ailes de bombardiers allemands de sa façon dans les Midlands

Un exemple rare du grand avion de combat multi-rôle allemand de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, le Junkers Ju88, a été transporté par la route à son nouveau domicile dans les Midlands. Cet avion particulier, une version Ju88R-1 chasseur de nuit, a voyagé 130 miles de la Royal Air Force Museum de Londres, à son site de soeur à Cosford, Shropshire où il sera bientôt sur l' affichage public. Le nouvel arrivant est le sixième avion à aile son chemin à Cosford au cours des derniers mois et complète nouveau line-up du Musée en vue de la RAF Centenaire en 2018.

L'avion a été démantelé sur le site du Musée de Londres et préparé pour le transport par les techniciens et les apprentis Musée, avec l'aide de GJD Services - société de maintenance spécialisée et les avions de sauvetage basé à Bruntingthorpe, Leicestershire. Le fuselage et l'aile du port ont été transportés à Cosford, avec l'aile tribord doit arriver la semaine prochaine quand les travaux commenceront sur la re-construction.

Cette dernière arrivée est un énorme coup pour les fans de l'aviation dans les Midlands, en leur donnant accès à l'un des avions les plus polyvalents de combat allemand de la Seconde Guerre mondiale et l'un des actifs les plus importants de la Luftwaffe.

Le Ju88 a commencé sa vie comme un bombardier, est devenu un chasseur de nuit et intrus; a entrepris des opérations anti-expédition et a volé des missions de reconnaissance à longue portée. Ils sont entrés en service en Septembre 1939 et à la fin du mois, ils ont été entrepris leur première mission opérationnelle contre les navires britanniques dans le Firth of Forth, en Écosse. Ce fut au cours de la bataille d'Angleterre, cependant, que le Ju88A a joué un rôle majeur dans les opérations allemandes. Ju88 de pris part à un certain nombre d'actions de jour contre les stations britanniques de radar, d'aérodromes et des ports dans les premières phases de la bataille d'Angleterre. Il était raisonnablement manoeuvrable pour sa taille et pourrait prendre beaucoup de peine; mais son manque de protection blindée et d'armement défensif insuffisant signifiait qu'il était une proie relativement facile pour les combattants britanniques. A l'époque de la bataille de la Grande-Bretagne le Ju88 était au début de sa carrière de service et sa remarquable capacité d'adaptation, en particulier en tant que chasseur de nuit, devait encore être exploité par la Luftwaffe.

L'exemple du musée a été construit comme un Ju88 A-1 bombardier en 1942 et converti à la norme R-1 au début de 1943 pour le rôle de chasse de nuit. En mai 1943, un équipage de trois hommes ont reçu l'ordre d'intercepter et abattre un courrier avion désarmé BOAC Mosquito de Leuchars, Écosse à Stockholm, en Suède. A seulement deux heures après le décollage, l'équipage pro-britannique et anti-nazie a envoyé un faux message au QG Fighter Nuit rapporter un incendie moteur tribord. Le Ju88 est descendu au niveau de la mer, au-dessous radar allemand et a laissé tomber trois radeaux de sauvetage pour faire les Allemands pensent l'avion et l'équipage ont été perdus en mer, puis se dirigèrent vers l'Ecosse.

Le Ju88 a finalement été intercepté par deux Spitfire VBs de No.165 (Ceylan) Squadron RAF. Identifié comme un Ju88, lorsqu'il est approché le pilote allemand a laissé tomber son train d'atterrissage et agita ses ailes et a ensuite été conduit vers Dyce aérodrome où tous les trois avions atterri en toute sécurité.

Les pilotes de Spitfire ont ensuite été félicité pour ne pas ouvrir le feu et ramener chez eux des informations précieuses pour la branche technique. Ce fut un coup important pour les Britanniques - Ju 88 était équipé de la dernière FuG 202 radar Liechtenstein BC AI. Il a été le premier de son genre à tomber dans les mains des Britanniques et a été rapidement placé à l'intérieur d'un hangar pour le cacher à partir des avions de reconnaissance Luftwaffe.

Peu après, il a été attribué le numéro de série PJ876 britannique et a lancé un programme d'essai avec RAE Wireless et Electrical Flight, en conjonction avec Fighter Unit Interception de la RAF, dont le rôle était d'évaluer les avions ennemis capturés et démontrer leurs caractéristiques à d'autres unités alliées. L'avion a été acquis par le musée de la RAF en 1978 et a été affichée sur son site de Londres pendant près de quatre décennies et va maintenant exposée au Cosford pour la première fois dans le musée «guerre dans les airs 'hangar.

Ian Thirsk, Responsable des Collections du Musée de la RAF a déclaré:


Nous sommes ravis d'ajouter le Ju88R-1 à notre collection de types d'avions de l'Axe sur l'affichage public à Cosford. Le Junkers Ju88 était l'un des avions militaires le plus polyvalent de tous les temps et cet exemple particulier, la dernière variante de combattant survivant de nuit, a une histoire vraiment fascinante à raconter. Il sera affiché à côté d'autres avions allemands importants de la période et permettra d'améliorer la capacité du Musée de raconter l'histoire plus large des opérations de la RAF pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale.

Au cours des derniers mois , un total de six nouveaux avions ont été transportés par la route de la sœur du site du musée à Londres pour l' affichage à Cosford. Le premier arrivé est le Messerschmitt Bf109G-2 qui est maintenant affichée dans la guerre dans le hangar d' Air »face à ses équivalents britanniques, un ouragan et Spitfire. Transportés à côté du Bf109 était le de Havilliand Tiger Moth II qui peut maintenant être vu dans 'Hangar 1' à côté de la Bulldog Scottish Aviation T Mk 1, ce qui démontre la progression dans les avions de formation RAF.

Juste quelques semaines plus tard, le Wolverhampton construit Boulton Paul Defiant M1 fait un voyage de retour à la maison le long de la M1 et M6 à la place des musées Cosford, à quelques miles de l'endroit où il a été construit à la fin des années 1930. Accompagné en route par le Gladiator 1 Gloster et le Westland Lysander III, à la fois le Defiant et Gladiator sera remonté une fois que le Ju88 est en position et aller sur l'affichage dans la «guerre dans les airs 'hangar, tandis que le Lysander va subir quelques réparations mineures travailler à sa peau de lin fragile Centre de conservation du musée.

Les avions se déplace viennent que le musée prépare pour les célébrations du centenaire de la Royal Air Force de en 2018 qui verra le musée transformer son site de Londres avec une série de nouvelles expositions permanentes d'ouverture à l'été 2018. Le programme de plusieurs millions de développement de la livre verra les investissements dans de nouvelles expositions, des possibilités d'éducation et de bénévolat améliorés, et l'aménagement paysager qui mettra l'accent sur l'importance du site comme un terrain d'aviation du patrimoine. Il permettra d'améliorer l'expérience des visiteurs, étendre la portée du Musée de nouveaux publics et de créer un héritage durable pour marquer le Centenaire.

La collection d'avions amélioré à Cosford permettra l'histoire de la RAF d'être représenté de manière plus complète au public des musées dans les Midlands. En outre, les plans pour 2018 comprendront affiche explorant les 100 premières années de la RAF, le rôle qu'elle joue aujourd'hui et ses futures contributions. Faire l'histoire RAF disponibles à un public mondial, il y aura un énorme investissement dans l'offre en ligne du Musée.

Les fans de l' aviation peuvent tenir à jour avec le centenaire se déplace d'avion et les développements en cours en vous inscrivant à du musée gratuit e-Newsletter

L'entrée au musée est gratuite et le musée est ouvert tous les jours de 10h à 16 heures. Pour plus d' informations, s'il vous plaît visitez le site Web du musée de www.rafmuseum.org/cosford

Essentiel

Cartes & Guides

Cartes & Guides pour votre visite.

En Savoir Plus

Se déplacer

Se déplacer Birmingham ne pouvait pas être plus facile ...

En Savoir Plus

Explorer

Rechercher des lieux, des événements et l'hébergement ...

En Savoir Plus

Festivals et événements

Jetez un oeil à ce qui est maintenant et à venir ici ...

En Savoir Plus

FROM TWITTER

RT @visit_bham: Happy #WorldCocktailDay Bham!🍹 To celebrate we're giving you the chance to #WIN a cocktail masterclass at The Rose Villa Ta…

RT @Selfridges: Taking the ice cream scene by storm: introducing @Nitrogenie, the made-to-order ice creams created with the magic of liquid…

RT @Draytonmanor: HALF PRICE MAY MADNESS! Just £19.50 for May Half Term (Saturday 26th May until Sunday 3rd June) tickets are subject to…

Festivals et événements

Articles faits saillants

Culture

Galeries d'art

La collection d'art de Birmingham est aussi large que ce est impressionnant.

En Savoir Plus

Film

Multiplexes, plus vieux cinéma de travail ou maison fraîche d'art du Royaume-Uni?

En Savoir Plus

Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery

Un musée dynamique au coeur de la ville avec plus de 40 galeries.

En Savoir Plus

Danse

Un large éventail de groupes de danse et des lieux.

En Savoir Plus

Voir Plus, se sentent plus

Venez, le séjour et se imprégner de la culture dans l'une des villes les plus dynamiques d'Europe.

En Savoir Plus

Shopping

Shoppinginbirmingham.com

Planifier le voyage de shopping parfait avec plein magasin, centre et répertoires de la marque.

En Savoir Plus

Centres commerciaux

De la célèbre, Arènes 21e siècle à l'élégance victorienne de la Grande Arcade occidentale.

En Savoir Plus

Rues animées

Reliant les centres des rues commerçantes animées de Birmingham, emballés avec de grandes marques et...

En Savoir Plus

Marchés

Ne manquez pas les marchés étonnantes de Birmingham - qu'il se agisse des marchés de...

En Savoir Plus

Jewellery Quarter

Accueil à plus de bagues de diamant, la finition des touches et des témoignages d'amour...

En Savoir Plus

Se marier à Birmingham

Nous avons tout couvert des anneaux jusqu'à la salle elle-même.

En Savoir Plus

German bomber wings its way to the Midlands

A rare example of the great German multi-role combat aircraft of the Second World War, the Junkers Ju88, has been transported by road to its new home in the Midlands. This particular aircraft, a Ju88R-1 night-fighter version, travelled 130 miles from the Royal Air Force Museum London, to its sister site at Cosford, Shropshire where it will soon go on public display. The new arrival is the sixth aircraft to wing its way to Cosford in the last few months and completes the Museum’s new line-up in preparation for the RAF Centenary in 2018.

The aircraft was dismantled at the Museum’s London site and prepared for transportation by Museum Technicians and Apprentices, with assistance from GJD Services – specialist maintenance and aircraft salvage company based at Bruntingthorpe, Leicestershire. The fuselage and port wing have now been transported to Cosford, with the starboard wing due to arrive next week when work will commence on the re-build.

This latest arrival is a huge coup for aviation fans in the Midlands, giving them access to one of the most versatile German combat aircraft of the Second World War and one of the Luftwaffe’s most important assets.

The Ju88 began life as a bomber, became a night fighter and intruder; undertook anti-shipping operations and flew long-range reconnaissance missions. They entered service in September 1939 and by the end of the month they were undertaking their first operational mission against British shipping in the Firth of Forth, Scotland. It was during the Battle of Britain, however, that the Ju88A played a major role in German operations. Ju88’s took part in a number of daylight actions against British radar stations, airfields and ports in the opening phases of the Battle of Britain. It was reasonably manoeuvrable for its size and could take a great deal of punishment; however its lack of armoured protection and insufficient defensive armament meant that it was relatively easy prey for British fighters. At the time of the Battle of Britain the Ju88 was at the beginning of its service career and its remarkable adaptability, particularly as a night fighter, had still to be exploited by the Luftwaffe.

The museum’s example was constructed as a Ju88 A-1 bomber in 1942 and converted to the R-1 standard in early 1943 for the night fighter role. In May 1943 a three man crew were ordered to intercept and shoot down an unarmed BOAC Mosquito courier flight from Leuchars, Scotland to Stockholm, Sweden. Just two hours after take-off, the pro-British and anti-Nazi crew sent a bogus message to Night Fighter HQ reporting a starboard engine fire. The Ju88 descended to sea level, below German radar and dropped three life rafts to make the Germans think the plane and crew were lost at sea and then headed for Scotland.

The Ju88 was eventually intercepted by two Spitfire VBs from No.165 (Ceylon) Squadron RAF. Identified as a Ju88, when approached the German pilot dropped his undercarriage and waggled his wings and was then lead back to Dyce airfield where all three aircraft landed safely.

The Spitfire pilots were later congratulated for not opening fire and bringing home valuable information for the technical branch. This was a significant coup for the British - the Ju 88 was fitted with the latest FuG 202 Liechtenstein BC A.I radar. It was the first of its type to fall into British hands and was quickly placed inside a hangar to hide it from Luftwaffe reconnaissance aircraft.

Shortly after, it was allocated the British serial number PJ876 and commenced a test programme with RAE Wireless and Electrical Flight, in conjunction with the RAF’s Fighter Interception Unit, whose role was to evaluate captured enemy aircraft and demonstrate their characteristics to other Allied units. The aircraft was acquired by the RAF Museum in 1978 and has been displayed at its London site for almost four decades and will now go on display at Cosford for the first time in the Museum’s ‘War in the Air’ hangar.

Ian Thirsk, Head of Collections at the RAF Museum said:


We are delighted to add the Ju88R-1 to our collection of Axis aircraft types on public display at Cosford. The Junkers Ju88 was one of the most versatile military aircraft of all time and this particular example, the last surviving night fighter variant, has a truly fascinating story to tell. It will be displayed alongside other significant German aircraft of the period and will enhance the Museum’s ability to tell the wider story of RAF operations during the Second World War.

Within the last few months a total of six new aircraft have been transported by road from the museum’s sister site in London for display at Cosford. The first to arrive was the Messerschmitt BF109G-2 which is now displayed in the ‘War in the Air hangar’ confronting its British equivalents, a Hurricane and Spitfire. Transported alongside the Bf109 was the de Havilliand Tiger Moth II which can now be viewed in ‘Hangar 1’ alongside the Scottish Aviation Bulldog T Mk 1, demonstrating the progression in RAF training aircraft.

Just a few short weeks later the Wolverhampton built Boulton Paul Defiant M1 made a homecoming journey along the M1 and M6 to the museums Cosford site, just a few miles from where it was built in the late 1930s. Accompanied en route by the Gloster Gladiator 1 and the Westland Lysander III, both the Defiant and Gladiator will be reassembled once the Ju88 is in position and go on display in the ‘War in the Air’ hangar, whilst the Lysander will undergo some minor repair work to its fragile linen skin in the museum’s Conservation Centre.

The aircraft moves come as the museum prepares for the Royal Air Force’s centenary celebrations in 2018 that will see the museum transform its London site with a series of new permanent exhibitions opening in the summer of 2018. The multi-million pound development programme will see investments in new exhibitions, improved education and volunteering opportunities, and landscaping that will emphasise the site’s importance as a heritage airfield. It will improve the visitor experience, extend the Museum’s reach to new audiences and create a lasting legacy to mark the Centenary.

The enhanced aircraft collection at Cosford will enable the RAF’s story to be more comprehensively represented to museum audiences in the Midlands. In addition, plans for 2018 will include displays exploring the first 100 years of the RAF, the role it plays today and its future contributions. Making the RAF story available to a global audience there will be a huge investment in the Museum’s online offer.

Aviation fans can keep up to date with the centenary aircraft moves and on-going developments by signing up to the museum’s free e-Newsletter

Entrance to the museum is free of charge and the museum is open daily from 10am until 4pm. For further information, please visit the museum’s website www.rafmuseum.org/cosford

Essentials

Maps & Guides

Maps & Guides for your visit.

Read More

Getting around

Getting around Birmingham couldn’t be easier...

Read More

What's on

Search for places, events & accommodation...

Read More

Festivals & events

Take a look at what’s on now and coming up here...

Read More

FROM TWITTER

RT @befestival: Birmingham! All this week!! @fiercefestival is happening! things are already beginning to sell out; don’t miss it! https:/…

RT @custardfactory: We got to play a special preview game @Ghettogolfbrum last night and it was AWESOME!Opens TOMORROW - book tickets: ht…

RT @custardfactory: WOW! Over £250k raised in @TheBigSleuth auction! We're so proud to have been part of the bear hunt this summer! 🔎🐻htt…

Festivals & events

Sporting highlights

Culture

Art Galleries

Birmingham’s art collection is as wide as it is impressive. 

Read More

Stage & Screen

From touring West End shows to showcasing local talent.

Read More

Music

A huge arena tour or an intimate gig?  You’ll find it here.

Read More

Film

Multiplexes, the UK’s oldest working cinema or art house cool?

Read More

Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery

A vibrant museum in the heart of the city with over 40 galleries.

Read More

Dance

A diverse range of dance groups and venues.

Read More

See More, Feel More

Come, stay and soak up the culture in one of Europe's most vibrant cities.

Read More

Shopping

Shoppinginbirmingham.com

Plan the perfect shopping trip with full store, centre and brand directories.

Read More

Shopping centres

From the world-famous, 21st Century Bullring to the Victorian elegance of the Great Western Arcade.

Read More

Vibrant streets

Linking the centres are Birmingham’s bustling shopping streets, packed with major brands and boutique independents.

Read More

Markets

Don’t miss Birmingham’s amazing markets – whether it’s the 850-year old Bullring markets or the...

Read More

Jewellery Quarter

Home to more diamond rings, finishing touches and tokens of love than anywhere else in...

Read More

Getting Married in Birmingham

We have everything covered from the rings right up to the venue itself.

Read More