed. The Church is open for visitors between 10am and 4.30pm (Monday to Saturday) and 9am to 7pm (Sunday). Entry is free and open to all.

The Metropolitan Cathedral and Basilica of St. Chad is located on the edge of the historic Jewellery Quarter. The Gothic revival Cathedral opened in 1841 and was designed principally by the famous Augustus Pugin. The Cathedral was the first Roman Catholic cathedral built in England after the Reformation. With locally designed interiors, St. Chad’s is an embodiment of Birmingham design and art. Entry is free and open to all.

A further gem is St Paul's Church at St Paul's Square in the historic Jewellery Quarter. The beautiful Georgian church was consecrated in 1779 and quickly became known as the ‘Jeweller’s Church’. Inside, visitors can see the original wooden pews and striking East Window, depicting the conversion of St. Paul. St Paul’s is open for visitors between 10am and 4pm (Tuesday to Saturday). Entry is free and open to all. Guided tours can be booked in advance directly with the Church.

Warstone Lane Cemetery in the Jewellery Quarter was opened in 1848 as a burial ground for members of the Anglican Church. It was designed in Gothic style and its catacombs are well presented. Famous people buried in this Grade II registered Historic Garden range from John Baskerville, the printer, through to Major Harry Gem, the founder of Lawn Tennis.

Historic Buildings

Copyright Birmingham MuseumsOutside of the city centre, visitors can enjoy delightfully restored Blakesley Hall, a timber-framed farmhouse built in the 16th century, and magical Sarehole Mill in Hall Green – which formed the inspiration for J.R.R. Tolkien’s ‘Hobbiton’ in The Lord of the Rings. Sarehole Mill is a Grade II listed water mill.

The 200-year old mill is one of the only surviving water mills in Birmingham. A second water mill can be found in Sutton Coldfield. The Grade 2 listed building New Hall Mill is a significant local example of industrial heritage and has been described as 'Sutton's little gem'.

A visit to Soho House is a must - a carefully restored Georgian house, which was once the home of Matthew Boulton and the meeting place of the world famous Lunar Society. The Lunar Society was an influential group of great inventors, writers and designers, including Josiah Wedgwood, Erasmus Darwin and James Watt. Highlights of Soho House include fine Georgian silverware, designed and made in Birmingham, as well as furniture, grand interior design and a beautifully restored 18th-century garden. Admission charges apply to the house and special events, but access to the grounds is free during the open season.

Stanbrook Abbey, set in the shadow of the Malvern Hills in Worcestershire, was until recently home to a community of Benedictine nuns.

The former convent is constructed of red brick with stone dressings and Gothic windows under a slated roof preserved to a commendable standard. The Abbey Church was designed by Edward Welby Pugin and was inaugurated by consecration in 1871. Its Gothic Revival Tower is a familiar local landmark and the building itself is of national significance as part of the architectural history of Roman Catholic buildings.

Woodbrooke is Europe's only Quaker Study Centre and a has a long and distinguisghed history. It is based in the former family home of the local chocolate maker, George Cadbury, himself a Quaker, and has, since 1903, provided education for those of any faith or none from around the world. Visitors who are interested in social history and ethical business come to stay at Woodbrooke in order to savour the ambience and to be able to find out more about Bournville. 

 The Oratory

As part of his visit to England in September 2010, Pope Benedict XVI visited the Oratory in Birmingham where he became the first person to pray at the new shrine for the Blessed Cardinal John Henry Newman. At the Oratory visitors can find out more about the Oratory's current apostolate, its past and present community,  S. Philip and his worldwide family,  Cardinal John Henry Newman and about connected figures with the Oratory, such as J. R. R. Tolkien. The Oratory is open throughout the week, and services are held frequently. For more details, please see the Oratory’s website.

Gardens and historic homes

The Birmingham Botanical Gardens & Glasshouses, located in the beautiful suburb of Edgbaston are a 15-acre oasis of delight.  The gardens were designed by leading garden planner of this time J.C. Loudon and opened to subscribers in 1832. Today, visitors can enjoy nature at its best and discover the importance of plants.

 


Built for industrialist John Nettlefold’s growing family in 1903, Winterbourne House and Garden is a rare surviving example of an early 20th century suburban villa and garden. Now the site is open to the public 7 days a week with a range of beautifully decorated period exhibition rooms offering an insight into Edwardian life both above and below stairs. Outside, the Arts and Crafts garden delights in all seasons and the terrace tea room is a wonderful place to treat yourself to lunch or afternoon tea.

Birmingham Back to Backs

Birmingham's last surviving court of Back to Back Housing offers a step back in time. This National Trust location is a beautifully restored 19th-century courtyard of working people's houses. It’s a story told through the experiences of the people who lived and worked here over four periods from 1840 to 1977. The design of each interior reflects the varied cultures, religions and professions of the families who made their homes here. Visitors are quickly drawn into the history and stories of these unique houses, and are encouraged to touch, smell and experience the exhibits themselves. Shown by guided tour only, booking is a must. For an authentic history experience, you can stay at one of the National Trust holiday cottages in Birmingham.

Black Country Living Museum

Travel back in time and discover a fascinating world of the Black Country Living Museum which portrays the daily life 100 years ago in the Black Country. Historic buildings from all around the region have been moved and authentically rebuilt at the Museum, to show how the people once have lived in the heart of industrial Britain. Transported back in time from the modern exhibition halls to the canalside village, where costumed demonstrators and working crafts people bring the buildings to life with their local knowledge, practical skills and unique Black Country humour. 

Motor heritage museums

There are three motor heritage museums in Birmingham and the wider region.

The Aston Manor Road Transport Museum is a must-visit museum for every motorcycle heritage fan. From buses, coaches, commercial vehicles and tramcar bodies are housed in a 19th century tram deport. The Museum is in the process of moving to a new location- please check their website for opening times and further details.

The Heritage Motor Centre motor museum is located in Gaydon, near Warwick and is home to the world’s greatest collection of British Cars! The museum tells the story, from some of the very first cars to take to British roads, right up to the latest designs.

Coventry is the birthplace of the British cycle and motor industry. At the Coventry Transport Museum, visitors can discover the fascinating story behind the development of road transport from the earliest cycles to land speed record breakers.

Bournville & Cadbury World

In 1824, John Cadbury opened his grocer shop on Bull Street in Birmingham city centre, selling a range of products as well as expensive cocoa. It soon became popular and production rapidly increased. Larger premises were opened on Crooked Lane and Bridge Street, with raw materials needed to make chocolate being brought in by canal boat. Cadbury’s received their Royal Warrant in 1854 as the supplier of chocolate to Queen Victoria.

By 1879, the Cadbury business, by now under the helm of Richard and George, moved their whole production to a purpose-built location a few miles outside of Birmingham on what was then farm land. The new settlement was to be a ‘factory in a garden’ and was given the name of Bournville. The Cadbury family were social pioneers, with the building of large spacious homes, new schools and even swimming pools solely for their workers. Compared to the courtyard houses that were so prevalent in Birmingham at the time, Bournville was pioneering.

Today Cadbury World is a major family attraction where young and old can learn more about chocolate and the manufacturing process. Visitors to Bournville can also see the village-like surroundings that the Cadbury family developed, and which continues to be one of the most desirable areas in the city to live.

Canals

Birmingham is Britain’s “Canal City”, with famously more miles of canal than Venice. Birmingham’s canals were originally built for industrial transport over 200 years ago and the industrial heritage can still be seen. In many places, such as Brindleyplace, the canal network has been revitalised as a place to work, live and socialise, with canalside bars and restaurants, art galleries and boutique shopping. At the heart of the British canal network, the Gas Street Basin is an evocative and much-photographed attraction and is the start of many memorable canal boat trips and holidays.

Nearly the entire canal network in Birmingham is accessible to walkers, cyclists and wheelchair users, with information boards positioned on the towpath to provide historical and visitor information. A free “Walking and Cycling Map” can be obtained here.

St Nicholas Place, Kings Norton

Birmingham’s largest complex of medieval buildings, St Nicholas Place in Kings Norton is one of the region’s most outstanding heritage gems. The Tudor Merchant’s House, Old Grammar School and atmospheric St Nicholas Church form a picturesque cluster on Kings Norton Green and offer visitors a chance to experience Birmingham’s past. With guided tours, a café and a regular flea and farmers’ market, St Nicholas Place is sure to leave a memorable impression. St Nicholas Place is easily accessible by public transport. It’s a 5 minute walk from Kings Norton Railway Station (served by trains from Birmingham New Street) or by buses 45, 145 or 146 from the city centre, which all stop nearby. For opening times and event details, please see their website

Nickolls & Perks

Established in the year 1797, situated in the Black Country, Stourbridge, Nickolls & Perks is the oldest wines and spirits merchant in the UK outside London.

Bordeaux, Champagne, Vintage Port & Whisky are their main specialist areas, they have recently been named by Which Wine Guide as "The Bordeaux Wine Merchant Specialist of the UK". Nickolls & Perks regularly host tasting events for retail and corporate customers in their 16th Century Cellars and other venues in the Midlands.

Birmingham Heritage Forum

For more information on a whole host of heritage attractions across the city visit the Birmingham Heritage Forum

Essentials

Maps & Guides

Maps & Guides for your visit.

Read More

Getting around

Getting around Birmingham couldn’t be easier...

Read More

Explore

Search for places, events & accommodation...

Read More

Festivals & events

Take a look at what’s on now and coming up here...

Read More

FROM TWITTER

RT @thechrismoose: What’s a mathematician’s favourite Christmas snack? A mince pi.*This is comedy gold I tells ya* http://t.co/qTJKNRoGoC

RT @DianePeternel: Just had a fabulous evening at the #Frankfurt #christmasmarket in Birmingham. Definitely recommended 👍🎄🎅 @visit_bham ht…

RT @BCLivingMuseum: Bostin Competition - Name The Ticket.Get your Black Country thinking caps on - as we are offering you a chance... htt…

Highlights

Staffordshire Hoard

Until 31 December - Uncovering a brand new gallery of the fascinating Staffordshire Hoard story.

Read More

City of Colours

6 December - City of Colours is back! Come and join them for their winter showcase.

Read More

Behind the Curtain Festival

Until 29 Nov - A new Central and Eastern European film and new media festival.

Read More

Birmingham's Frankfurt Christmas Market & Craft Fair

Until 22 December - The largest authentic German market outside Germany and Austria.

Read More

More festivals & events

More festivals & events coming soon.

Read More

Featured Itineraries

Shopping

Shoppinginbirmingham.com

Plan the perfect shopping trip with full store, centre and brand directories.

Read More

Shopping centres

From the world-famous, 21st Century Bullring to the Victorian elegance of the Great Western Arcade.

Read More

Vibrant streets

Linking the centres are Birmingham’s bustling shopping streets, packed with major brands and boutique independents.

Read More

Markets

Don’t miss Birmingham’s amazing markets – whether it’s the 850-year old Bullring markets or the...

Read More

Jewellery Quarter

Home to more diamond rings, finishing touches and tokens of love than anywhere else in...

Read More

Getting Married in Birmingham

We have everything covered from the rings right up to the venue itself.

Read More

Culture

Art Galleries

Birmingham’s art collection is as wide as it is impressive. 

Read More

Theatre

From touring West End shows to showcasing local talent.

Read More

Music

A huge arena tour or an intimate gig?  You’ll find it here.

Read More

Film

Multiplexes, the UK’s oldest working cinema or art house cool?

Read More

Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery

A vibrant museum in the heart of the city with over 40 galleries.

Read More

Dance

A diverse range of dance groups and venues.

Read More

See More, Feel More

Come, stay and soak up the culture in one of Europe's most vibrant cities.

Read More

Sporting highlights

Rugby World Cup 2015

Birmingham will be playing a key role in the delivery of the Rugby World Cup...

Read More

Cricket

Edgbaston: synonymous with world class international cricket.

Read More

Football

With five top clubs there’s real football choice here.

Read More

Golf

Birmingham offers some outstanding golf courses.

Read More

All sporting events

There’s always something, or someone, to cheer for here

Read More