新艺术西米德兰兹2014年

新兴艺术家突出西米德兰兹充满活力的艺术舞台,2014

伯明翰博物馆和艺术画廊,美术,大联盟和伍尔弗汉普顿美术馆的理发研究所正在合作呈现新艺术西米德兰兹,在四个艺术机构的展览展示创意人才和新兴艺术家的新作在西米德兰区域。

 

 

一个转折点西米德兰兹举措,新艺术西米德兰呈现出24的艺术家,他们都来自该地区的本科生和研究生美术学位课程之一,在过去三年毕业的工作:伯明翰城市大学,考文垂大学,斯塔福德郡大学,伍尔弗汉普顿和伍斯特大学。包含4全国重要的画廊加五所大学,这是其在英国的最大的合作伙伴关系。

转折点西米德兰兹媞评论说:“伯明翰和更广泛的西

中部地区拥有全国最有活力的和真实的艺术场景之一。新艺术西米德兰兹郡是一个独特的项目,与全国著名的画廊和我们在该地区的协作工作的大学。总之,我们可以得出关注我们的新兴艺术家的天赋和为我们的观众令人兴奋的全新的声音,同时提供在其职业生涯的关键时刻,以艺术家毕业生的支持。“

该功能的艺术家已选定由艺术家梅尔Brimfield的;策展人,讲师和城市理论家保罗·古德温,原馆长跨文化节目在泰特英国美术馆的;和大卫·哈丁OBE,方正环境艺术系的系主任,在格拉斯哥艺术学院。

五画家获奖者将赢得机会进行展览,居住或项目在西米德兰兹郡的画廊,包括新艺术沃尔索尔,MAC伯明翰,伯明翰图书馆,空域画廊斯托克和A3项目空间在Digbeth,伯明翰。

参展艺术家 - 其中的24 20为女性 - 跨媒体的工作,与绘画,装置,电影,印刷,摄影,雕塑和性能的代表。

伯明翰博物馆和艺术画廊致力于两大画廊新艺术西米德兰兹。 13个参展艺术家在这里,显示工作包括露西·哈钦森,他的中国风壁纸和自画像摄影检查类定型,在英国和香港,和格雷戈里·邓恩,他的一块比性更好的使用了一个点缀地形测量图,以反映对人类应对自然景观。

美术理发研究所将提出一些干预之间的永久收藏,以及独立的展览。萨德扣的灵感来自18世纪的解剖图创建有机玻璃雕塑作品,而废弃的考文垂夜总会的詹姆斯·柏金的画以介于老大师的作品石油临时位置。

伍尔弗汉普顿美术馆呈现8艺术家,包括生动的绘画沙龙法雷利灵感来自流行文化,坐式COMS和好莱坞电影。阿梅利亚格雷维尔呈现表演的照片,自画像穿着一些伪装灵感来自法兰克辛纳屈的歌那是生活的艺术家。

五助学金的艺术家已被选定为创建新的工作,这将填补大联盟的整个空间。这些措施包括莎拉Sehra,谁引用萨满主题和她的表演作品的自然景观,同时利亚Carless用她的材料的兴趣,其中包括人的头发和硅,打造雕塑作品。格伦嘉走在英国的城市,他映射的城市空间与摄影,电影和安装经验。

首届新艺术西米德兰兹展示发生在2012/2013年,有工作了22新兴艺术家吸引了50,000名参观者。许多参与者都转眼就到了艺术世界中建立的职业生涯,无论是在西米德兰地区和其他地区,由他们在本次展会的经验提振。


#NAWM14
www.newartwestmidlands.org

新艺术西米德兰兹
伯明翰博物馆和艺术画廊,2月14日 - 2014年5月18日
美术理发研究所,2月14日 - 2014年4月27日
大联盟,2月14日 - 2014年3月15日
伍尔弗汉普顿艺术画廊,2月14日 - 2014年5月10日

开放时间:
伯明翰博物馆和艺术画廊:周一至周四上午10点至下午5点,周五上午10:30至下午5时,周六和周日上午10点至下午5点
美术理发师研究所:周一至周五上午10点至下午5点,周六和周日上午11时至下午5时
伍尔弗汉普顿艺术画廊:周一至周六上午10点至下午5点
大联盟:周四至周六12-5pm

要点

地图与指南

地图和指南为您的光临。

阅读更多

四处逛逛

四处逛逛伯明翰再简单不过了......

阅读更多

探索

搜索地点,活动和住宿...

阅读更多

节日及活动

一起来看看什么在此时此地来了...

阅读更多

FROM TWITTER

RT @JQBID: 7 days to go 🎉🎉🎉#JQFestival. This time next week, they’ll be entertainment courtesy of a range of artists including the brillian…

RT @IndependentBham: Saturday is SOLD OUT! Grab your Sunday tickets fast 👉 https://t.co/GigfVdx511 25 of Brum's very best food/drink trad…

RT @JQBID: If you ❤️the #JewelleryQuarter in #Birmingham, join us for the #JQFestival to discover our #artisans, #museums, #shops, #pubs,…

RT @HGIBirminghamBP: We are showing it at the Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham too with a BBQ on the terrace. @visit_bham we hope to see you al…

节日及活动

体育亮点

所有体育赛事

总有一些东西,或者一个人,欢呼这里

阅读更多

文化

艺术画廊

伯明翰的艺术收藏品是一样宽,它是令人印象深刻。

阅读更多

舞台与银幕

从游览西区显示了展示本地人才。

阅读更多

音乐

一个巨大的竞技场之旅或一个亲密的演出?你会在这里找到它。

阅读更多

影片

复,英国最古老的电影院工作或美术家很酷?

阅读更多

伯明翰博物馆和艺术画廊

一个充满活力的博物馆在城市的心脏有超过40个展厅。

阅读更多

舞蹈

一个多元化的舞蹈团体和场所。

阅读更多

看多了,觉得比较

得来,留得住,沉浸在文化在欧洲最具活力的城市之一。

阅读更多

购物

Shoppinginbirmingham.com

计划全店,中心和品牌目录完美的购物之旅。

阅读更多

购物中心

来自世界著名的,21世纪的斗牛场的西部大商场的维多利亚式的优雅。

阅读更多

充满活力的街道

链接中心是伯明翰繁华的购物街,挤满了各大品牌和精品独立。

阅读更多

市场

千万不要错过伯明翰的惊人的市场 - 无论是850岁的斗牛市场或正规农贸市场。

阅读更多

珠宝区

首页更多的钻戒,收尾和定情比其他地方的国家。

阅读更多

在伯明翰结婚

我们拥有一切,从覆盖环说得最多的场馆本身。

阅读更多

New Art West Midlands 2014

Emerging artists highlight vibrant art scene of West Midlands, 2014

Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery, the Barber Institute of Fine Arts, Grand Union and Wolverhampton Art Gallery are working in partnership to present New Art West Midlands, an exhibition across four art institutions showcasing the creative talent and new work of emerging artists in the West Midlands region.

 

 

A Turning Point West Midlands initiative, New Art West Midlands exhibits the work of 24 artists, all of whom have graduated from one of the region’s undergraduate and postgraduate fine art degree courses in the past three years: Birmingham City University, Coventry University, Staffordshire University, University of Wolverhampton and University of Worcester. Encompassing four nationally important galleries plus five universities, it is the largest partnership of its kind in England.

Wendy Law of Turning Point West Midlands commented “Birmingham and the wider West 

Midlands region has one of the most vibrant and authentic art scenes in the country. New Art West Midlands is a unique project, with nationally renowned galleries and our universities in the region working in collaboration. Together, we can draw attention to the talent of our emerging artists and offer exciting fresh new voices for our audiences while offering support to artist graduates at a crucial time in their career.”

The featured artists have been selected by the artist Mel Brimfield; the curator, lecturer and urban theorist Paul Goodwin, formerly Curator of Cross Cultural Programmes at Tate Britain; and David Harding OBE, Founder and Head of Environmental Art Department at Glasgow School of Art.

Five artist prizewinners will win the opportunity to undertake an exhibition, residency or project at a West Midlands gallery, including New Art Gallery Walsall, mac birmingham, Library of Birmingham, Airspace Gallery in Stoke and A3 Project Space in Digbeth, Birmingham.

The exhibiting artists – of whom 20 of the 24 are female – work across media, with painting, installation, film, printing, photography, sculpture and performance all represented.

Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery devotes two major galleries to New Art West Midlands. Of the 13 artists exhibiting here, work displayed includes that of Lucy Hutchinson, whose chinoiserie wallpaper and self-portrait photography examines class stereotypes in the UK and Hong Kong, and Gregory Dunn, whose piece Better than sex uses an embellished Ordnance Survey map to reflect on human responses to the natural landscape.

The Barber Institute of Fine Arts will present a number of interventions amongst its permanent collection as well as a stand-alone exhibition. Sade Buckle takes inspiration from 18th century anatomical drawings to create perspex sculptural pieces, whilst James Birkin’s paintings of an abandoned Coventry nightclub takes a temporary position amidst the oil works of old masters.

Wolverhampton Art Gallery presents 8 artists, including vivid paintings by Sharon Farrelly inspired by popular culture, sit-coms and Hollywood movies. Amelia Greville presents performative photographs, self-portraits of the artists dressed in a number of guises inspired by the Frank Sinatra song That’s Life.

Five bursary artists have been selected to create new work, which will fill Grand Union’s entire space. These include Sarah Sehra, who references Shamanic themes and the natural landscape in her performative works, whilst Leah Carless uses her interest in materials, including human hair and silicon, to create sculptural pieces. Glen Stoker walks the cities of the UK, mapping his experiences of the urban space with photography, film and installation.

The inaugural New Art West Midlands showcase took place in 2012/2013, with work by 22 emerging artists attracting some 50,000 visitors. Many of the participants have gone on to forge careers within the art world, both in the West Midlands region and beyond, boosted by their experience in this exhibition.

 


 

#NAWM14
www.newartwestmidlands.org

New Art West Midlands
Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery, 14 February – 18 May 2014
The Barber Institute of Fine Arts,14 February – 27 April 2014
Grand Union, 14 February – 15 March 2014
Wolverhampton Art Gallery, 14 February – 10 May 2014

Opening Times:
Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery: Monday-Thursday 10am-5pm,
Friday 10.30am-5pm,
Saturday & Sunday 10am-5pm
The Barber Institute of Fine Art: Monday-Friday 10am-5pm, Saturday & Sunday 11am-5pm
Wolverhampton Art Gallery: Monday to Saturday 10am-5pm
Grand Union: Thursday to Saturday 12-5pm

Essentials

Maps & Guides

Maps & Guides for your visit.

Read More

Getting around

Getting around Birmingham couldn’t be easier...

Read More

What's on

Search for places, events & accommodation...

Read More

Festivals & events

Take a look at what’s on now and coming up here...

Read More

FROM TWITTER

RT @ShoppingInBham: Forget #LFW17, this is a catwalk show with a twist! Catch Culture Catwalk during @BhamWeekender outside @Bullring from…

RT @BhamWeekender: 🌟🌟🌟EXCLUSIVE WEEKENDER OFFER 🌟🌟🌟 See the breath-taking Sari at mac this weekend for only £5! See https://t.co/B6Cb1Q1iHI

RT @BhamCityCouncil: Take part in @great_run #GreatBirmingham10k in April? Take on the #GreatBirminghamRun half marathon for £10 off! https…

Festivals & events

Sporting highlights

Culture

Art Galleries

Birmingham’s art collection is as wide as it is impressive. 

Read More

Stage & Screen

From touring West End shows to showcasing local talent.

Read More

Music

A huge arena tour or an intimate gig?  You’ll find it here.

Read More

Film

Multiplexes, the UK’s oldest working cinema or art house cool?

Read More

Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery

A vibrant museum in the heart of the city with over 40 galleries.

Read More

Dance

A diverse range of dance groups and venues.

Read More

See More, Feel More

Come, stay and soak up the culture in one of Europe's most vibrant cities.

Read More

Shopping

Shoppinginbirmingham.com

Plan the perfect shopping trip with full store, centre and brand directories.

Read More

Shopping centres

From the world-famous, 21st Century Bullring to the Victorian elegance of the Great Western Arcade.

Read More

Vibrant streets

Linking the centres are Birmingham’s bustling shopping streets, packed with major brands and boutique independents.

Read More

Markets

Don’t miss Birmingham’s amazing markets – whether it’s the 850-year old Bullring markets or the...

Read More

Jewellery Quarter

Home to more diamond rings, finishing touches and tokens of love than anywhere else in...

Read More

Getting Married in Birmingham

We have everything covered from the rings right up to the venue itself.

Read More