伯明翰建筑节

过去的事件 - 5月24日至27日

独立伯明翰建筑节将亮相今年春天的一系列令人振奋的创新活动,激发公众,创意社区,建筑专家和建筑师都参与我们的“第二城”的乐趣,创造性和发人深省的方式。

在主题为节日是“仔细看一下”。无论多久我们一直某一个地方的居民,总会有一些新的发现。伯明翰市是一个充满活力,充满活力和不断变化的地方,这个节日的目的是庆祝弥补这个美好的多元文化的大熔炉的怪癖。

BAF2013将举办一系列诸如旅游,讲座,展览,放映和研讨会活动,所有庆祝这个城市,它的建筑,它的空间和它的居民,希望鼓励大家要仔细看一下的目的。

该计划

旅游

Architectura维多利亚时代-交付Laira Piccinato,伯明翰建筑节和本·沃丁顿,静止徒步节的主任
中还是走,依康画廊,伯明翰建筑节邀您共同力量来对Architectura维多利亚时代的平行导走。

用约翰·亨利·张伯伦的杰作与该镜头查看维多利亚时代,二旅行团将并排。第一,情感之旅钻研大师的投资组合的心脏地带,探索艺术的笔记他的建筑留在城市。第二个庆祝的技术成果,剥了他的作品的外观,比喻露出了砖头,什么可能位于下方。其中你会选择?

野生墙-由Ellen Pisolkar交付,当地生态学家
没有停下来看看许多不同的植物和动物是如何真正生活在我市的架构?加入我们当地生态学家,用放大镜在手,在一个迷人的旅游调查伯明翰野生墙壁的秘密生活。

物质世界-由本·沃丁顿,主任交付还是徒步节
在城镇和城市在我们身边的每寸的设计,塑造和有工作要做。物质世界的检查城市肌理伯明翰告诉城市,自然资源和不断变化的建筑方法的故事,并提供了一​​个迷人的洞察有价值的材料在世界各地的运动。

珠宝区Photoschool&Digbeth Photoschool自助游-马特和皮特的Photoschool交付
在马特和皮特的Photoschool的话:“我们跑了一些指导,通过照片伯明翰街头散步。当地的历史,隐藏的知识和未经证实的神话的斗结合的技巧和技术,以提高您的摄影。在照片上散步,我们放慢脚步,详细了解。平均0.5英里每小时的速度行走鼓励你要注意你周围的环境和居住在城市通常是通过冲到部分。即使你没有进入摄影这些阶层可以很有趣。按照我们的节奏和准则,你可以看到你的城市有新鲜的眼光,一个将留在你的做法。“

废弃的建筑之旅-交付Laira Piccinato,伯明翰建筑节总监
伯明翰建筑节总监将带您在珠宝区的游览显示你周围的一些在城市的最有趣的废弃场所。伯明翰城市范围内废弃建筑的大型组合。这次巡演将探讨为什么这么多的建筑已成为危房,是他们的历史/渎职使用前,问了一个问题:我们可以做些什么来拯救我们的建筑吗?

研讨会

针孔相机工作坊-马特和皮特的Photoschool,Laira Piccinato,伯明翰建筑节和珍妮Duffin节协调员导演,摄影师和艺术家交付
这一天将开始与2短对话:在Colmore商务区的建筑的第一和第二的针孔摄影的起源和原则。然后,您将学习如何针孔相机的工作原理,并有建立你自己的相机令人兴奋的任务。一旦建成,你将免费把多达10张照片的区域,届时我们会帮助你在黑暗的房间内开发的体系结构。

在建筑环境绿色基础设施生态系统服务-通过RESET开发交付
本次研讨会将探讨地表水管理,城市热岛,以及空气,水和生物多样性的质量伯明翰面临的问题。专家们在城市绿色基础设施的设计,政策和实施的带领下,本次活动将探讨本地潜力,通过与大自然的粮食工作我们的城镇和城市适应气候变化。

 

电影放映

系列短裤-由基诺10交付
加入我们,由基诺策划部短片的晚上10重点将包括“最多还有”关于广告牌艺人的生活,“狂人和大教堂”一个人的故事很短的纪录片后,他梦想建立自己的教堂和“像素”:当一个系列的8位图标攻击并吞噬纽约一“块”的时间。

奇科和丽塔-由基诺10交付
加入我们的精美动画奇科和丽塔和被诱骗到爱,爵士,背叛和华丽的建筑物绘制的世界。你会从古巴运到纽约去体验建筑制图的精致美食一样,没有其他。

你已经莫须有-交付基诺10
加入我们过去十年的最佳纪录片之一这个独家放映。坐落在Menie庄园附近仔,影片讲述的是如何唐纳德·特朗普,美国大亨,设法推翻苏格兰规划的法律,以便在欧洲最环保敏感的海岸绵延一个建高尔夫球场的故事,一个领先的科学家描述作为苏格兰的亚马逊雨林。搞笑,鼓舞人心,心脏破,电影揭示了令人震惊的方式特朗普滥用遗产的居民,摧毁了一个生态系统,并打破了他的承诺从来没有打算继续。

展览

萨拉Preisler
萨拉Preisler将生产当代珠宝灵感来自伯明翰的结构特别是对伯明翰建筑节的集合。原本是一个雕塑家,她已经因为专为中当代珠宝舞台上独具匠心的设计和质量的声誉。在开发和推广雕塑珠宝收藏她,她现在个股她在一个大的各种选择的商店和画廊在英国和欧盟的工作。在她的业务时,她已被选中设计和制造珠宝首饰的许多知名客户,包括英国皇家莎士比亚剧团,伯明翰皇家芭蕾舞团,Selfridges百货公司,伦敦和凡高博物馆阿姆斯特丹。

另类科技中心,专业文凭展览
威尔士另类科技中心提供建筑环境的背景下,英国在可持续设计领先的课程。他们将展出3最好的专业文凭课程项目展示的一些英国领先的人才在这个舞台上的。

摄影展
我们很高兴地宣布,所有的节​​日期间的摄影活动的参与者将有机会展示他们的作品受到广大市民可以欣赏。

讲座系列:
在运行到节日周末将有系列讲座MADE交付。

 

要点

地图与指南

地图和指南为您的光临。

阅读更多

四处逛逛

四处逛逛伯明翰再简单不过了......

阅读更多

探索

搜索地点,活动和住宿...

阅读更多

节日及活动

一起来看看什么在此时此地来了...

阅读更多

FROM TWITTER

RT @BhamPhotoFest: EXTRA TICKETS RELEASED!! The original allocation of 100 tickets sold out in no time at all! As a result of this demand w…

RT @BM_AG: We're pleased to share this great news! Over a quarter of a million people visited #DippyonTour spending £4.2million in the city…

RT @JQBID: It's official, we have some truly amazing pubs in the #JQ 🍻! As featured in today's @birminghampost the @CAMRA_Official Good Bee…

体育亮点

文化

艺术画廊

伯明翰的艺术收藏品是一样宽,它是令人印象深刻。

阅读更多

舞台与银幕

从游览西区显示了展示本地人才。

阅读更多

音乐

一个巨大的竞技场之旅或一个亲密的演出?你会在这里找到它。

阅读更多

影片

复,英国最古老的电影院工作或美术家很酷?

阅读更多

伯明翰博物馆和艺术画廊

一个充满活力的博物馆在城市的心脏有超过40个展厅。

阅读更多

舞蹈

一个多元化的舞蹈团体和场所。

阅读更多

看多了,觉得比较

得来,留得住,沉浸在文化在欧洲最具活力的城市之一。

阅读更多

购物

Shoppinginbirmingham.com

计划全店,中心和品牌目录完美的购物之旅。

阅读更多

购物中心

来自世界著名的,21世纪的斗牛场的西部大商场的维多利亚式的优雅。

阅读更多

充满活力的街道

链接中心是伯明翰繁华的购物街,挤满了各大品牌和精品独立。

阅读更多

市场

千万不要错过伯明翰的惊人的市场 - 无论是850岁的斗牛市场或正规农贸市场。

阅读更多

珠宝区

首页更多的钻戒,收尾和定情比其他地方的国家。

阅读更多

在伯明翰结婚

我们拥有一切,从覆盖环说得最多的场馆本身。

阅读更多

Birmingham Architecture Festival

PAST EVENT - 24-27 May

The independent Birmingham Architecture Festival will debut this spring with a series of exciting and innovative events to inspire the public, creative communities, construction professionals and architects alike to engage with our ‘Second City’ in fun, inventive and thought-provoking ways.

 

The theme for the festival is 'Take A Second Look'. No matter how long we have been inhabitants of a certain place, there is always something new to discover. The city of Birmingham is a vibrant, dynamic and ever-changing place and the festival aims to celebrate the quirks that make up this wonderful multi-cultural melting pot.

BAF2013 will host a range of events such as tours, lectures, exhibitions, screenings and workshops, all with the aim of celebrating the city, its architecture, its spaces and its inhabitants and hopefully encouraging all of us to take a second look.

 

The programme

Tours

Architectura Victoriana – Delivered by Laira Piccinato, Director of the Birmingham Architecture Festival and Ben Waddington, Director of the Still Walking Festival
The joint forces of Still Walking, Ikon gallery and Birmingham Architecture Festival invite you to come on a parallel guided walk of Architectura Victoriana.

Using John Henry Chamberlain’s masterworks as the lens with which to view the Victorian era, two tours will run side by side. The first, an emotional journey delving into the heart of the master’s portfolio, exploring the artistic notes his buildings left on the city. The second celebrating technical achievement, stripping down the façade of his work, metaphorically exposing the bricks and mortar and what may lie beneath. Which will you choose?

Wild Walls – Delivered by Ellen Pisolkar, Local Ecologist
Ever stopped to have a look at how many different plants and creatures actually live on the Architecture of our city? Join our local ecologist, with magnifying glass in hand, on a fascinating tour to investigate the secret lives of the wild walls of Birmingham.

Material World – Delivered by Ben Waddington, Director of Still Walking Festival
Every inch of the town and city around us has been designed, shaped and has a job to do. Material World examines the urban fabric of Birmingham to tell the story of the city, its natural resources and changing building methods, and provides a fascinating insight into the movement of valuable material around the world.

Jewellery Quarter Photoschool & Digbeth Photoschool Walks – Delivered by Matt and Pete’s Photoschool
In the words of Matt and Pete’s Photoschool: “we run a number of guided Photo Walks through the streets of Birmingham. A bucket of local history, hidden knowledge and unsubstantiated myth combine with tips and techniques to improve your photography. On a photo walk we Slow Down and Look Closer. Averaging a walking speed of 0.5mph you are encouraged to pay attention to your surroundings and dwell on parts of the city usually rushed through. These walks can be interesting even if you’re not into photography. By following our pace and guidelines you can see your city with fresh eyes, an approach which will stay with you.”

Derelict Buildings Tour – Delivered by Laira Piccinato, Director of the Birmingham Architecture Festival
The Director of the Birmingham Architecture Festival will be taking you on a tour of the Jewellery Quarter showing you around some of the most interesting derelict sites in the city. Birmingham has a large portfolio of derelict buildings within the city boundary. This tour will explore why so many buildings have become dilapidated, what their history/ use was before dereliction and ask the question: What can we do to save our buildings?

 

Workshops

Pinhole camera Workshop – Delivered by Matt and Pete’s Photoschool, Laira Piccinato, Director of the Birmingham Architecture Festival and Jenny Duffin Festival Coordinator, Photographer and Artist
The day will start with 2 short talks: the first on the Architecture of Colmore Business District and the second on the origins and principles of pinhole photography. You will then be taught how a pinhole camera works and have the exciting task of building your very own camera. Once built, you will be free to take up to 10 photographs of the Architecture of the area, which we will then aid you in developing within the dark room.

Green Infrastructure for Ecosystem Services in the built environment – Delivered by RESET Development
This workshop will explore issues facing Birmingham of surface water management, urban heat island, and the quality of air, water and biodiversity. Led by experts in urban green infrastructure design, policy and implementation, this event will explore the local potential to adapt our towns and cities to climate change by working with the grain of nature.

 

Film Screenings

Series of Shorts – Delivered by Kino 10
Join us for an evening of short films curated by Kino 10. Highlights will include ‘Up there’ a short documentary about the life of billboard artists, ‘The Madman and the Cathedral’ the story of a man following his dream to build his own cathedral and ‘Pixels’ :when a series of 8 bit icons attack and engulf new york, one ‘block’ at a time.

Chico & Rita – Delivered by Kino 10
Join us for the beautifully animated Chico & Rita and be lured into a world of love, Jazz, betrayal and gorgeously drawn buildings. You will be transported from Cuba to New York to experience the exquisite delights of architectural drawing like no other.

You’ve Been Trumped – Delivered by Kino 10
Join us for this exclusive screening of one of the best documentaries of the last decade. Set in the Menie estate near Aberdeen, the film tells the story of how Donald Trump, American Tycoon, manages to overturn Scottish planning laws in order to build a golf course in one of Europe’s most environmentally sensitive stretches of coast, described by one leading scientist as Scotland’s Amazon rain forest. Funny, inspiring and heart-breaking, the film brings to light the appalling way Trump abused the residents of the estate, destroyed an ecosystem and broke promises he never intended to keep.

 

Exhibitions

Sara Preisler
Sara Preisler will be producing a collection of contemporary jewellery inspired by the Architecture of Birmingham especially for the Birmingham Architecture Festival. Originally a sculptor, she has since built a reputation for originality of design and quality within the contemporary jewellery arena. In developing and promoting her collections of sculptural jewellery, she now stocks her work in a large variety of selected stores and galleries in the UK and the EU. During her time in business she has been selected to design and make jewellery for many prestigious clients including The Royal Shakespeare Company, The Birmingham Royal Ballet, Selfridges, London and The Van Gogh Museum in Amsterdam.

Centre for Alternative Technology, Professional Diploma Exhibition
The Centre for Alternative Technology in Wales provides the UK’s leading courses in sustainable design within the context of the built environment. They will be exhibiting 3 of the finest Professional Diploma projects showcasing some of the UK’s leading talents in this arena.

Photography Exhibitions
We are delighted to announce that all of the participants of the photography events during the course of the festival will have the opportunity to exhibit their work to be admired by the general public.

Lecture series:
In the run up to the festival weekend there will be a lecture series delivered by MADE.

 

Essentials

Maps & Guides

Maps & Guides for your visit.

Read More

Getting around

Getting around Birmingham couldn’t be easier...

Read More

What's on

Search for places, events & accommodation...

Read More

Festivals & events

Take a look at what’s on now and coming up here...

Read More

FROM TWITTER

RT @MPW_Birmingham: Welcome to MPW @VeuveClicquotUK! We're launching #VeuveClicquotRich out on our terrace this evening... https://t.co/LuN

RT @CoffinWorks: As part of the #JewelleryQuarterFestival we have a brilliant evening of folk music! Book your tickets here! https://t.co/t

RT @thegastrocard: #WinningWednesday #Birmingham 💕@TheCBSO @staying_cool @flybe ✈️ @SummerSolihull @Lemar @HogarthsHotel @harry_moseley htt…

Festivals & events

Sporting highlights

Culture

Art Galleries

Birmingham’s art collection is as wide as it is impressive. 

Read More

Stage & Screen

From touring West End shows to showcasing local talent.

Read More

Music

A huge arena tour or an intimate gig?  You’ll find it here.

Read More

Film

Multiplexes, the UK’s oldest working cinema or art house cool?

Read More

Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery

A vibrant museum in the heart of the city with over 40 galleries.

Read More

Dance

A diverse range of dance groups and venues.

Read More

See More, Feel More

Come, stay and soak up the culture in one of Europe's most vibrant cities.

Read More

Shopping

Shoppinginbirmingham.com

Plan the perfect shopping trip with full store, centre and brand directories.

Read More

Shopping centres

From the world-famous, 21st Century Bullring to the Victorian elegance of the Great Western Arcade.

Read More

Vibrant streets

Linking the centres are Birmingham’s bustling shopping streets, packed with major brands and boutique independents.

Read More

Markets

Don’t miss Birmingham’s amazing markets – whether it’s the 850-year old Bullring markets or the...

Read More

Jewellery Quarter

Home to more diamond rings, finishing touches and tokens of love than anywhere else in...

Read More

Getting Married in Birmingham

We have everything covered from the rings right up to the venue itself.

Read More