Univers du Son

Événement passé - 25 May-16 Juin 2013

Univers du Son : Les Planètes, une installation numérique majeur qui conduit à une exploration de week-end de la musique et de l'espace présenté par Town Hall & Symphony Hall avec l'Orchestre Philharmonia et disposant d'activités familiales gratuites, des projections de films et des spectacles.

Cet orchestre de classe mondiale est de prendre une forme virtuelle dans le interactif gratuit Univers d'installation numérique sonore , résident dans le désaffectée Birmingham Banque municipale entre le samedi 25 mai et dimanche 16 Juin 2013.

L'installation, qui a été conçu et créé par l'Orchestre Philharmonia Département numérique et chef principal et conseiller artistique Esa-Pekka Salonen, transportera les visiteurs au cœur d'un orchestre symphonique.

Les visiteurs seront en mesure d'effectuer en utilisant les technologies numériques créatifs, jouer des instruments en direct et virtuels et en apprendre davantage sur les rôles des musiciens et compositeurs de dix chambres séparées, devant un 360 projection degré planétarium de style full-dôme délivre le frisson incomparable de voir et d'entendre 105 joueurs qui effectuent un travail incroyable de Gustav Holst Les Planètes, dirigé par Esa-Pekka Salonen.

Univers du Son - Birmingham 2013 du Philharmonia Orchestra sur Vimeo .

Chaque chambre contient la partition pour chaque instrument, et les visiteurs seront invités à apporter leurs instruments et de jouer en même temps. Philharmonia et basés localement musiciens seront également présents à l'intérieur de l'installation, en jouant long questions en direct et répondre.

Utilisez #universeofsound sur twitter

  La création du salut définition expérience interactive immersive impliqués ce qui est considéré comme le plus grand film de tournage de la musique classique jamais entrepris, et a récemment été nominé pour un Royal Philharmonic Society Award 2013. Plus de 67 000 personnes ont visité le travail au Musée des sciences de Londres en 2012.

Le vendredi 14 Juin, Univers du dernier week-end de Sound commence avec un 19 heures projection du classique de science-fiction film de Stanley Kubrick 2001: A Space Odyssey au Symphony Hall, accompagné par la musique originale jouée en direct par le Philharmonia et Ex Cathedra la chorale de Birmingham, menée par Benjamin Wallfisch. Pièces majestueuses, non conventionnelles et instantanément reconnaissables de fonction de la musique dans le film 1968, qui est maintenant reconnu comme l'un des films les plus influents de tous les temps.

les détenteurs de billets de concert auront l'occasion de découvrir un spectacle de fin de nuit de Earthrise , chef-d'œuvre de 2010 chorale Alec Roth basée sur la vue de la Terre par des astronautes d'Apollo 8 tout en orbite, donné par Ex Cathedra dans Symphony Hall de 22:00.

L'espace familial du Symphony Hall Café Bar sera la base pour la Journée de la famille Univers sonore une journée d'activités gratuites, des ateliers et des démonstrations 10 heures 30-16h30 le samedi 15 Juin, avec des musiciens en aidant les familles à explorer l'Orchestre, système solaire mobiles, des démonstrations de la technologie de la musique, une installation de constellation, des ateliers créatifs sur le thème de la musique et de l'espace et bien plus encore.

Le week-end univers sonore ferme avec beaucoup de travail astrologique de Gustav Holst Les Planètes , interprétée par l'Orchestre et les dames de la ville de Birmingham Choir dirigé par Vladimir Ashkenazy en Symphony Hall, Philharmonia le dimanche 15 Juin 2013 (19h30).

Richard Hawley, directeur de la programmation artistique et Projets au Town Hall et Symphony Hall, a déclaré,

Travailler aux côtés de la Philharmonia dans la prestation d'une telle expérience merveilleusement immersif dans un espace aussi excitant que l'ancienne Banque municipale sur Broad Street est une occasion passionnante. Nous invitons musique et la science les fans, les familles et le carrément curieux de tout le Royaume-Uni pour visiter l'installation, prenons part à des activités pratiques à jour de notre famille et profiter de la performance rare de Kubrick 2001: A Space Odyssey avec une chorale orchestre et en direct score, ainsi qu'un certain nombre d'autres concerts, tous partie d'un projet vraiment excitant pour la ville.

Esa-Pekka Salonen, chef principal et conseiller artistique de l'Orchestre Philharmonia, a déclaré,

Ce projet offre à tous, des plus jeunes aux plus âgés, du débutant absolu au musicien expérimenté, la chance de l'étape à droite dans le coeur de l'un des meilleurs orchestres symphoniques du monde. Notre monde est tour à tour ridiculement fort, pin-goutte calme, très chargée, intense et souvent écrasante. Venez nous rejoindre - vous ne serez pas déçu.

L'Univers de l'installation numérique sonore à Birmingham est parrainé par l'Université de Birmingham City avec le soutien du partenaire THSH Norland. La performance de 2001: A Space Odyssey est parrainé par Investec Wealth & Investment.

La création d'univers sonore a été rendue possible grâce au soutien généreux de l'Arts Council England, la Fondation Eranda, la Fondation Esmée Fairbairn, la Fondation pour le sport et les arts et la Fondation Paul Hamlyn. Un Blu-Ray et DVD version interactive du métrage et audio vient d'être publié sur Signum Records pour coïncider avec l'installation.

Essentiel

Cartes & Guides

Cartes & Guides pour votre visite.

En Savoir Plus

Se déplacer

Se déplacer Birmingham ne pouvait pas être plus facile ...

En Savoir Plus

Explorer

Rechercher des lieux, des événements et l'hébergement ...

En Savoir Plus

Festivals et événements

Jetez un oeil à ce qui est maintenant et à venir ici ...

En Savoir Plus

Festivals et événements

Articles faits saillants

Culture

Galeries d'art

La collection d'art de Birmingham est aussi large que ce est impressionnant.

En Savoir Plus

Film

Multiplexes, plus vieux cinéma de travail ou maison fraîche d'art du Royaume-Uni?

En Savoir Plus

Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery

Un musée dynamique au coeur de la ville avec plus de 40 galeries.

En Savoir Plus

Danse

Un large éventail de groupes de danse et des lieux.

En Savoir Plus

Voir Plus, se sentent plus

Venez, le séjour et se imprégner de la culture dans l'une des villes les plus dynamiques d'Europe.

En Savoir Plus

Shopping

Shoppinginbirmingham.com

Planifier le voyage de shopping parfait avec plein magasin, centre et répertoires de la marque.

En Savoir Plus

Centres commerciaux

De la célèbre, Arènes 21e siècle à l'élégance victorienne de la Grande Arcade occidentale.

En Savoir Plus

Rues animées

Reliant les centres des rues commerçantes animées de Birmingham, emballés avec de grandes marques et...

En Savoir Plus

Marchés

Ne manquez pas les marchés étonnantes de Birmingham - qu'il se agisse des marchés de...

En Savoir Plus

Jewellery Quarter

Accueil à plus de bagues de diamant, la finition des touches et des témoignages d'amour...

En Savoir Plus

Se marier à Birmingham

Nous avons tout couvert des anneaux jusqu'à la salle elle-même.

En Savoir Plus

Universe of Sound

PAST EVENT - 25 May-16 June 2013

Universe of Sound: The Planets, a major digital installation that leads to a weekend exploration of music and space presented by Town Hall & Symphony Hall with the Philharmonia Orchestra and featuring free family activities, film screenings and live performances.

 

This world-class orchestra is to take on a virtual form in the free interactive Universe of Sound digital installation, resident in the disused Birmingham Municipal Bank between Saturday 25 May and Sunday 16 June 2013.

 

The installation, which has been devised and created by the Philharmonia Orchestra Digital Department and Principal Conductor and Artistic Advisor Esa-Pekka Salonen, will transport visitors into the heart of a symphony orchestra.

Visitors will be able to conduct using creative digital technologies, play live and virtual instruments and learn about the roles of musicians and composers in ten separate rooms, before a planetarium-style full-dome 360 degree projection delivers the incomparable thrill of seeing and hearing 105 players performing Gustav Holst’s incredible work The Planets, conducted by Esa-Pekka Salonen.

Universe of Sound - Birmingham 2013 from Philharmonia Orchestra on Vimeo.

Each room will contain the sheet music for each instrument, and visitors will be invited to bring their instruments and play along. Philharmonia and locally based musicians will also be present inside the installation, playing along live and answering questions.

Use #universeofsound on twitter

 The creation of the hi-definition interactive immersive experience involved what is believed to be the largest classical music film shoot ever undertaken, and has recently been shortlisted for a 2013 Royal Philharmonic Society Award. More than 67,000 people visited the work at the Science Museum, London in 2012.

On Friday 14 June, Universe of Sound‘s final weekend commences with a 7pm screening of Stanley Kubrick’s classic science-fiction movie 2001: A Space Odyssey at Symphony Hall, accompanied by the original soundtrack performed live by the Philharmonia and Birmingham’s Ex Cathedra choir, conducted by Benjamin Wallfisch. Majestic, unconventional and instantly recognisable pieces of music feature in the 1968 film, which is now acknowledged as one of the greatest and most influential films of all time.

Concert ticket holders will have the opportunity to experience a late night performance of Earthrise, Alec Roth’s 2010 choral masterpiece based on the view of Earth by Apollo 8 astronauts whilst in orbit, given by Ex Cathedra in Symphony Hall from 10pm.

The family friendly space of Symphony Hall Café Bar will be the base for Universe of Sound Family Day a day of free activities, workshops and demonstrations between 10.30am and 4.30pm on Saturday 15 June, featuring musicians helping families to explore the Orchestra, solar system mobiles, demonstrations of music technology, a constellation installation, creative workshops themed music and space plus much more.

The Universe of Sound weekend closes with Gustav Holst’s great astrological work The Planets, performed by the Philharmonia Orchestra and ladies of the City of Birmingham Choir conducted by Vladimir Ashkenazy in Symphony Hall, on Sunday 15 June 2013 (7.30pm).

 

 

 

 

Richard Hawley, Director of Artistic Programming and Projects at Town Hall and Symphony Hall, said,

Working alongside the Philharmonia in delivering such a wonderfully immersive experience in a space as exciting as the old Municipal Bank on Broad Street is a thrilling opportunity. We invite music and science fans, families and the downright curious from across the UK to visit the installation, take part in hands-on activities at our family day and enjoy the rare performance of Kubrick’s 2001: A Space Odyssey with a live orchestral and choral score, as well as a number of other concerts, all part of a truly exciting project for the city.

Esa-Pekka Salonen, Principal Conductor and Artistic Advisor at the Philharmonia Orchestra, said,

This project offers everyone, from the very young to the very old, from the absolute novice to the experienced musician, the chance to step right into the heart of one of the world’s finest symphony orchestras. Our world is by turns preposterously loud, pin-drop quiet, highly-charged, intense and frequently overwhelming. Come and join us – you won’t be disappointed.

The Universe of Sound digital installation in Birmingham is sponsored by Birmingham City University with support from THSH partner Norland. The performance of 2001: A Space Odyssey is sponsored by Investec Wealth & Investment.

The creation of Universe of Sound was made possible thanks to generous support from Arts Council England, the Eranda Foundation, the Esmée Fairbairn Foundation, the Foundation for Sport and the Arts and the Paul Hamlyn Foundation. An interactive Blu-Ray and DVD release of the footage and audio has just been released on Signum Records to coincide with the installation.

Upcoming highlights

St. George's Day

19 April - Lots of fun on offer in the city for all ages.

Read More

Vaisakhi

27 April - Family freindly open air celebrations for all.

Read More

Birmingham Pride 2014

24 & 25 May - The biggest two day LGBT party in the UK returns.

Read More

Supersonic

30 & 31 May - a combination of art, music and film along with other...

Read More

Wicked

9 Jul-6 Sep - Wicked flies into Birmingham Hippodrome in July 2014!

Read More

Wireless

4-6 July - One of the biggest festivals in the UK coming to Birmingham!

Read More

More festivals & events

More festivals & events coming soon.

Read More

Featured Itineraries

Latest

Blog

Read about our adventures in Birmingham...

Read More

Birmingham Museums

Birmingham Museums Receives Civic Society Renaissance Award

Read More

Visit Birmingham news

Read the latest press releases from Visit Birmingham.

Read More

FROM TWITTER

RT @befestival: Week 2: 23 shows over the week with 4 shows a night - it's like tapas! #BE2014 #PRLaunch

RT @birminghammail: A beautiful sunny day in Brum - perfect for a film premiere #Locke Pic by @JoBrain - tweet us your pics #weloveBrum htt…

RT @alex_ne: @visit_bham this was mine #architecture http://t.co/TUSI2CHq2z

RT @BucyLishop: @visit_bham this was mine #lovebrum http://t.co/ZomXu243rf

Shopping

Shoppinginbirmingham.com

Plan the perfect shopping trip with full store, centre and brand directories.

Read More

Shopping centres

From the world-famous, 21st Century Bullring to the Victorian elegance of the Great Western Arcade.

Read More

Vibrant streets

Linking the centres are Birmingham’s bustling shopping streets, packed with major brands and boutique independents.

Read More

Markets

Don’t miss Birmingham’s amazing markets – whether it’s the 850-year old Bullring markets or the...

Read More

Jewellery Quarter

Home to more diamond rings, finishing touches and tokens of love than anywhere else in...

Read More

Spa Breaks

Extend your shopping trip in Birmingham by enjoying a city spa break.

Read More

Getting Married in Birmingham

We have everything covered from the rings right up to the venue itself.

Read More

Culture

See More, Feel More

Come, stay and soak up the culture in one of Europe's most vibrant cities.

Read More

Birmingham Royal Ballet

The United Kingdom’s premiere touring ballet company.

Read More

CBSO

A world-renowned symphony orchestra, known and loved across the globe.

Read More

Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery

A vibrant museum in the heart of the city with over 40 galleries.

Read More

Art Galleries

Birmingham’s art collection is as wide as it is impressive. 

Read More

Dance

A diverse range of dance groups and venues.

Read More

Music

A huge arena tour or an intimate gig?  You’ll find it here.

Read More

Theatre

From touring West End shows to showcasing local talent.

Read More

Sporting highlights

The Aegon Classic

9-15 June - The Aegon Classic tennis tournament attracts a host of world-class players.

Read More

British Athletics at Alexander Stadium

See Britain's best athletes at the Alexander Stadium in June & August.

Read More

Cricket

Edgbaston: synonymous with world class international cricket.

Read More

Football

With five top clubs there’s real football choice here.

Read More

All sporting events

There’s always something, or someone, to cheer for here

Read More