德国轰炸机联队的方式向中部地区

在第二次世界大战中,容克Ju88,伟大的德国多用途作战飞机的一个罕见的例子已经运道路在中部新家。这种特殊的飞机,一个Ju88R-1夜间战斗机版本,走遍130英里从皇家空军博物馆伦敦,在的Cosford,什罗普郡它的姊妹网站,它很快就会公开展出走。新来的是第六飞机机翼的方式在的Cosford过去几个月并完成了2018年博物馆的新阵容在皇家空军百年准备。

这架飞机在博物馆的伦敦现场拆除和博物馆技术人员和学徒运输准备,从GJD服务支持 - 总部设在Bruntingthorpe,莱斯特专业维修和飞机打捞公司。机身和机翼端口现在已经运到的Cosford,与由于下周抵达时,工作将重新开始构建的右翼。

这个最新的到来是在中部地区的航空迷,让他们获得了第二次世界大战的最通用的德国作战飞机之一,德国空军最重要的资产之一,巨大的政变。

该Ju88开始生活作为轰炸机,成了夜间战斗机和入侵;进行反航运业务和飞远程侦察任务。他们1939年9月由他们承担在福斯湾,苏格兰反对英国航运他们的第一次作战任务的月末开始服役。这是不列颠之战中,但是,该Ju88A起到了德国业务发展的重要作用。 Ju88的一些反对英国的雷达站,机场和港口在不列颠之战的开始阶段日光行动的一部分。这是它的大小相当的机动性,并可以采取惩罚了很大的;但是它缺乏装甲保护和防御武器不足,意味着它比较容易成为英国战机。在不列颠之战的时间Ju88是在其服务的职业生涯,并以其卓越的适应能力的开始,尤其是作为夜间战斗机,只好还是由德国空军所利用。

博物馆的例子是构建为Ju88 A-1轰炸机于1942年,并转换到R-1标准在1943年年初的夜间战斗机的作用。 1943年5月三名船员被下令拦截并击落来自卢赫斯,苏格兰一个手无寸铁的英国海外航空公司蚊子快递飞往瑞典斯德哥尔摩。起飞后仅两个小时,亲英反纳粹船员发出了虚假消息,夜间战斗机总部汇报右舷发动机着火。该Ju88下降到海平面,低于德国的雷达和空投了三颗救生筏,使德国人认为,飞机和机组人员在海上丢失,然后前往苏格兰。

该Ju88最终由165号2喷火椎体(锡兰)中队皇家空军拦截。确定为Ju88,走近时,德国飞行员丢下底盘和他晃了晃翅膀,然后引回戴斯机场,所有三架飞机安全着陆。

喷火的飞行员后来祝贺没有开火,并捧回宝贵的信息技术分支。这是英国一个显著妙招 - 鞠88装备有最新的FuG 202列支敦士登BC AI雷达。这是第一个同类型落入英国人手中,并迅速放入机库,从空军侦察机隐藏它的内部。

不久后,就被分配了英国序列号PJ876和RAE无线和电气飞行开始了测试程序,与英国皇家空军的战斗机拦截装置,其作用是评价俘敌飞机和展示自己的特点,其他盟军部队一起。这架飞机是由英国皇家空军博物馆于1978年收购并在其伦敦站点已显示近四十年,现在将陈列在去为的Cosford首次在博物馆的战争“中航”机库。

伊恩·瑟斯克,在英国皇家空军博物馆收藏的负责人说:


我们很高兴的Ju88R-1增加的Cosford我们轴机种的收集公开展出。容克Ju88是有史以来最多才多艺的军用飞机之一,这个特殊的例子,最后幸存的夜间战斗机变种,有一个真正迷人的故事。它会显示在旁边时期的其他显著德国飞机,并将加强博物馆的告诉RAF的操作更广泛的故事第二次世界大战期间的能力。

在过去的几个月里一共有六个新机已经在伦敦博物馆的姊妹网站显示在运输的Cosford道路。第一个到达的是梅塞施米特BF109G-2这是现在“中航飞机棚战争”面临的英国等值,飓风和喷火显示在。运旁边的Bf109是它现在可以在“机库1”中查看旁边的苏格兰航空牛头犬牛逼的Mk 1,这表明在英国皇家空军教练机进展的德Havilliand虎蛾II。

只需短短几个星期后,伍尔弗汉普顿建成无畏战斗机M1一起做M1和M6衣锦还乡之旅到博物馆现场的Cosford,从它建于20世纪30年代末期只有几英里。伴随着连接的格斗士战斗机1和韦斯特兰莱赛德III路线,无论是反抗和角斗士就会被重新组装,一旦Ju88在位置去陈列在战争中航“机库,而莱赛德将进行一些小修工作在博物馆的保护中心的脆弱肌肤的床单。

该机动作来作为博物馆准备为皇家空军百年庆典在2018年,将看到博物馆改造其伦敦站点提供了一系列新的永久展览在2018年夏天开幕的数百万英镑的发展计划将看到投资在新的展览,改善教育和志愿服务的机会,美化,将强调为文物飞机场网站的重要性。这将提高游客的体验,扩大博物馆的触角向新的受众,创造一个持久的遗产,以纪念百年。

增强飞机在收集的Cosford将使英国皇家空军的故事将更加全面地为代表的在中部博物馆观众。此外,2018年计划将包括显示器探索100年历史的英国皇家空军,今天和未来的捐款发挥的作用。使现有的英国皇家空军的故事,全球观众将有在博物馆的在线提供一个巨大的投资。

航空爱好者可以通过注册博物馆的不断更新与百年飞机移动和持续发展的免费电子通讯

入口博物馆是免费的,博物馆开放时间为上午10点至16:00。欲了解更多信息,请访问博物馆的网站www.rafmuseum.org/cosford

要点

地图与指南

地图和指南为您的光临。

阅读更多

四处逛逛

四处逛逛伯明翰再简单不过了......

阅读更多

探索

搜索地点,活动和住宿...

阅读更多

节日及活动

一起来看看什么在此时此地来了...

阅读更多

FROM TWITTER

RT @birminghamcg22: Plans for the site that would be home to the #Birmingham2022 Commonwealth Games Village have been formally submitted fo…

RT @unibirmingham: Excited much? Congratulations to everyone joining us! You'll be here very soon! #hellobrum We can't wait 😊 https://t.co

节日及活动

体育亮点

所有体育赛事

总有一些东西,或者一个人,欢呼这里

阅读更多

文化

艺术画廊

伯明翰的艺术收藏品是一样宽,它是令人印象深刻。

阅读更多

舞台与银幕

从游览西区显示了展示本地人才。

阅读更多

音乐

一个巨大的竞技场之旅或一个亲密的演出?你会在这里找到它。

阅读更多

影片

复,英国最古老的电影院工作或美术家很酷?

阅读更多

伯明翰博物馆和艺术画廊

一个充满活力的博物馆在城市的心脏有超过40个展厅。

阅读更多

舞蹈

一个多元化的舞蹈团体和场所。

阅读更多

看多了,觉得比较

得来,留得住,沉浸在文化在欧洲最具活力的城市之一。

阅读更多

购物

Shoppinginbirmingham.com

计划全店,中心和品牌目录完美的购物之旅。

阅读更多

购物中心

来自世界著名的,21世纪的斗牛场的西部大商场的维多利亚式的优雅。

阅读更多

充满活力的街道

链接中心是伯明翰繁华的购物街,挤满了各大品牌和精品独立。

阅读更多

市场

千万不要错过伯明翰的惊人的市场 - 无论是850岁的斗牛市场或正规农贸市场。

阅读更多

珠宝区

首页更多的钻戒,收尾和定情比其他地方的国家。

阅读更多

在伯明翰结婚

我们拥有一切,从覆盖环说得最多的场馆本身。

阅读更多

German bomber wings its way to the Midlands

A rare example of the great German multi-role combat aircraft of the Second World War, the Junkers Ju88, has been transported by road to its new home in the Midlands. This particular aircraft, a Ju88R-1 night-fighter version, travelled 130 miles from the Royal Air Force Museum London, to its sister site at Cosford, Shropshire where it will soon go on public display. The new arrival is the sixth aircraft to wing its way to Cosford in the last few months and completes the Museum’s new line-up in preparation for the RAF Centenary in 2018.

The aircraft was dismantled at the Museum’s London site and prepared for transportation by Museum Technicians and Apprentices, with assistance from GJD Services – specialist maintenance and aircraft salvage company based at Bruntingthorpe, Leicestershire. The fuselage and port wing have now been transported to Cosford, with the starboard wing due to arrive next week when work will commence on the re-build.

This latest arrival is a huge coup for aviation fans in the Midlands, giving them access to one of the most versatile German combat aircraft of the Second World War and one of the Luftwaffe’s most important assets.

The Ju88 began life as a bomber, became a night fighter and intruder; undertook anti-shipping operations and flew long-range reconnaissance missions. They entered service in September 1939 and by the end of the month they were undertaking their first operational mission against British shipping in the Firth of Forth, Scotland. It was during the Battle of Britain, however, that the Ju88A played a major role in German operations. Ju88’s took part in a number of daylight actions against British radar stations, airfields and ports in the opening phases of the Battle of Britain. It was reasonably manoeuvrable for its size and could take a great deal of punishment; however its lack of armoured protection and insufficient defensive armament meant that it was relatively easy prey for British fighters. At the time of the Battle of Britain the Ju88 was at the beginning of its service career and its remarkable adaptability, particularly as a night fighter, had still to be exploited by the Luftwaffe.

The museum’s example was constructed as a Ju88 A-1 bomber in 1942 and converted to the R-1 standard in early 1943 for the night fighter role. In May 1943 a three man crew were ordered to intercept and shoot down an unarmed BOAC Mosquito courier flight from Leuchars, Scotland to Stockholm, Sweden. Just two hours after take-off, the pro-British and anti-Nazi crew sent a bogus message to Night Fighter HQ reporting a starboard engine fire. The Ju88 descended to sea level, below German radar and dropped three life rafts to make the Germans think the plane and crew were lost at sea and then headed for Scotland.

The Ju88 was eventually intercepted by two Spitfire VBs from No.165 (Ceylon) Squadron RAF. Identified as a Ju88, when approached the German pilot dropped his undercarriage and waggled his wings and was then lead back to Dyce airfield where all three aircraft landed safely.

The Spitfire pilots were later congratulated for not opening fire and bringing home valuable information for the technical branch. This was a significant coup for the British - the Ju 88 was fitted with the latest FuG 202 Liechtenstein BC A.I radar. It was the first of its type to fall into British hands and was quickly placed inside a hangar to hide it from Luftwaffe reconnaissance aircraft.

Shortly after, it was allocated the British serial number PJ876 and commenced a test programme with RAE Wireless and Electrical Flight, in conjunction with the RAF’s Fighter Interception Unit, whose role was to evaluate captured enemy aircraft and demonstrate their characteristics to other Allied units. The aircraft was acquired by the RAF Museum in 1978 and has been displayed at its London site for almost four decades and will now go on display at Cosford for the first time in the Museum’s ‘War in the Air’ hangar.

Ian Thirsk, Head of Collections at the RAF Museum said:


We are delighted to add the Ju88R-1 to our collection of Axis aircraft types on public display at Cosford. The Junkers Ju88 was one of the most versatile military aircraft of all time and this particular example, the last surviving night fighter variant, has a truly fascinating story to tell. It will be displayed alongside other significant German aircraft of the period and will enhance the Museum’s ability to tell the wider story of RAF operations during the Second World War.

Within the last few months a total of six new aircraft have been transported by road from the museum’s sister site in London for display at Cosford. The first to arrive was the Messerschmitt BF109G-2 which is now displayed in the ‘War in the Air hangar’ confronting its British equivalents, a Hurricane and Spitfire. Transported alongside the Bf109 was the de Havilliand Tiger Moth II which can now be viewed in ‘Hangar 1’ alongside the Scottish Aviation Bulldog T Mk 1, demonstrating the progression in RAF training aircraft.

Just a few short weeks later the Wolverhampton built Boulton Paul Defiant M1 made a homecoming journey along the M1 and M6 to the museums Cosford site, just a few miles from where it was built in the late 1930s. Accompanied en route by the Gloster Gladiator 1 and the Westland Lysander III, both the Defiant and Gladiator will be reassembled once the Ju88 is in position and go on display in the ‘War in the Air’ hangar, whilst the Lysander will undergo some minor repair work to its fragile linen skin in the museum’s Conservation Centre.

The aircraft moves come as the museum prepares for the Royal Air Force’s centenary celebrations in 2018 that will see the museum transform its London site with a series of new permanent exhibitions opening in the summer of 2018. The multi-million pound development programme will see investments in new exhibitions, improved education and volunteering opportunities, and landscaping that will emphasise the site’s importance as a heritage airfield. It will improve the visitor experience, extend the Museum’s reach to new audiences and create a lasting legacy to mark the Centenary.

The enhanced aircraft collection at Cosford will enable the RAF’s story to be more comprehensively represented to museum audiences in the Midlands. In addition, plans for 2018 will include displays exploring the first 100 years of the RAF, the role it plays today and its future contributions. Making the RAF story available to a global audience there will be a huge investment in the Museum’s online offer.

Aviation fans can keep up to date with the centenary aircraft moves and on-going developments by signing up to the museum’s free e-Newsletter

Entrance to the museum is free of charge and the museum is open daily from 10am until 4pm. For further information, please visit the museum’s website www.rafmuseum.org/cosford

Essentials

Maps & Guides

Maps & Guides for your visit.

Read More

Getting around

Getting around Birmingham couldn’t be easier...

Read More

What's on

Search for places, events & accommodation...

Read More

Festivals & events

Take a look at what’s on now and coming up here...

Read More

FROM TWITTER

RT @befestival: Birmingham! All this week!! @fiercefestival is happening! things are already beginning to sell out; don’t miss it! https:/…

RT @custardfactory: We got to play a special preview game @Ghettogolfbrum last night and it was AWESOME!Opens TOMORROW - book tickets: ht…

RT @custardfactory: WOW! Over £250k raised in @TheBigSleuth auction! We're so proud to have been part of the bear hunt this summer! 🔎🐻htt…

Festivals & events

Sporting highlights

Culture

Art Galleries

Birmingham’s art collection is as wide as it is impressive. 

Read More

Stage & Screen

From touring West End shows to showcasing local talent.

Read More

Music

A huge arena tour or an intimate gig?  You’ll find it here.

Read More

Film

Multiplexes, the UK’s oldest working cinema or art house cool?

Read More

Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery

A vibrant museum in the heart of the city with over 40 galleries.

Read More

Dance

A diverse range of dance groups and venues.

Read More

See More, Feel More

Come, stay and soak up the culture in one of Europe's most vibrant cities.

Read More

Shopping

Shoppinginbirmingham.com

Plan the perfect shopping trip with full store, centre and brand directories.

Read More

Shopping centres

From the world-famous, 21st Century Bullring to the Victorian elegance of the Great Western Arcade.

Read More

Vibrant streets

Linking the centres are Birmingham’s bustling shopping streets, packed with major brands and boutique independents.

Read More

Markets

Don’t miss Birmingham’s amazing markets – whether it’s the 850-year old Bullring markets or the...

Read More

Jewellery Quarter

Home to more diamond rings, finishing touches and tokens of love than anywhere else in...

Read More

Getting Married in Birmingham

We have everything covered from the rings right up to the venue itself.

Read More