Attractions patrimoniales

 

Aston Hall

La splendeur jacobin de Aston Hall a récemment rouvert suite à un projet de restauration de livres £ 13 millions. Faits saillants comprennent de beaux intérieurs du 17ème siècle, les jardins paysagers et les connexions de la guerre civile. Les droits d'entrée se appliquent à la salle seulement, mais l'ensemble du site est gratuite le premier dimanche de chaque mois pendant la saison.

 

 

Le quartier Bijoux

Le quartier des bijoutiers remonte à plus de 250 années et est toujours à la maison à plus de 400 entreprises de bijoux. Le Jewellery Quarter offre un instantané des industries innovantes et créatives de Birmingham fixés dans le cadre magnifique géorgienne et victorienne. Il a été décrit par English Heritage comme un environnement historique unique en Angleterre, qui a peu, le cas échéant, des parallèles en Europe.

Le quartier contient également l'une des plus belles places de Birmingham, Saint-Paul, avec son église géorgienne, de nombreux restaurants, bars et galeries. Plus de 100 détaillants spécialiste de bijoux offrent des pièces classiques et belle bijoux artisanaux - dans de nombreux endroits où vous pouvez commander une création personnelle. Gems du trimestre sont les Musée du Quartier Bijoux , le royal Birmingham Society of Artists , Le Musée Pen Chambre , Galerie Saint-Paul ainsi que l'Assay Office Birmingham où vous pouvez en apprendre davantage sur l'histoire de poinçonnage et de découvrir leur rôle dans la 21ème siècle (visite de pré-arrangement).

Un petit bijou caché dans Bijoux Quarter de Birmingham, Newman Brothers est Grade II de Birmingham Conservation Trust * énumérés usine victorienne construite en 1894. L'usine fait garnitures de cercueils de la plus haute qualité jusqu'à sa fermeture en 1999. Après un projet de 15 ans pour restaurer l'usine, Newman Brothers est maintenant de retour dans les affaires, avec son stock d'origine retour sur les tablettes, et les machines victorienne travailler à nouveau. Dans sa nouvelle vie comme une «capsule temporelle» patrimoine usine attraction il ya des visites guidées costumées tous les jours et une série d'événements et d'activités, y compris pour un public familial.

Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery

Pour apprécier pleinement la gamme extraordinaire du patrimoine de la ville, le Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery est un must-see. Les collections d'importance internationale de l'art et de l'histoire comprennent la plus grande collection d'œuvres d'art préraphaélite dans le monde et la Galerie industrielle, dédié aux plus beaux produits de l'artisanat à Birmingham au cours des 200 dernières années. Après une visite au musée, vous pourrez déguster un thé anglais traditionnel dans la salle historique de thé édouardien.

Églises et cathédrales

Birmingham a trois cathédrales: la cathédrale anglicane de Saint-Philippe, la basilique catholique romaine de Saint-Tchad et la cathédrale orthodoxe grecque dédiée à Mère de Dieu et St. Andreas.

Cathédrale Birmingham (Saint-Philippe de) a été un lieu de culte depuis 1715 et est un rare exemple d'architecture baroque anglais. Situé au cœur de la ville, les maisons de la cathédrale beaux vitraux de l'artiste préraphaélite et localement-né Edward Burne-Jones. Les services spéciaux et des événements ont également lieu tout au long de l'année. L'entrée est gratuite et ouverte à tous.

St Martin in the Bull Ring est la plus ancienne église de Birmingham. Le premier bâtiment enregistrée a été fondée en 1290, mais l'église peut avoir des origines saxonnes. Il sert encore de l'église paroissiale de la ville et est la seule église britannique à avoir un membre dévoué du clergé pour les commerçants du marché! L'église a été reconstruite à de nombreuses reprises au cours des siècles, mais les tombes des Lords originaux de Birmingham peut être trouvé près de l'autel. En outre, il ya un vitrail par Edward Burne-Jones, miraculeusement sauvé des dommages pendant le Blitz qui a vu tous les autres fenêtre détruite. L'église est ouverte pour les visiteurs 10 heures-16h30 (du lundi au samedi) et 9 heures-19 heures (dimanche). L'entrée est gratuite et ouverte à tous.

La cathédrale métropolitaine et de la basilique de Saint-Tchad est situé sur le bord de la Bijouterie quartier historique. La cathédrale néogothique a ouvert en 1841 et a été conçu principalement par la célèbre Augustus Pugin. La cathédrale a été la première cathédrale catholique romaine construite en Angleterre après la Réforme. Avec des intérieurs conçus localement, St. du Tchad est un mode de réalisation de la conception et de l'art de Birmingham. L'entrée est gratuite et ouverte à tous.

Un autre joyau est l'église Saint-Paul à la place Saint-Paul dans le quartier historique de bijoux. La belle église géorgienne a été consacrée en 1779 et est rapidement devenu connu sous le nom «Église Bijouterie». A l'intérieur, les visiteurs peuvent voir les bancs en bois d'origine et la suppression fenêtre Orient, représentant la conversion de saint Paul. St Paul est ouvert aux visiteurs 10 heures-16 heures (du mardi au samedi). L'entrée est gratuite et ouverte à tous. Des visites guidées peuvent être réservées à l'avance directement avec l'Église.

Warstone Lane cimetière dans le quartier Bijoux a été ouvert en 1848 comme un lieu de sépulture pour les membres de l'Église anglicane. Il a été conçu dans le style gothique et ses catacombes sont bien présentés. Les gens célèbres enterrés dans ce Grade II enregistrés gamme de jardin historique de John Baskerville, l'imprimante, en passant par le major Harry Gem, le fondateur de Lawn Tennis.

Bâtiments historiques

Droits d'auteur Birmingham Musées En dehors du centre-ville, les visiteurs peuvent profiter joliment restaurée Blakesley Hall , une ferme à pans de bois construit au 16ème siècle, et Sarehole Mill magique Hall Green - qui a formé l'inspiration pour de JRR Tolkien «Hobbiton 'dans Le Seigneur des Anneaux. Sarehole Mill est un moulin à eau classé Grade II.

Le vieux moulin de 200 ans est l'un des moulins à eau seul survivant à Birmingham. Un deuxième moulin à eau se trouve à Sutton Coldfield. Le bâtiment classé Grade 2 New Mill Hall est un exemple local important du patrimoine industriel et a été décrit comme «petit bijou de Sutton.

Une visite à Soho House est un must - une maison géorgienne restaurée avec soin, qui était autrefois la maison de Matthew Boulton et le lieu de rassemblement du monde célèbre Lunar Society. La Société lunaire était un groupe influent de grands inventeurs, des écrivains et des concepteurs, y compris Josiah Wedgwood, Erasmus Darwin et James Watt. Faits saillants de Soho House comprennent l'argenterie bien géorgienne, conçu et fabriqué en Birmingham, ainsi que des meubles, grand design d'intérieur et un jardin du 18ème siècle magnifiquement restauré. Les droits d'entrée se appliquent à la maison et des événements spéciaux, mais l'accès aux motifs est gratuit pendant la saison de chasse.

Abbaye Stanbrook , situé dans l'ombre de Malvern Hills, dans le Worcestershire, était jusqu'à récemment la maison à une communauté de religieuses bénédictines.

L'ancien couvent est construit en brique rouge avec des pansements de pierre et fenêtres gothiques sous un toit prévue préservée à un niveau louable. L'abbatiale a été conçu par Edward Welby Pugin et a été inauguré par la consécration en 1871. Son style néo-gothique Tour est un repère connu et le bâtiment lui-même est d'importance nationale dans le cadre de l'histoire architecturale des bâtiments catholiques.

Woodbrooke ne Study Centre Quaker de l'Europe est et a une histoire longue et distinguisghed. Il est basé dans l'ancienne maison de la famille de la machine locale de chocolat, George Cadbury, lui-même un Quaker, et a, depuis 1903, à condition que l'éducation pour ceux de toute la foi ou pas du monde entier. Les visiteurs qui se intéressent à l'histoire sociale et éthique des affaires venus pour rester au Woodbrooke pour savourer l'ambiance et de pouvoir en savoir plus sur Bournville.

L'Oratoire

Dans le cadre de sa visite en Angleterre en Septembre 2010, le pape Benoît XVI a visité l' Oratoire de Birmingham où il est devenu la première personne à prier à nouveau sanctuaire pour la Sainte cardinal John Henry Newman. Aux visiteurs de l'Oratoire peut en savoir plus sur l'apostolat de l'Oratoire actuelle, son passé et le présent communauté, S. Philippe et sa famille dans le monde entier, le cardinal John Henry Newman et de chiffres connectés avec l'Oratoire, tels que JRR Tolkien. L'Oratoire est ouvert toute la semaine, et les services sont organisés fréquemment. Pour plus de détails, se il vous plaît consulter le site Web de l'Oratoire.

Jardins et maisons historiques

Les jardins botaniques de Birmingham et serres , situées dans la belle banlieue de Edgbaston sont une oasis de 15 acres de plaisir. Les jardins ont été conçus par les plus grands planificateur de jardin de ce moment JC Loudon et ouvertes aux abonnés en 1832. Aujourd'hui, les visiteurs peuvent profiter de la nature à son meilleur et de découvrir l'importance des plantes.

 


Construit pour la famille grandissante de l'industriel John Nettlefold en 1903, Winterbourne House and Garden est un rare exemple d'une villa suburbaine début du 20ème siècle et le jardin. Maintenant, le site est ouvert au public sept jours par semaine avec une gamme de chambres joliment décorées d'exposition période offrant un aperçu de la vie Edwardian dessus et en dessous des escaliers. A l'extérieur, le jardin Arts et Métiers se plaît à toutes les saisons et la salle de thé terrasse est un endroit merveilleux pour vous offrir le déjeuner ou le thé.

Birmingham Back to Backs

Dernier tribunal survivant de Birmingham Back to Back logement offre un retour dans le temps. Cet emplacement National Trust est une cour magnifiquement restaurée du 19ème siècle de travailler les maisons des gens. Ce est une histoire racontée à travers les expériences des personnes qui a vécu et travaillé ici sur quatre périodes de 1840 à 1977. La conception de chaque intérieur reflète les diverses cultures, religions et professions des familles qui ont fait leurs maisons ici. Les visiteurs sont rapidement entraînés dans l'histoire et les histoires de ces maisons uniques, et sont encouragés à toucher, sentir et découvrir les expositions eux-mêmes. Montré par visite guidée, réservation est un must. Pour une expérience de l'histoire authentique, vous pouvez séjourner dans l'un des gîtes du National Trust à Birmingham.

Black Country Living Museum

Voyagez dans le temps et de découvrir un monde fascinant de la Country Museum Noir Salon qui dépeint la vie quotidienne il ya 100 ans dans le Pays Noir. Les bâtiments historiques de partout dans la région ont été déplacés et authentiquement reconstruit au Musée, pour montrer comment les gens ont vécu autrefois au coeur de la Grande-Bretagne industrielle. Transportés dans le temps à partir des salles d'exposition modernes du village au bord du canal, où des manifestants costumés et de travail des artisans apporter les bâtiments à la vie avec leurs connaissances locales, des compétences pratiques et unique humour noir du pays. 

musées du patrimoine du moteur

Il ya trois musées du patrimoine du moteur à Birmingham et dans la région.

La Route Transport Museum Aston Manor est un musée incontournable pour tous les fans du patrimoine de la moto. De autobus, autocars, véhicules utilitaires et les organismes de tramways sont logés dans un tram 19e siècle deport. Le Musée est en train de passer à une nouvelle emplacement- se il vous plaît vérifier leur site pour les horaires et plus de détails ouverture.

Le Heritage Motor Centre musée de l'automobile se trouve à Gaydon, près de Warwick et abrite la plus grande collection au monde de British Cars! Le musée raconte l'histoire, à partir de quelques-unes des premières voitures à prendre les routes britanniques, jusqu'aux dernières créations.

Coventry est le berceau de l'industrie du cycle et le moteur britannique. Au Coventry Transport Museum , les visiteurs peuvent découvrir l'histoire fascinante derrière le développement du transport routier dès les premiers cycles à la vitesse de la terre de records.

Bournville et Cadbury World

En 1824, John Cadbury a ouvert sa boutique de l'épicier sur Bull Street dans le centre-ville de Birmingham, la vente d'une gamme de produits ainsi que le cacao cher. Il est vite devenu populaire et la production a augmenté rapidement. Grandes locaux ont été ouverts sur Crooked Lane et la rue Bridge, avec des matières premières nécessaires pour faire du chocolat étant amené par bateau sur le canal. Cadbury ont reçu leur mandat royal en 1854 en tant que fournisseur de chocolat à la reine Victoria.

En 1879, l'entreprise Cadbury, maintenant sous la houlette de Richard et George, propose toute leur production à un endroit spécialement construit quelques miles à l'extérieur de Birmingham sur ce qui était alors la terre ferme. Le nouveau règlement devait être une «usine dans un jardin" et a été donné le nom de Bournville. La famille Cadbury étaient pionniers sociaux, avec la construction de grandes maisons spacieuses, de nouvelles écoles et même les piscines uniquement pour leurs travailleurs. Par rapport aux maisons à cour qui étaient si répandus à Birmingham à l'époque, était Bournville pionnier.

Aujourd'hui Cadbury World est une attraction majeure de la famille où petits et grands peuvent en apprendre davantage sur le chocolat et le processus de fabrication. Les visiteurs de Bournville peuvent également voir les environs de village-que la famille Cadbury développé, et qui continue à être l'un des quartiers les plus recherchés de la ville à vivre.

Canals

Birmingham est la Grande-Bretagne "Canal City», avec plus de miles de la célèbre canal de Venise. Les canaux de Birmingham ont été construits pour le transport industrielle, il ya plus de 200 ans et le patrimoine industriel peuvent encore être vus. Dans de nombreux endroits, comme Brindleyplace , le réseau de canaux a été revitalisé comme un endroit pour vivre, travailler et faire des rencontres, avec des bars et restaurants le long du canal, galeries d'art et boutiques. Au cœur du réseau de canaux britannique, le bassin Gas Street est une attraction évocateur et très souvent photographié et est le début de beaucoup de mémorables excursions en bateau sur le canal et les jours fériés.

Près du réseau de canaux ensemble à Birmingham est accessible aux promeneurs, les cyclistes et les utilisateurs de fauteuils roulants, avec des panneaux d'information placés sur le chemin de halage à fournir des informations historiques et des visiteurs. Une "marche et cyclisme carte" libre peuvent être obtenus ici .

St Nicholas Place, Kings Norton

Le plus grand complexe de Birmingham de bâtiments médiévaux, St Nicholas Place à Kings Norton est l'un des plus remarquables joyaux du patrimoine de la région. La Maison du Tudor Merchant, Old Grammar School et Eglise St Nicholas atmosphérique forment un cluster pittoresque sur Kings Norton vert et offrent aux visiteurs la chance de découvrir le passé de Birmingham. Avec des visites guidées, un café et une puce régulière et un marché d'agriculteurs, St Nicholas Place est sûr de laisser une impression mémorable. St Nicholas Place est facilement accessible par les transports publics. Ce est à 5 minutes à pied de la gare de Kings Norton (desservie par des trains en provenance de Birmingham New Street) ou par les bus 45, 145 ou 146 du centre-ville, où tous se arrêtent à proximité. Pour les horaires et les détails de l'événement d'ouverture, se il vous plaît voir leur site web

Nickolls & Perks

Créé en l'an 1797, situé dans le Pays Noir, Stourbridge, Nickolls & Perks est le plus ancien marchand de vins et spiritueux au Royaume-Uni en dehors de Londres.

Bordeaux, Champagne, Port & Whisky Vintage sont leurs principaux domaines de spécialisation, ils ont récemment été nommés par le Guide vin comme «Le spécialiste de Bordeaux Wine Merchant du Royaume-Uni". Nickolls & Perks accueillent régulièrement des événements de dégustation pour les clients particuliers et aux entreprises dans leurs caves du 16ème siècle et d'autres lieux dans les Midlands.

 

Forum du patrimoine Birmingham

Pour plus d'informations sur toute une série d'attractions patrimoniales à travers la ville de visiter le Forum du patrimoine Birmingham

Essentiel

Cartes & Guides

Cartes & Guides pour votre visite.

En Savoir Plus

Se déplacer

Se déplacer Birmingham ne pouvait pas être plus facile ...

En Savoir Plus

Explorer

Rechercher des lieux, des événements et l'hébergement ...

En Savoir Plus

Festivals et événements

Jetez un oeil à ce qui est maintenant et à venir ici ...

En Savoir Plus

Festivals et événements

Articles faits saillants

Culture

Galeries d'art

La collection d'art de Birmingham est aussi large que ce est impressionnant.

En Savoir Plus

Film

Multiplexes, plus vieux cinéma de travail ou maison fraîche d'art du Royaume-Uni?

En Savoir Plus

Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery

Un musée dynamique au coeur de la ville avec plus de 40 galeries.

En Savoir Plus

Danse

Un large éventail de groupes de danse et des lieux.

En Savoir Plus

Voir Plus, se sentent plus

Venez, le séjour et se imprégner de la culture dans l'une des villes les plus dynamiques d'Europe.

En Savoir Plus

Shopping

Shoppinginbirmingham.com

Planifier le voyage de shopping parfait avec plein magasin, centre et répertoires de la marque.

En Savoir Plus

Centres commerciaux

De la célèbre, Arènes 21e siècle à l'élégance victorienne de la Grande Arcade occidentale.

En Savoir Plus

Rues animées

Reliant les centres des rues commerçantes animées de Birmingham, emballés avec de grandes marques et...

En Savoir Plus

Marchés

Ne manquez pas les marchés étonnantes de Birmingham - qu'il se agisse des marchés de...

En Savoir Plus

Jewellery Quarter

Accueil à plus de bagues de diamant, la finition des touches et des témoignages d'amour...

En Savoir Plus

Se marier à Birmingham

Nous avons tout couvert des anneaux jusqu'à la salle elle-même.

En Savoir Plus

Heritage attractions

 

Aston Hall

The Jacobean splendour of Aston Hall has recently re-opened following a £13million pound restoration project. Highlights include beautiful interiors from the 17th Century, to the landscaped gardens and Civil War connections. Admission charges apply to the Hall only, but the whole site is free on the first Sunday of every month during the open season.

 

 

The Jewellery Quarter

The Jewellery Quarter dates back over 250 years and is still home to over 400 jewellery businesses.  The Jewellery Quarter offers a snap-shot of Birmingham’s innovative and creative industries set in the beautiful Georgian and Victorian surroundings. It has been described by English Heritage as a unique historic environment in England, which has few, if any, parallels in Europe. 

The Quarter also contains one of Birmingham’s finest squares, St Paul’s, with its fine Georgian church, numerous restaurants, bars and galleries. Over 100 specialist jewellery retailers offer classic pieces and beautiful handcrafted jewellery - in many places you can commission your own design. Gems of the quarter are the Museum of the Jewellery Quarter, the Royal Birmingham Society of Artists, The Pen Room Museum, St Paul's Gallery as well as the Birmingham Assay Office where you can learn about the history of hallmarking and find out their role in the 21st century (visit by pre-arrangement).

A hidden gem in Birmingham's Jewellery Quarter, Newman Brothers is Birmingham Conservation Trust's Grade II* listed Victorian factory built in 1894. The factory made coffin fittings of the highest quality until it closed in 1999.

Finally, after more than 10 years of fundraising, the building is being restored and brought back into use as a factory heritage attraction which will also incorporate commercial units.

Conservation work is currently underway and Newman Brothers open to the public on the 28 October 2014.

Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery

To fully appreciate the extraordinary range of the city’s heritage, the Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery is a must-see. The internationally significant collections of art and history include the largest collection of pre-Raphaelite artwork in the world and the Industrial Gallery, dedicated to the finest crafts produced in Birmingham over the past 200 years. After a visit at the museum, you can enjoy a traditional English tea in the historic Edwardian tea room.

Churches & Cathedrals

Birmingham has three cathedrals: the Anglican cathedral of St. Philip, the Roman Catholic basilica of St. Chad and the Greek Orthodox cathedral dedicated to Theotokos and St. Andreas.

Birmingham Cathedral (St. Philip’s) has been a place of worship since 1715 and is a rare example of English Baroque architecture. Situated in the heart of the city, the Cathedral houses beautiful stained glass windows by the pre-Raphaelite artist and locally-born Edward Burne-Jones. Special services and events also take place throughout the year. Entry is free and open to all.

St Martin in the Bull Ring is Birmingham's oldest church. The first recorded building was founded in 1290 but the church may have Saxon origins. It still serves as the parish church for the city and is the only British church to have a dedicated member of clergy for market traders! The Church has been rebuilt numerous times over the centuries, but tombs from the original Lords of Birmingham can be found near the altar. In addition, there is a stained glass window by Edward Burne-Jones, miraculously saved from damage during the Blitz which saw every other window destroyed. The Church is open for visitors between 10am and 4.30pm (Monday to Saturday) and 9am to 7pm (Sunday). Entry is free and open to all.

The Metropolitan Cathedral and Basilica of St. Chad is located on the edge of the historic Jewellery Quarter. The Gothic revival Cathedral opened in 1841 and was designed principally by the famous Augustus Pugin. The Cathedral was the first Roman Catholic cathedral built in England after the Reformation. With locally designed interiors, St. Chad’s is an embodiment of Birmingham design and art. Entry is free and open to all.

A further gem is St Paul's Church at St Paul's Square in the historic Jewellery Quarter. The beautiful Georgian church was consecrated in 1779 and quickly became known as the ‘Jeweller’s Church’. Inside, visitors can see the original wooden pews and striking East Window, depicting the conversion of St. Paul. St Paul’s is open for visitors between 10am and 4pm (Tuesday to Saturday). Entry is free and open to all. Guided tours can be booked in advance directly with the Church.

Warstone Lane Cemetery in the Jewellery Quarter was opened in 1848 as a burial ground for members of the Anglican Church. It was designed in Gothic style and its catacombs are well presented. Famous people buried in this Grade II registered Historic Garden range from John Baskerville, the printer, through to Major Harry Gem, the founder of Lawn Tennis.

Historic Buildings

Copyright Birmingham MuseumsOutside of the city centre, visitors can enjoy delightfully restored Blakesley Hall, a timber-framed farmhouse built in the 16th century, and magical Sarehole Mill in Hall Green – which formed the inspiration for J.R.R. Tolkien’s ‘Hobbiton’ in The Lord of the Rings. Sarehole Mill is a Grade II listed water mill.

The 200-year old mill is one of the only surviving water mills in Birmingham. A second water mill can be found in Sutton Coldfield. The Grade 2 listed building New Hall Mill is a significant local example of industrial heritage and has been described as 'Sutton's little gem'.

A visit to Soho House is a must - a carefully restored Georgian house, which was once the home of Matthew Boulton and the meeting place of the world famous Lunar Society. The Lunar Society was an influential group of great inventors, writers and designers, including Josiah Wedgwood, Erasmus Darwin and James Watt. Highlights of Soho House include fine Georgian silverware, designed and made in Birmingham, as well as furniture, grand interior design and a beautifully restored 18th-century garden. Admission charges apply to the house and special events, but access to the grounds is free during the open season.

Stanbrook Abbey, set in the shadow of the Malvern Hills in Worcestershire, was until recently home to a community of Benedictine nuns.

The former convent is constructed of red brick with stone dressings and Gothic windows under a slated roof preserved to a commendable standard. The Abbey Church was designed by Edward Welby Pugin and was inaugurated by consecration in 1871. Its Gothic Revival Tower is a familiar local landmark and the building itself is of national significance as part of the architectural history of Roman Catholic buildings.

Woodbrooke is Europe's only Quaker Study Centre and a has a long and distinguisghed history. It is based in the former family home of the local chocolate maker, George Cadbury, himself a Quaker, and has, since 1903, provided education for those of any faith or none from around the world. Visitors who are interested in social history and ethical business come to stay at Woodbrooke in order to savour the ambience and to be able to find out more about Bournville. 

 The Oratory

As part of his visit to England in September 2010, Pope Benedict XVI visited the Oratory in Birmingham where he became the first person to pray at the new shrine for the Blessed Cardinal John Henry Newman. At the Oratory visitors can find out more about the Oratory's current apostolate, its past and present community,  S. Philip and his worldwide family,  Cardinal John Henry Newman and about connected figures with the Oratory, such as J. R. R. Tolkien. The Oratory is open throughout the week, and services are held frequently. For more details, please see the Oratory’s website.

Gardens and historic homes

The Birmingham Botanical Gardens & Glasshouses, located in the beautiful suburb of Edgbaston are a 15-acre oasis of delight.  The gardens were designed by leading garden planner of this time J.C. Loudon and opened to subscribers in 1832. Today, visitors can enjoy nature at its best and discover the importance of plants.

 


Built for industrialist John Nettlefold’s growing family in 1903, Winterbourne House and Garden is a rare surviving example of an early 20th century suburban villa and garden. Now the site is open to the public 7 days a week with a range of beautifully decorated period exhibition rooms offering an insight into Edwardian life both above and below stairs. Outside, the Arts and Crafts garden delights in all seasons and the terrace tea room is a wonderful place to treat yourself to lunch or afternoon tea.

Birmingham Back to Backs

Birmingham's last surviving court of Back to Back Housing offers a step back in time. This National Trust location is a beautifully restored 19th-century courtyard of working people's houses. It’s a story told through the experiences of the people who lived and worked here over four periods from 1840 to 1977. The design of each interior reflects the varied cultures, religions and professions of the families who made their homes here. Visitors are quickly drawn into the history and stories of these unique houses, and are encouraged to touch, smell and experience the exhibits themselves. Shown by guided tour only, booking is a must. For an authentic history experience, you can stay at one of the National Trust holiday cottages in Birmingham.

Black Country Living Museum

Travel back in time and discover a fascinating world of the Black Country Living Museum which portrays the daily life 100 years ago in the Black Country. Historic buildings from all around the region have been moved and authentically rebuilt at the Museum, to show how the people once have lived in the heart of industrial Britain. Transported back in time from the modern exhibition halls to the canalside village, where costumed demonstrators and working crafts people bring the buildings to life with their local knowledge, practical skills and unique Black Country humour. 

Motor heritage museums

There are three motor heritage museums in Birmingham and the wider region.

The Aston Manor Road Transport Museum is a must-visit museum for every motorcycle heritage fan. From buses, coaches, commercial vehicles and tramcar bodies are housed in a 19th century tram deport. The Museum is in the process of moving to a new location- please check their website for opening times and further details.

The Heritage Motor Centre motor museum is located in Gaydon, near Warwick and is home to the world’s greatest collection of British Cars! The museum tells the story, from some of the very first cars to take to British roads, right up to the latest designs.

Coventry is the birthplace of the British cycle and motor industry. At the Coventry Transport Museum, visitors can discover the fascinating story behind the development of road transport from the earliest cycles to land speed record breakers.

Bournville & Cadbury World

In 1824, John Cadbury opened his grocer shop on Bull Street in Birmingham city centre, selling a range of products as well as expensive cocoa. It soon became popular and production rapidly increased. Larger premises were opened on Crooked Lane and Bridge Street, with raw materials needed to make chocolate being brought in by canal boat. Cadbury’s received their Royal Warrant in 1854 as the supplier of chocolate to Queen Victoria.

By 1879, the Cadbury business, by now under the helm of Richard and George, moved their whole production to a purpose-built location a few miles outside of Birmingham on what was then farm land. The new settlement was to be a ‘factory in a garden’ and was given the name of Bournville. The Cadbury family were social pioneers, with the building of large spacious homes, new schools and even swimming pools solely for their workers. Compared to the courtyard houses that were so prevalent in Birmingham at the time, Bournville was pioneering.

Today Cadbury World is a major family attraction where young and old can learn more about chocolate and the manufacturing process. Visitors to Bournville can also see the village-like surroundings that the Cadbury family developed, and which continues to be one of the most desirable areas in the city to live.

Canals

Birmingham is Britain’s “Canal City”, with famously more miles of canal than Venice. Birmingham’s canals were originally built for industrial transport over 200 years ago and the industrial heritage can still be seen. In many places, such as Brindleyplace, the canal network has been revitalised as a place to work, live and socialise, with canalside bars and restaurants, art galleries and boutique shopping. At the heart of the British canal network, the Gas Street Basin is an evocative and much-photographed attraction and is the start of many memorable canal boat trips and holidays.

Nearly the entire canal network in Birmingham is accessible to walkers, cyclists and wheelchair users, with information boards positioned on the towpath to provide historical and visitor information. A free “Walking and Cycling Map” can be obtained here.

St Nicholas Place, Kings Norton

Birmingham’s largest complex of medieval buildings, St Nicholas Place in Kings Norton is one of the region’s most outstanding heritage gems. The Tudor Merchant’s House, Old Grammar School and atmospheric St Nicholas Church form a picturesque cluster on Kings Norton Green and offer visitors a chance to experience Birmingham’s past. With guided tours, a café and a regular flea and farmers’ market, St Nicholas Place is sure to leave a memorable impression. St Nicholas Place is easily accessible by public transport. It’s a 5 minute walk from Kings Norton Railway Station (served by trains from Birmingham New Street) or by buses 45, 145 or 146 from the city centre, which all stop nearby. For opening times and event details, please see their website

Nickolls & Perks

Established in the year 1797, situated in the Black Country, Stourbridge, Nickolls & Perks is the oldest wines and spirits merchant in the UK outside London.

Bordeaux, Champagne, Vintage Port & Whisky are their main specialist areas, they have recently been named by Which Wine Guide as "The Bordeaux Wine Merchant Specialist of the UK". Nickolls & Perks regularly host tasting events for retail and corporate customers in their 16th Century Cellars and other venues in the Midlands.

Birmingham Heritage Forum

For more information on a whole host of heritage attractions across the city visit the Birmingham Heritage Forum

Essentials

Maps & Guides

Maps & Guides for your visit.

Read More

Getting around

Getting around Birmingham couldn’t be easier...

Read More

Explore

Search for places, events & accommodation...

Read More

Festivals & events

Take a look at what’s on now and coming up here...

Read More

FROM TWITTER

RT @thechrismoose: What’s a mathematician’s favourite Christmas snack? A mince pi.*This is comedy gold I tells ya* http://t.co/qTJKNRoGoC

RT @DianePeternel: Just had a fabulous evening at the #Frankfurt #christmasmarket in Birmingham. Definitely recommended 👍🎄🎅 @visit_bham ht…

RT @BCLivingMuseum: Bostin Competition - Name The Ticket.Get your Black Country thinking caps on - as we are offering you a chance... htt…

Highlights

Staffordshire Hoard

Until 31 December - Uncovering a brand new gallery of the fascinating Staffordshire Hoard story.

Read More

City of Colours

6 December - City of Colours is back! Come and join them for their winter showcase.

Read More

Behind the Curtain Festival

Until 29 Nov - A new Central and Eastern European film and new media festival.

Read More

Birmingham's Frankfurt Christmas Market & Craft Fair

Until 22 December - The largest authentic German market outside Germany and Austria.

Read More

More festivals & events

More festivals & events coming soon.

Read More

Featured Itineraries

Shopping

Shoppinginbirmingham.com

Plan the perfect shopping trip with full store, centre and brand directories.

Read More

Shopping centres

From the world-famous, 21st Century Bullring to the Victorian elegance of the Great Western Arcade.

Read More

Vibrant streets

Linking the centres are Birmingham’s bustling shopping streets, packed with major brands and boutique independents.

Read More

Markets

Don’t miss Birmingham’s amazing markets – whether it’s the 850-year old Bullring markets or the...

Read More

Jewellery Quarter

Home to more diamond rings, finishing touches and tokens of love than anywhere else in...

Read More

Getting Married in Birmingham

We have everything covered from the rings right up to the venue itself.

Read More

Culture

Art Galleries

Birmingham’s art collection is as wide as it is impressive. 

Read More

Theatre

From touring West End shows to showcasing local talent.

Read More

Music

A huge arena tour or an intimate gig?  You’ll find it here.

Read More

Film

Multiplexes, the UK’s oldest working cinema or art house cool?

Read More

Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery

A vibrant museum in the heart of the city with over 40 galleries.

Read More

Dance

A diverse range of dance groups and venues.

Read More

See More, Feel More

Come, stay and soak up the culture in one of Europe's most vibrant cities.

Read More

Sporting highlights

Rugby World Cup 2015

Birmingham will be playing a key role in the delivery of the Rugby World Cup...

Read More

Cricket

Edgbaston: synonymous with world class international cricket.

Read More

Football

With five top clubs there’s real football choice here.

Read More

Golf

Birmingham offers some outstanding golf courses.

Read More

All sporting events

There’s always something, or someone, to cheer for here

Read More