Universe of Sound

PAST EVENT - 25. Mai - 16. Juni 2013

Universe of Sound : Die Planeten, eine große digitale Installation, die ein Wochenende Erforschung der Musik und Raum von Town Hall & Symphony Hall mit dem Philharmonia Orchestra und mit kostenFamilienAktivitäten, Filmvorführungen und Live-Performances präsentiert führt.

Diese Weltklasse-Orchester ist es, auf einer virtuellen Form in der kostenlosen interaktiven nehmen Universe of Sound digital Installation , wohnhaft in der stillgelegten Birmingham Kommunalbank zwischen Samstag, 25. Mai und Sonntag 16. Juni 2013.

Die Installation, die mit dem Philharmonia Orchestra Digitale Abteilung und Chefdirigent und Künstlerischer Berater Esa-Pekka Salonen erdacht und erstellt wurde, werden die Besucher in das Herz von einem Symphonieorchester zu transportieren.

Die Besucher werden in der Lage, durchführen mit Hilfe kreativer digitaler Technologien, live spielen und virtuelle Instrumente und mehr über die Rolle der Musiker und Komponisten in zehn separaten Zimmern, vor einem Planetarium Stil Fulldome 360-Grad-Projektion liefert den unvergleichlichen Reiz des Sehens und Hörens 105 Spieler Durchführung Gustav Holsts unglaubliche Arbeit Die Planeten, von Esa-Pekka Salonen durchgeführt.

Universe of Sound - Birmingham 2013 vom Philharmonia Orchestra auf Vimeo .

Jedes Zimmer wird die Noten für jedes Instrument enthalten, und die Besucher werden eingeladen, ihre Instrumente mitbringen und mitspielen. Philharmonia und lokal ansässigen Musiker werden auch in der Installation vorhanden sein, spielen zusammen leben und die Beantwortung von Fragen.

Verwenden #universeofsound auf Twitter

  Die Schaffung des hallo-Definition-interaktiven immersive Erfahrung beteiligt, was geglaubt wird, um die größte Klassik Filmdreh jemals durchgeführt werden, und hat vor kurzem eine 2013 Royal Philharmonic Society Award nominiert. Mehr als 67.000 Menschen besuchten die Arbeit im Science Museum in London im Jahr 2012.

Am Freitag, 14. Juni Universum von Final-Wochenende Sound beginnt mit einem 7.00 Screening von Stanley Kubricks Klassiker Science-Fiction Film 2001: Odyssee im Weltraum in der Symphony Hall, begleitet von der Original-Soundtrack live von der Philharmonie und Birminghams Ex Cathedra Chor durchgeführt, unter der Leitung Benjamin Wallfisch. Majestätisch, unkonventionelle und sofort erkennbar Musikstücke Feature in der 1968 Film, der heute als einer der größten und einflussreichsten Filme aller Zeiten anerkannt wird.

Konzertkarte erhalten die Möglichkeit, eine Late-Night-Performance zu erleben Earthrise , Alec Roth 2010 Chormeisterwerk auf der Grundlage der Blick auf die Erde von Apollo 8 Astronauten während in der Umlaufbahn, von Ex Cathedra in der Symphony Hall ab 10.00 Uhr gegeben.

Das familienfreundliche Raum der Symphony Hall Café Bar wird die Basis für sein Universe of Sound Family Day am Tag der freien Aktivitäten, Workshops und Vorführungen von 10.30 bis 16.30 Uhr am Samstag, 15. Juni mit Musikern der Unterstützung der Familien, die Orchestra erkunden, Sonnensystem Handys, Vorführungen von Musik-Technologie, einer Konstellation Installation, kreative Workshops Themen Musik und Raum und vieles mehr.

The Universe of Sound Wochenende schließt mit Gustav Holst großen astrologischen Arbeit The Planets , vom Philharmonia Orchestra und Damen des City of Birmingham Chor von Vladimir Ashkenazy in der Symphony Hall durchgeführt, am Sonntag, 15. Juni 2013 (07.30 Uhr) durchgeführt.

Richard Hawley, Direktor Künstlerische Programmierung und Projekte an Rathaus und der Symphony Hall, sagte:

In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Philharmonia in der Bereitstellung eines solchen wunderimmersive Erfahrung in einem Raum so aufregend wie die alten Stadtbank am Broad Street ist eine spannende Gelegenheit. Wir laden Musik und Wissenschaft Fans, Familien und die geradezu neugierig aus ganz Großbritannien, um die Installation zu besuchen, nehmen an praktischen Aktivitäten in unserer Familie Tag und genießen die seltene Leistung Kubricks 2001: Odyssee im Weltraum mit einer Live-Orchester- und Chor Punktzahl, sowie eine Reihe von anderen Konzerten, alle Teil einer überaus spannendes Projekt für die Stadt.

Esa-Pekka Salonen, Chefdirigent und Künstlerischer Berater der Philharmonia Orchestra, sagte:

Dieses Projekt bietet jedem, der sehr jung in die sehr alte, vom absoluten Anfänger bis zum erfahrenen Musiker, die Möglichkeit, direkt in die Herzen einer der weltbesten Sinfonieorchester Schritt. Unsere Welt ist abwechselnd lächerlich laut, Pin-Drop ruhig, hochgeladenen, intensiv und oft überwältigend. Kommen Sie zu uns - Sie werden nicht enttäuscht sein.

Das Universum der digitalen Klanginstallation in Birmingham wird von Birmingham City University mit Unterstützung THSH Partner Norland gesponsert. Die Leistung von 2001: A Space Odyssey von Investec Wealth & Investment gesponsert.

Die Schaffung Universe of Sound wurde möglich dank der großzügigen Unterstützung von Arts Council England, der Eranda Stiftung, der Esmée Fairbairn Foundation, der Stiftung für Sport und Kunst und der Paul Hamlyn Foundation. Eine interaktive Blu-Ray und DVD-Veröffentlichung der Aufnahmen und Audio hat soeben auf Signum Records erschienen, um mit der Installation übereinstimmt.

Grundlagen

Karten und Führer

Karten, Reiseführer für Ihren Besuch.

Weiterlesen

Fortbewegung

Unterwegs in Birmingham könnte nicht einfacher sein ...

Weiterlesen

Erkunden

Suche nach Orten, Veranstaltungen und Übernachtung ...

Weiterlesen

Feste & Veranstaltungen

Schauen Sie, was auf jetzt und hier kommen ...

Weiterlesen

Feste & Veranstaltungen

Sportliche Höhepunkte

Kultur

Kunstgalerien

Kunstsammlung von Birmingham ist so breit wie beeindruckend.

Weiterlesen

Film

Multiplexe, älteste noch funktionierende Kino oder Kunst Haus kühl im Vereinigten Königreich?

Weiterlesen

Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery

Eine lebendige Museum im Herzen der Stadt mit über 40 Galerien.

Weiterlesen

Tanz

Ein breites Spektrum von Tanzgruppen und Veranstaltungsorten.

Weiterlesen

Sehen Sie weitere, Fühlen Mehr

Kommen Sie, bleiben Sie und genießen Sie die Kultur in einer von Europas lebhaftesten Städte.

Weiterlesen

Einkaufen

Shoppinginbirmingham.com

Planen Sie den perfekten Shopping-Trip mit voller Geschäft, Zentrum und Markenverzeichnisse.

Weiterlesen

Einkaufszentren

Von der weltberühmten, 21. Jahrhundert Stierkampfarena in die viktorianische Eleganz der Great Western Arcade.

Weiterlesen

Lebendige Straßen

Die Verknüpfung der Zentren sind belebten Einkaufsstraßen von Birmingham, mit großen Marken und Boutique Unabhängigen...

Weiterlesen

Märkte

Verpassen Sie nicht Birminghams erstaunliche Märkte - ob die 850 Jahre alte Stierkampfarena Märkte oder...

Weiterlesen

Jewellery Quarter

Die Heimat von mehr Diamantringe, den letzten Schliff und Zeichen der Liebe als irgendwo sonst...

Weiterlesen

Erste Schritte in Birmingham Verheiratet

Wir haben alles von den Ringen bedeckt bis zum Veranstaltungsort selbst.

Weiterlesen

Universe of Sound

PAST EVENT - 25 May-16 June 2013

Universe of Sound: The Planets, a major digital installation that leads to a weekend exploration of music and space presented by Town Hall & Symphony Hall with the Philharmonia Orchestra and featuring free family activities, film screenings and live performances.

 

This world-class orchestra is to take on a virtual form in the free interactive Universe of Sound digital installation, resident in the disused Birmingham Municipal Bank between Saturday 25 May and Sunday 16 June 2013.

 

The installation, which has been devised and created by the Philharmonia Orchestra Digital Department and Principal Conductor and Artistic Advisor Esa-Pekka Salonen, will transport visitors into the heart of a symphony orchestra.

Visitors will be able to conduct using creative digital technologies, play live and virtual instruments and learn about the roles of musicians and composers in ten separate rooms, before a planetarium-style full-dome 360 degree projection delivers the incomparable thrill of seeing and hearing 105 players performing Gustav Holst’s incredible work The Planets, conducted by Esa-Pekka Salonen.

Universe of Sound - Birmingham 2013 from Philharmonia Orchestra on Vimeo.

Each room will contain the sheet music for each instrument, and visitors will be invited to bring their instruments and play along. Philharmonia and locally based musicians will also be present inside the installation, playing along live and answering questions.

Use #universeofsound on twitter

 The creation of the hi-definition interactive immersive experience involved what is believed to be the largest classical music film shoot ever undertaken, and has recently been shortlisted for a 2013 Royal Philharmonic Society Award. More than 67,000 people visited the work at the Science Museum, London in 2012.

On Friday 14 June, Universe of Sound‘s final weekend commences with a 7pm screening of Stanley Kubrick’s classic science-fiction movie 2001: A Space Odyssey at Symphony Hall, accompanied by the original soundtrack performed live by the Philharmonia and Birmingham’s Ex Cathedra choir, conducted by Benjamin Wallfisch. Majestic, unconventional and instantly recognisable pieces of music feature in the 1968 film, which is now acknowledged as one of the greatest and most influential films of all time.

Concert ticket holders will have the opportunity to experience a late night performance of Earthrise, Alec Roth’s 2010 choral masterpiece based on the view of Earth by Apollo 8 astronauts whilst in orbit, given by Ex Cathedra in Symphony Hall from 10pm.

The family friendly space of Symphony Hall Café Bar will be the base for Universe of Sound Family Day a day of free activities, workshops and demonstrations between 10.30am and 4.30pm on Saturday 15 June, featuring musicians helping families to explore the Orchestra, solar system mobiles, demonstrations of music technology, a constellation installation, creative workshops themed music and space plus much more.

The Universe of Sound weekend closes with Gustav Holst’s great astrological work The Planets, performed by the Philharmonia Orchestra and ladies of the City of Birmingham Choir conducted by Vladimir Ashkenazy in Symphony Hall, on Sunday 15 June 2013 (7.30pm).

 

 

 

 

Richard Hawley, Director of Artistic Programming and Projects at Town Hall and Symphony Hall, said,

Working alongside the Philharmonia in delivering such a wonderfully immersive experience in a space as exciting as the old Municipal Bank on Broad Street is a thrilling opportunity. We invite music and science fans, families and the downright curious from across the UK to visit the installation, take part in hands-on activities at our family day and enjoy the rare performance of Kubrick’s 2001: A Space Odyssey with a live orchestral and choral score, as well as a number of other concerts, all part of a truly exciting project for the city.

Esa-Pekka Salonen, Principal Conductor and Artistic Advisor at the Philharmonia Orchestra, said,

This project offers everyone, from the very young to the very old, from the absolute novice to the experienced musician, the chance to step right into the heart of one of the world’s finest symphony orchestras. Our world is by turns preposterously loud, pin-drop quiet, highly-charged, intense and frequently overwhelming. Come and join us – you won’t be disappointed.

The Universe of Sound digital installation in Birmingham is sponsored by Birmingham City University with support from THSH partner Norland. The performance of 2001: A Space Odyssey is sponsored by Investec Wealth & Investment.

The creation of Universe of Sound was made possible thanks to generous support from Arts Council England, the Eranda Foundation, the Esmée Fairbairn Foundation, the Foundation for Sport and the Arts and the Paul Hamlyn Foundation. An interactive Blu-Ray and DVD release of the footage and audio has just been released on Signum Records to coincide with the installation.

Essentials

Maps & Guides

Maps & Guides for your visit.

Read More

Getting around

Getting around Birmingham couldn’t be easier...

Read More

Explore

Search for places, events & accommodation...

Read More

Festivals & events

Take a look at what’s on now and coming up here...

Read More

FROM TWITTER

RT @MBowater: Love the email I just received from @visit_bham 😂👍 made it through January. Sign up to the emails, keep up to date with what'…

RT @CoolTapesDale: @lokiwine @P21Clothing @morethanvintag @visit_bham Rarely seen snap @greatwesternarc as seen from above #LoveBrum http:/…

RT @TheSTHome: Tell us what you love about Birmingham or nominate a city @TheSTHome #STBestcities http://t.co/7hHKPNaCKJ

Highlights

Drum & Bass Awards 2015

7 March - now in their ninth year, the awards get bigger every year.

Read More

Whisky Birmingham 2015

7 March - Festival back and bigger as Birmingham whisky scene takes off.

Read More

Crufts 2015

8 March - A show stopping, dog shopping, fantastic family day out, all under one woof!

Read More

More festivals & events

More festivals & events coming soon.

Read More

Culture

Art Galleries

Birmingham’s art collection is as wide as it is impressive. 

Read More

Stage & Screen

From touring West End shows to showcasing local talent.

Read More

Music

A huge arena tour or an intimate gig?  You’ll find it here.

Read More

Film

Multiplexes, the UK’s oldest working cinema or art house cool?

Read More

Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery

A vibrant museum in the heart of the city with over 40 galleries.

Read More

Dance

A diverse range of dance groups and venues.

Read More

See More, Feel More

Come, stay and soak up the culture in one of Europe's most vibrant cities.

Read More

Shopping

Shoppinginbirmingham.com

Plan the perfect shopping trip with full store, centre and brand directories.

Read More

Shopping centres

From the world-famous, 21st Century Bullring to the Victorian elegance of the Great Western Arcade.

Read More

Vibrant streets

Linking the centres are Birmingham’s bustling shopping streets, packed with major brands and boutique independents.

Read More

Markets

Don’t miss Birmingham’s amazing markets – whether it’s the 850-year old Bullring markets or the...

Read More

Jewellery Quarter

Home to more diamond rings, finishing touches and tokens of love than anywhere else in...

Read More

Getting Married in Birmingham

We have everything covered from the rings right up to the venue itself.

Read More

Sporting highlights

Sainsbury’s Indoor Grand Prix

21 February - Returning to Birmingham’s newly renovated Barclaycard Arena.

Read More

Yonex All England Open Badminton Championships

8 March - The most prestigious badminton championships in the world returns.

Read More

The National Badminton League

23 March - A brand new game changing league for badminton in the UK.

Read More

The Main Event (Thai Boxing)

23 May - The UK's longest-standing and premier Thai Boxing promotion.

Read More

Rugby World Cup 2015

Birmingham will be playing a key role in the delivery of the Rugby World Cup...

Read More

All sporting events

There’s always something, or someone, to cheer for here

Read More

Featured Itineraries