New Art West Midlands 2014

Les artistes émergents soulignent dynamique scène artistique de West Midlands, 2014

Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery, l'Institut Barber des Beaux-Arts, Grand Union et Wolverhampton Art Gallery travaillent en partenariat pour présenter New Art West Midlands, une exposition sur quatre institutions d'art mettant en vedette le talent créatif et le nouveau travail d'artistes émergents dans les West Midlands région.

 

 

Une initiative Turning Point West Midlands, New Art West Midlands présente le travail de 24 artistes, qui ont tous obtenu leur diplôme d'une de premier cycle de la région et des cours fin d'études de l'art post-universitaires dans les trois dernières années: Birmingham City University, Coventry University, Université de Staffordshire , Université de Wolverhampton et de l'Université de Worcester. Englobant quatre galeries importantes à l'échelle nationale ainsi que cinq universités, il est le plus grand partenariat de ce type en Angleterre.

Wendy loi de Turning Point West Midlands a commenté "Birmingham et l'Occident plus large

Midlands région a l'une des scènes artistiques les plus dynamiques et authentiques dans le pays. New Art West Midlands est un projet unique, avec des galeries de renommée nationale et nos universités de la région en collaboration. Ensemble, nous pouvons attirer l'attention sur le talent de nos artistes émergents et offrir passionnantes nouvelles voix fraîches pour nos auditoires, tout en offrant un soutien aux diplômés artiste à un moment crucial de leur carrière ".

Les artistes présentés ont été sélectionnés par l'artiste Mel Brimfield; le conservateur, professeur et théoricien urbain Paul Goodwin, ancien conservateur des programmes culturels de la Croix à la Tate Britain; et David Harding OBE, Fondateur et Directeur artistique de l'environnement à la Glasgow School of Art.

Cinq lauréats artiste gagneront la possibilité d'entreprendre une exposition, de résidence ou d'un projet dans une galerie West Midlands, y compris New Art Gallery Walsall, mac Birmingham, Bibliothèque de Birmingham, l'espace aérien Galerie à Stoke et A3 Project Space dans Digbeth, Birmingham.

Les artistes exposants - dont 20 des 24 sont des femmes - travail à travers les médias, avec la peinture, l'installation, le film, l'impression, la photographie, la sculpture et la performance tous représentés.

Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery consacre deux grandes galeries d'art à New West Midlands. Parmi les 13 artistes qui exposent ici, le travail affiché comprend celui de Lucy Hutchinson, dont la chinoiserie papier peint et autoportrait photographique examine les stéréotypes de classe dans le Royaume-Uni et Hong Kong, et Gregory Dunn, dont la pièce Better than sex utilise une carte Ordnance Survey embellie pour refléter sur les réponses humaines au paysage naturel.

L'Institut Barber des Beaux-Arts présentera un certain nombre d'interventions parmi sa collection permanente ainsi que d'une exposition autonome. Sade Boucle se inspire de dessins anatomiques du 18ème siècle pour créer plexiglas pièces sculpturales, tandis que les peintures de James Birkin d'une discothèque Coventry abandonnée prend un poste temporaire au milieu des œuvres à l'huile de vieux maîtres.

Wolverhampton Art Gallery présente huit artistes, dont des peintures vives par Sharon Farrelly inspirés par la culture populaire, des sit-coms et les films hollywoodiens. Amelia Greville présente des photographies performatifs, autoportraits des artistes habillés dans un certain nombre de formes inspirées par la chanson Frank Sinatra ce est la vie.

Cinq artistes bourses ont été choisis pour créer de nouvelles œuvres, qui remplira tout l'espace de Grand Union. Il se agit notamment Sarah Sehra, qui fait référence à thèmes chamaniques et le paysage naturel dans ses œuvres performatives, tandis que Leah Carless utilise son intérêt pour les matériaux, y compris les cheveux humains et de silicium, pour créer des pièces sculpturales. Glen Stoker parcourt les villes du Royaume-Uni, la cartographie de ses expériences de l'espace urbain avec la photographie, le cinéma et l'installation.

La première vitrine New Art West Midlands a eu lieu en 2012/2013, avec le travail de 22 artistes émergents attirer quelque 50.000 visiteurs. La plupart des participants ont continué à forger des carrières dans le monde de l'art, à la fois dans la région des West Midlands et au-delà, stimulée par leur expérience dans cette exposition.


# NAWM14
www.newartwestmidlands.org

New Art West Midlands
Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery, le 14 Février - 18 May 2014
L'Institut Barber des Beaux-Arts, le 14 Février - 27 Avril 2014
Grand Union, le 14 Février - 15 Mars 2014
Galerie d'Art Wolverhampton, le 14 Février - 10 May 2014

Horaires d'ouverture:
Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery: lundi-jeudi 10 heures-17 heures, vendredi 10h30-17 heures, samedi et dimanche 10 heures-17 heures
L'Institut Barber des Beaux-Arts: du lundi au vendredi 10 heures-17 heures, samedi et dimanche 11 heures-17 heures
Wolverhampton Art Gallery: du lundi au samedi 10 heures-17 heures
Grand Union: jeudi au samedi 12-5pm

Essentiel

Cartes & Guides

Cartes & Guides pour votre visite.

En Savoir Plus

Se déplacer

Se déplacer Birmingham ne pouvait pas être plus facile ...

En Savoir Plus

Explorer

Rechercher des lieux, des événements et l'hébergement ...

En Savoir Plus

Festivals et événements

Jetez un oeil à ce qui est maintenant et à venir ici ...

En Savoir Plus

FROM TWITTER

RT @BhamDanceFest: We’re all set up for tonight’s first FREE performance of #ORIGAMI on tour, at @bhameastside!Catch this dramatic show t…

RT @WestMids_CA: .@visit_bham Please RT- The Mayors Community Weekend takes place the 30 June - 1st July bringing the #WMCommunity together…

RT @brumhippodrome: Calling all revolting children...It's not long until @MatildaMusical hits our stage ALL summer on it's first ever UK…

RT @visit_bham: International cricket returns to the city in just over a week as part of a bumper major match programme at @edgbaston Stadi…

Festivals et événements

Articles faits saillants

Culture

Galeries d'art

La collection d'art de Birmingham est aussi large que ce est impressionnant.

En Savoir Plus

Film

Multiplexes, plus vieux cinéma de travail ou maison fraîche d'art du Royaume-Uni?

En Savoir Plus

Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery

Un musée dynamique au coeur de la ville avec plus de 40 galeries.

En Savoir Plus

Danse

Un large éventail de groupes de danse et des lieux.

En Savoir Plus

Voir Plus, se sentent plus

Venez, le séjour et se imprégner de la culture dans l'une des villes les plus dynamiques d'Europe.

En Savoir Plus

Shopping

Shoppinginbirmingham.com

Planifier le voyage de shopping parfait avec plein magasin, centre et répertoires de la marque.

En Savoir Plus

Centres commerciaux

De la célèbre, Arènes 21e siècle à l'élégance victorienne de la Grande Arcade occidentale.

En Savoir Plus

Rues animées

Reliant les centres des rues commerçantes animées de Birmingham, emballés avec de grandes marques et...

En Savoir Plus

Marchés

Ne manquez pas les marchés étonnantes de Birmingham - qu'il se agisse des marchés de...

En Savoir Plus

Jewellery Quarter

Accueil à plus de bagues de diamant, la finition des touches et des témoignages d'amour...

En Savoir Plus

Se marier à Birmingham

Nous avons tout couvert des anneaux jusqu'à la salle elle-même.

En Savoir Plus

New Art West Midlands 2014

Emerging artists highlight vibrant art scene of West Midlands, 2014

Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery, the Barber Institute of Fine Arts, Grand Union and Wolverhampton Art Gallery are working in partnership to present New Art West Midlands, an exhibition across four art institutions showcasing the creative talent and new work of emerging artists in the West Midlands region.

 

 

A Turning Point West Midlands initiative, New Art West Midlands exhibits the work of 24 artists, all of whom have graduated from one of the region’s undergraduate and postgraduate fine art degree courses in the past three years: Birmingham City University, Coventry University, Staffordshire University, University of Wolverhampton and University of Worcester. Encompassing four nationally important galleries plus five universities, it is the largest partnership of its kind in England.

Wendy Law of Turning Point West Midlands commented “Birmingham and the wider West 

Midlands region has one of the most vibrant and authentic art scenes in the country. New Art West Midlands is a unique project, with nationally renowned galleries and our universities in the region working in collaboration. Together, we can draw attention to the talent of our emerging artists and offer exciting fresh new voices for our audiences while offering support to artist graduates at a crucial time in their career.”

The featured artists have been selected by the artist Mel Brimfield; the curator, lecturer and urban theorist Paul Goodwin, formerly Curator of Cross Cultural Programmes at Tate Britain; and David Harding OBE, Founder and Head of Environmental Art Department at Glasgow School of Art.

Five artist prizewinners will win the opportunity to undertake an exhibition, residency or project at a West Midlands gallery, including New Art Gallery Walsall, mac birmingham, Library of Birmingham, Airspace Gallery in Stoke and A3 Project Space in Digbeth, Birmingham.

The exhibiting artists – of whom 20 of the 24 are female – work across media, with painting, installation, film, printing, photography, sculpture and performance all represented.

Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery devotes two major galleries to New Art West Midlands. Of the 13 artists exhibiting here, work displayed includes that of Lucy Hutchinson, whose chinoiserie wallpaper and self-portrait photography examines class stereotypes in the UK and Hong Kong, and Gregory Dunn, whose piece Better than sex uses an embellished Ordnance Survey map to reflect on human responses to the natural landscape.

The Barber Institute of Fine Arts will present a number of interventions amongst its permanent collection as well as a stand-alone exhibition. Sade Buckle takes inspiration from 18th century anatomical drawings to create perspex sculptural pieces, whilst James Birkin’s paintings of an abandoned Coventry nightclub takes a temporary position amidst the oil works of old masters.

Wolverhampton Art Gallery presents 8 artists, including vivid paintings by Sharon Farrelly inspired by popular culture, sit-coms and Hollywood movies. Amelia Greville presents performative photographs, self-portraits of the artists dressed in a number of guises inspired by the Frank Sinatra song That’s Life.

Five bursary artists have been selected to create new work, which will fill Grand Union’s entire space. These include Sarah Sehra, who references Shamanic themes and the natural landscape in her performative works, whilst Leah Carless uses her interest in materials, including human hair and silicon, to create sculptural pieces. Glen Stoker walks the cities of the UK, mapping his experiences of the urban space with photography, film and installation.

The inaugural New Art West Midlands showcase took place in 2012/2013, with work by 22 emerging artists attracting some 50,000 visitors. Many of the participants have gone on to forge careers within the art world, both in the West Midlands region and beyond, boosted by their experience in this exhibition.

 


 

#NAWM14
www.newartwestmidlands.org

New Art West Midlands
Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery, 14 February – 18 May 2014
The Barber Institute of Fine Arts,14 February – 27 April 2014
Grand Union, 14 February – 15 March 2014
Wolverhampton Art Gallery, 14 February – 10 May 2014

Opening Times:
Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery: Monday-Thursday 10am-5pm,
Friday 10.30am-5pm,
Saturday & Sunday 10am-5pm
The Barber Institute of Fine Art: Monday-Friday 10am-5pm, Saturday & Sunday 11am-5pm
Wolverhampton Art Gallery: Monday to Saturday 10am-5pm
Grand Union: Thursday to Saturday 12-5pm

Essentials

Maps & Guides

Maps & Guides for your visit.

Read More

Getting around

Getting around Birmingham couldn’t be easier...

Read More

What's on

Search for places, events & accommodation...

Read More

Festivals & events

Take a look at what’s on now and coming up here...

Read More

FROM TWITTER

RT @ShoppingInBham: Forget #LFW17, this is a catwalk show with a twist! Catch Culture Catwalk during @BhamWeekender outside @Bullring from…

RT @BhamWeekender: 🌟🌟🌟EXCLUSIVE WEEKENDER OFFER 🌟🌟🌟 See the breath-taking Sari at mac this weekend for only £5! See https://t.co/B6Cb1Q1iHI

RT @BhamCityCouncil: Take part in @great_run #GreatBirmingham10k in April? Take on the #GreatBirminghamRun half marathon for £10 off! https…

Festivals & events

Sporting highlights

Culture

Art Galleries

Birmingham’s art collection is as wide as it is impressive. 

Read More

Stage & Screen

From touring West End shows to showcasing local talent.

Read More

Music

A huge arena tour or an intimate gig?  You’ll find it here.

Read More

Film

Multiplexes, the UK’s oldest working cinema or art house cool?

Read More

Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery

A vibrant museum in the heart of the city with over 40 galleries.

Read More

Dance

A diverse range of dance groups and venues.

Read More

See More, Feel More

Come, stay and soak up the culture in one of Europe's most vibrant cities.

Read More

Shopping

Shoppinginbirmingham.com

Plan the perfect shopping trip with full store, centre and brand directories.

Read More

Shopping centres

From the world-famous, 21st Century Bullring to the Victorian elegance of the Great Western Arcade.

Read More

Vibrant streets

Linking the centres are Birmingham’s bustling shopping streets, packed with major brands and boutique independents.

Read More

Markets

Don’t miss Birmingham’s amazing markets – whether it’s the 850-year old Bullring markets or the...

Read More

Jewellery Quarter

Home to more diamond rings, finishing touches and tokens of love than anywhere else in...

Read More

Getting Married in Birmingham

We have everything covered from the rings right up to the venue itself.

Read More