声音的宇宙

过去的事件 - 5月25日至6月16日2013

宇宙之声 :行星,一个主要的数码设备,导致音乐和空间的周末探索提出了大会堂和交响音乐厅与爱乐管弦乐团,并设有免费的家庭活动,电影放映和现场表演。

这个世界级的乐团是采取一个虚拟的形式在免费的交互式数字音响安装宇宙 ,居住在废弃的伯明翰市银行周六5月25日,日2013年6月16日之间。

安装时,它已经设计和创造的爱乐乐团数码处和首席指挥和艺术顾问埃萨 - 佩卡萨洛宁,将游客运送到一个交响乐队的心脏。

参观者将能够进行创造性的采用数字技术,发挥直播和虚拟仪器和了解音乐家在10个独立的房间的角色和作曲家,天文馆式的全穹顶360度投影前交付看到和听到105的无比快感玩家在进行古斯塔夫·霍尔斯特的令人难以置信的工作,行星,欧空局 - 佩卡萨洛宁进行。

宇宙之声-伯明翰2013爱乐乐团Vimeo的

每间客房都将包含乐谱每台仪器,游客将被邀请带来他们的乐器和演奏。爱乐乐团和当地音乐家的基础也将出席安装在里面,沿着现场并回答问题播放。

使用#universeofsound在twitter

  建立涉及哪些被认为是有史以来最大规模的古典音乐电影的拍摄,最近入围2013年英国皇家爱乐协会奖喜高清交互身临其境的体验。超过67000人参观的工作在科学博物馆,伦敦在2012年。

上周五6月14日之声的最后周末的宇宙开始了下午7点斯坦利·库布里克的经典科幻电影2001筛选:太空奥德赛交响乐大厅,伴随着由爱乐乐团和伯明翰的前cathedra合唱团现场演出的电影原声带,通过进行本杰明Wallfisch。大气磅礴,非常规的瞬间识别件音乐功能,在1968年的电影,这是目前公认的有史以来最伟大,最有影响力的电影之一。

演唱会门票持有人将有机会体验到深夜表现地出 ,亚历克·罗斯2010年合唱代表作基于地球视图由阿波罗宇航员8,而在轨道上,从下午10点在交响乐大厅由前cathedra给出。

交响乐大厅咖啡吧的家庭友好的空间将是基地的声音家庭日宇宙六月自由活动,研讨会和上午10点半和下午4点半之间示威一天上周六15日,包括音乐家帮助家庭探索乐团,太阳系手机,音乐技术,星座安装,创意工作坊的主题音乐和空间,加上更多的示威活动。

宇宙声音的周末古斯塔夫·霍尔斯特的伟大的占星工作,封闭的行星 ,由爱乐乐团和女士伯明翰城市合唱团由弗拉基米尔·阿什肯纳齐在交响乐大厅进行,周日2013年6月15日(下午7时30分)进行。

理查德·霍利,艺术编程,并在市政厅和交响乐大厅项目总监说,

一起工作的爱乐乐团在令人兴奋的老市委银行在宽街的空间提供这样一个奇妙的身临其境的体验是一个惊心动魄的机会。我们邀请音乐和科学爱好者,家庭和彻头彻尾的来自英国各地的好奇参观了安装,参与动手在我们的家庭日活动,并享受库布里克2001年的罕见表现:太空奥德赛以现场管弦乐及合唱得分,以及其他一些音乐会,为城市一个真正令人兴奋的项目的一部分。

埃萨-佩卡萨洛宁,首席指挥和艺术顾问的爱乐乐团,说,

该项目提供了每个人,从很年轻的很老,从绝对新手到资深音乐人,有机会加强对进入世界上最优秀的交响乐团之一的心脏。我们的世界是荒谬轮流大声,引脚下降安静,高电荷,激烈和频繁势不可挡。快来加入我们吧 - 你不会失望的。

数码音响安装在伯明翰的宇宙赞助伯明翰城市大学与THSH伙伴诺兰的支持。 2001年的表现:太空奥德赛是Investec的财富与投资赞助。

声宇宙的创造成为可能由于来自英格兰艺术委员会,该Eranda基金会,Esmée费尔贝恩基金会,该基金会体育和艺术和保罗·哈姆林基金会的慷慨支持。一个交互式蓝光和DVD发行的画面和音频刚刚发布的Signum记录与安装一致。

要点

地图与指南

地图和指南为您的光临。

阅读更多

四处逛逛

四处逛逛伯明翰再简单不过了......

阅读更多

探索

搜索地点,活动和住宿...

阅读更多

节日及活动

一起来看看什么在此时此地来了...

阅读更多

节日及活动

体育亮点

文化

艺术画廊

伯明翰的艺术收藏品是一样宽,它是令人印象深刻。

阅读更多

舞台与银幕

从游览西区显示了展示本地人才。

阅读更多

音乐

一个巨大的竞技场之旅或一个亲密的演出?你会在这里找到它。

阅读更多

影片

复,英国最古老的电影院工作或美术家很酷?

阅读更多

伯明翰博物馆和艺术画廊

一个充满活力的博物馆在城市的心脏有超过40个展厅。

阅读更多

舞蹈

一个多元化的舞蹈团体和场所。

阅读更多

看多了,觉得比较

得来,留得住,沉浸在文化在欧洲最具活力的城市之一。

阅读更多

购物

Shoppinginbirmingham.com

计划全店,中心和品牌目录完美的购物之旅。

阅读更多

购物中心

来自世界著名的,21世纪的斗牛场的西部大商场的维多利亚式的优雅。

阅读更多

充满活力的街道

链接中心是伯明翰繁华的购物街,挤满了各大品牌和精品独立。

阅读更多

市场

千万不要错过伯明翰的惊人的市场 - 无论是850岁的斗牛市场或正规农贸市场。

阅读更多

珠宝区

首页更多的钻戒,收尾和定情比其他地方的国家。

阅读更多

在伯明翰结婚

我们拥有一切,从覆盖环说得最多的场馆本身。

阅读更多

Universe of Sound

PAST EVENT - 25 May-16 June 2013

Universe of Sound: The Planets, a major digital installation that leads to a weekend exploration of music and space presented by Town Hall & Symphony Hall with the Philharmonia Orchestra and featuring free family activities, film screenings and live performances.

 

This world-class orchestra is to take on a virtual form in the free interactive Universe of Sound digital installation, resident in the disused Birmingham Municipal Bank between Saturday 25 May and Sunday 16 June 2013.

 

The installation, which has been devised and created by the Philharmonia Orchestra Digital Department and Principal Conductor and Artistic Advisor Esa-Pekka Salonen, will transport visitors into the heart of a symphony orchestra.

Visitors will be able to conduct using creative digital technologies, play live and virtual instruments and learn about the roles of musicians and composers in ten separate rooms, before a planetarium-style full-dome 360 degree projection delivers the incomparable thrill of seeing and hearing 105 players performing Gustav Holst’s incredible work The Planets, conducted by Esa-Pekka Salonen.

Universe of Sound - Birmingham 2013 from Philharmonia Orchestra on Vimeo.

Each room will contain the sheet music for each instrument, and visitors will be invited to bring their instruments and play along. Philharmonia and locally based musicians will also be present inside the installation, playing along live and answering questions.

Use #universeofsound on twitter

 The creation of the hi-definition interactive immersive experience involved what is believed to be the largest classical music film shoot ever undertaken, and has recently been shortlisted for a 2013 Royal Philharmonic Society Award. More than 67,000 people visited the work at the Science Museum, London in 2012.

On Friday 14 June, Universe of Sound‘s final weekend commences with a 7pm screening of Stanley Kubrick’s classic science-fiction movie 2001: A Space Odyssey at Symphony Hall, accompanied by the original soundtrack performed live by the Philharmonia and Birmingham’s Ex Cathedra choir, conducted by Benjamin Wallfisch. Majestic, unconventional and instantly recognisable pieces of music feature in the 1968 film, which is now acknowledged as one of the greatest and most influential films of all time.

Concert ticket holders will have the opportunity to experience a late night performance of Earthrise, Alec Roth’s 2010 choral masterpiece based on the view of Earth by Apollo 8 astronauts whilst in orbit, given by Ex Cathedra in Symphony Hall from 10pm.

The family friendly space of Symphony Hall Café Bar will be the base for Universe of Sound Family Day a day of free activities, workshops and demonstrations between 10.30am and 4.30pm on Saturday 15 June, featuring musicians helping families to explore the Orchestra, solar system mobiles, demonstrations of music technology, a constellation installation, creative workshops themed music and space plus much more.

The Universe of Sound weekend closes with Gustav Holst’s great astrological work The Planets, performed by the Philharmonia Orchestra and ladies of the City of Birmingham Choir conducted by Vladimir Ashkenazy in Symphony Hall, on Sunday 15 June 2013 (7.30pm).

 

 

 

 

Richard Hawley, Director of Artistic Programming and Projects at Town Hall and Symphony Hall, said,

Working alongside the Philharmonia in delivering such a wonderfully immersive experience in a space as exciting as the old Municipal Bank on Broad Street is a thrilling opportunity. We invite music and science fans, families and the downright curious from across the UK to visit the installation, take part in hands-on activities at our family day and enjoy the rare performance of Kubrick’s 2001: A Space Odyssey with a live orchestral and choral score, as well as a number of other concerts, all part of a truly exciting project for the city.

Esa-Pekka Salonen, Principal Conductor and Artistic Advisor at the Philharmonia Orchestra, said,

This project offers everyone, from the very young to the very old, from the absolute novice to the experienced musician, the chance to step right into the heart of one of the world’s finest symphony orchestras. Our world is by turns preposterously loud, pin-drop quiet, highly-charged, intense and frequently overwhelming. Come and join us – you won’t be disappointed.

The Universe of Sound digital installation in Birmingham is sponsored by Birmingham City University with support from THSH partner Norland. The performance of 2001: A Space Odyssey is sponsored by Investec Wealth & Investment.

The creation of Universe of Sound was made possible thanks to generous support from Arts Council England, the Eranda Foundation, the Esmée Fairbairn Foundation, the Foundation for Sport and the Arts and the Paul Hamlyn Foundation. An interactive Blu-Ray and DVD release of the footage and audio has just been released on Signum Records to coincide with the installation.

Upcoming highlights

St. George's Day

19 April - Lots of fun on offer in the city for all ages.

Read More

Vaisakhi

27 April - Family freindly open air celebrations for all.

Read More

Birmingham Pride 2014

24 & 25 May - The biggest two day LGBT party in the UK returns.

Read More

Supersonic

30 & 31 May - a combination of art, music and film along with other...

Read More

Wicked

9 Jul-6 Sep - Wicked flies into Birmingham Hippodrome in July 2014!

Read More

Wireless

4-6 July - One of the biggest festivals in the UK coming to Birmingham!

Read More

More festivals & events

More festivals & events coming soon.

Read More

Featured Itineraries

Latest

Blog

Read about our adventures in Birmingham...

Read More

Birmingham Museums

Birmingham Museums Receives Civic Society Renaissance Award

Read More

Visit Birmingham news

Read the latest press releases from Visit Birmingham.

Read More

FROM TWITTER

RT @befestival: Week 2: 23 shows over the week with 4 shows a night - it's like tapas! #BE2014 #PRLaunch

RT @birminghammail: A beautiful sunny day in Brum - perfect for a film premiere #Locke Pic by @JoBrain - tweet us your pics #weloveBrum htt…

RT @alex_ne: @visit_bham this was mine #architecture http://t.co/TUSI2CHq2z

RT @BucyLishop: @visit_bham this was mine #lovebrum http://t.co/ZomXu243rf

Shopping

Shoppinginbirmingham.com

Plan the perfect shopping trip with full store, centre and brand directories.

Read More

Shopping centres

From the world-famous, 21st Century Bullring to the Victorian elegance of the Great Western Arcade.

Read More

Vibrant streets

Linking the centres are Birmingham’s bustling shopping streets, packed with major brands and boutique independents.

Read More

Markets

Don’t miss Birmingham’s amazing markets – whether it’s the 850-year old Bullring markets or the...

Read More

Jewellery Quarter

Home to more diamond rings, finishing touches and tokens of love than anywhere else in...

Read More

Spa Breaks

Extend your shopping trip in Birmingham by enjoying a city spa break.

Read More

Getting Married in Birmingham

We have everything covered from the rings right up to the venue itself.

Read More

Culture

See More, Feel More

Come, stay and soak up the culture in one of Europe's most vibrant cities.

Read More

Birmingham Royal Ballet

The United Kingdom’s premiere touring ballet company.

Read More

CBSO

A world-renowned symphony orchestra, known and loved across the globe.

Read More

Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery

A vibrant museum in the heart of the city with over 40 galleries.

Read More

Art Galleries

Birmingham’s art collection is as wide as it is impressive. 

Read More

Dance

A diverse range of dance groups and venues.

Read More

Music

A huge arena tour or an intimate gig?  You’ll find it here.

Read More

Theatre

From touring West End shows to showcasing local talent.

Read More

Sporting highlights

The Aegon Classic

9-15 June - The Aegon Classic tennis tournament attracts a host of world-class players.

Read More

British Athletics at Alexander Stadium

See Britain's best athletes at the Alexander Stadium in June & August.

Read More

Cricket

Edgbaston: synonymous with world class international cricket.

Read More

Football

With five top clubs there’s real football choice here.

Read More

All sporting events

There’s always something, or someone, to cheer for here

Read More