Birmingham architecture festival

Événement passé - 24 au 27 mai

Le indépendante de l'Architecture Festival de Birmingham débutera ce printemps avec une série d'événements passionnants et novateurs pour inspirer le public, les communautés créatives, professionnels de la construction et des architectes de même de se engager avec notre «Second City» dans l'amusement, des façons inventives et stimulantes.

Le thème du festival est "prendre un second regard». Peu importe combien de temps nous avons été habitants d'un certain endroit, il ya toujours quelque chose de nouveau à découvrir. La ville de Birmingham est un endroit dynamique, dynamique et en constante évolution et le festival vise à célébrer les bizarreries qui composent ce merveilleux creuset multiculturel.

BAF2013 accueillera une série d'événements comme des visites guidées, conférences, expositions, projections et ateliers, tous dans le but de célébrer la ville, son architecture, ses espaces et de ses habitants et nous espérons encourager chacun d'entre nous de prendre un second regard.

Le programme

Tours

Architectura Victoriana - Livré par Laira Piccinato, directeur du Festival de Birmingham architecture et Ben Waddington, directeur du Festival Still Walking
Les forces conjointes de Still Walking, Ikon Gallery de Birmingham et de l'Architecture Festival de vous inviter à venir sur une parallèle à pied guidée de Architectura Victoriana.

Utilisation des chefs-d'œuvre de John Henry Chamberlain que l'objectif avec lequel pour afficher l'ère victorienne, deux visites seront fonctionner côte à côte. Le premier, un voyage émotionnel de plonger dans le cœur du portefeuille du maître, en explorant les notes artistiques ses bâtiments laissés sur la ville. La réalisation technique de deuxième célébrer, dépouillant la façade de son travail, exposant métaphoriquement les briques et le mortier et ce qui peut se trouver sous. Qui allez-vous choisir?

Murs sauvages - envoyé par Ellen Pisolkar, écologiste local
Jamais cessé de jeter un oeil à la façon dont de nombreuses plantes et créatures différentes vivent effectivement sur l'architecture de notre ville? Rejoignez notre écologiste local, avec une loupe à la main, sur une visite passionnante pour enquêter sur la vie secrète des murs sauvages de Birmingham.

Material World - Livré par Ben Waddington, directeur de Still Walking Festival
Chaque pouce de la ville et de la ville autour de nous a été conçu, en forme et a un travail à faire. Material World examine le tissu urbain de Birmingham pour raconter l'histoire de la ville, ses ressources naturelles et l'évolution des méthodes de construction, et offre un aperçu fascinant dans le mouvement de la matière précieuse dans le monde entier.

Jewellery Quarter Photoschool & Digbeth Photoschool Promenades - Livré par Photoschool de Matt et Pete
Dans les paroles de Matt et de Pete Photoschool: "nous courons un certain nombre de photos promenades guidées à travers les rues de Birmingham. Un seau de l'histoire locale, la connaissance cachée et le mythe sans fondement combiner avec des conseils et des techniques pour améliorer votre photographie. Sur une photo de marche, nous ralentir et regarder de plus près. En moyenne une vitesse de marche de 0,5 mph vous êtes encouragés à prêter attention à votre environnement et se attarder sur les parties de la ville en général se précipita à travers. Ces promenades peuvent être intéressants, même si vous n'êtes pas dans la photographie. En suivant notre rythme et de lignes directrices, vous pouvez voir votre ville avec un regard neuf, une approche qui restera avec vous. "

Bâtiments abandonnés Tour - Livré par Laira Piccinato, directeur de l'architecture Festival de Birmingham
Le Directeur de l'architecture Festival de Birmingham sera vous prend sur un tour du quartier des bijoutiers vous montrant autour de certains des sites abandonnés les plus intéressants de la ville. Birmingham a un large portefeuille de bâtiments abandonnés dans les limites de la ville. Cette visite explorera pourquoi tant de bâtiments sont devenus vétustes, ce qui leur histoire / l'utilisation était avant déréliction et poser la question: Que pouvons-nous faire pour sauver nos bâtiments?

Ateliers

Sténopé Atelier - Livré par Matt et Photoschool de Pete, Laira Piccinato, Directeur du Coordonnateur Birmingham architecture festival et Jenny Festival de Duffin, photographe et artiste
La journée commencera avec 2 courts exposés: le premier sur l'architecture de Colmore Business District et le second sur les origines et les principes de la photographie au sténopé. Vous serez alors appris comment fonctionne un sténopé et ont la tâche passionnante de construire votre propre appareil photo. Une fois construit, vous serez libre de prendre jusqu'à 10 photos de l'architecture de la région, que nous allons vous aider à développer au sein de la chambre noire.

Infrastructure verte pour les services écosystémiques dans l'environnement bâti - Livré par RAZ développement
Cet atelier explorera enjeux de la gestion de Birmingham surface de l'eau, îlot de chaleur urbain, et la qualité de l'air, de l'eau et de la biodiversité. Animées par des experts en infrastructure verte urbaine conception, les politiques et la mise en œuvre, cet événement explorera le potentiel local pour adapter nos villes aux changements climatiques en travaillant avec le grain de la nature.

 

Projections de films

Série de courts métrages - Livré par Kino 10
Rejoignez-nous pour une soirée de courts métrages organisée par Kino 10. Faits saillants comprendront 'Là-haut' un court documentaire sur la vie des artistes Billboard, "Le Fou et la cathédrale 'l'histoire d'un homme qui suit son rêve de construire sa propre cathédrale et «pixels»: quand une série de huit icônes de bits attaquer et engloutir à New York, une «bloquer» à la fois.

Chico & Rita - Livré par Kino 10
Rejoignez-nous pour l'magnifiquement animé Chico & Rita et être attirés dans un monde d'amour, Jazz, de trahison et bâtiments magnifiquement dessinés. Vous serez transportés de Cuba à New York pour découvrir les plaisirs exquis de dessin d'architecture ressemble à aucun autre.

Vous avez été éclipsées - délivré par Kino 10
Rejoignez-nous pour cette projection exclusive de l'un des meilleurs documentaires de la dernière décennie. Situé dans la succession Menie près d'Aberdeen, le film raconte l'histoire de la façon dont Donald Trump, American Tycoon, parvient à renverser les lois de planification écossais afin de construire un terrain de golf dans une tronçons les plus sensibles à l'environnement de la côte de l'Europe, décrit par un éminent scientifique comme Amazon Rain Forest de l'Ecosse. Drôle, inspirant et crève-cœur, le film met en lumière la façon épouvantable Trump abusé les résidents de la succession, détruit un écosystème et se est cassé promesses qu'il n'a jamais voulu conserver.

Expositions

Sara Preisler
Sara Preisler sera produit une collection de bijoux contemporains inspirés de l'architecture de Birmingham en particulier pour l'architecture Festival de Birmingham. A l'origine un sculpteur, elle a depuis construit une réputation pour l'originalité du design et de qualité dans le domaine de la joaillerie contemporaine. Dans l'élaboration et la promotion de ses collections de bijoux sculpturale, elle stocke désormais son travail dans une grande variété de certains magasins et galeries au Royaume-Uni et l'UE. Pendant son temps dans les affaires qu'elle a été sélectionné pour concevoir et fabriquer des bijoux pour de nombreux clients prestigieux, dont la Royal Shakespeare Company, The Birmingham Royal Ballet, Selfridges, Londres et le Musée Van Gogh à Amsterdam.

Centre for Alternative Technology, Exposition de diplôme professionnel
Le Centre for Alternative Technology au Pays de Galles fournit principaux cours au Royaume-Uni en matière de conception durable dans le contexte de l'environnement bâti. Ils exposeront trois des plus beaux projets de diplôme professionnel mettant en vedette certains des plus grands talents du Royaume-Uni dans ce domaine.

Photographie Expositions
Nous sommes ravis d'annoncer que tous les participants des événements photographiques pendant la durée du festival auront la possibilité d'exposer leur travail d'être admiré par le grand public.

Série de conférences:
Dans la perspective de la fin de semaine du festival, il y aura une série de conférences délivré par MADE.

 

Essentiel

Cartes & Guides

Cartes & Guides pour votre visite.

En Savoir Plus

Se déplacer

Se déplacer Birmingham ne pouvait pas être plus facile ...

En Savoir Plus

Explorer

Rechercher des lieux, des événements et l'hébergement ...

En Savoir Plus

Festivals et événements

Jetez un oeil à ce qui est maintenant et à venir ici ...

En Savoir Plus

FROM TWITTER

RT @birminghamcg22: Plans for the site that would be home to the #Birmingham2022 Commonwealth Games Village have been formally submitted fo…

RT @unibirmingham: Excited much? Congratulations to everyone joining us! You'll be here very soon! #hellobrum We can't wait 😊 https://t.co

RT @BirminghamDL: 🔴 Start-lists are LIVE!🇬🇧 ..and the British stars are coming! The meeting will see @lauramuiruns will attack @damekelly

RT @brumhippodrome: TODAY we are having afternoon tea with Miss Honey (@CarlyThoms) from @MatildaMusical in our Circle Restaurant on Facebo…

Festivals et événements

Articles faits saillants

Tous les événements sportifs

Il ya toujours quelque chose, ou quelqu'un, pour acclamer ici

En Savoir Plus

Culture

Galeries d'art

La collection d'art de Birmingham est aussi large que ce est impressionnant.

En Savoir Plus

Film

Multiplexes, plus vieux cinéma de travail ou maison fraîche d'art du Royaume-Uni?

En Savoir Plus

Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery

Un musée dynamique au coeur de la ville avec plus de 40 galeries.

En Savoir Plus

Danse

Un large éventail de groupes de danse et des lieux.

En Savoir Plus

Voir Plus, se sentent plus

Venez, le séjour et se imprégner de la culture dans l'une des villes les plus dynamiques d'Europe.

En Savoir Plus

Shopping

Shoppinginbirmingham.com

Planifier le voyage de shopping parfait avec plein magasin, centre et répertoires de la marque.

En Savoir Plus

Centres commerciaux

De la célèbre, Arènes 21e siècle à l'élégance victorienne de la Grande Arcade occidentale.

En Savoir Plus

Rues animées

Reliant les centres des rues commerçantes animées de Birmingham, emballés avec de grandes marques et...

En Savoir Plus

Marchés

Ne manquez pas les marchés étonnantes de Birmingham - qu'il se agisse des marchés de...

En Savoir Plus

Jewellery Quarter

Accueil à plus de bagues de diamant, la finition des touches et des témoignages d'amour...

En Savoir Plus

Se marier à Birmingham

Nous avons tout couvert des anneaux jusqu'à la salle elle-même.

En Savoir Plus

Birmingham Architecture Festival

PAST EVENT - 24-27 May

The independent Birmingham Architecture Festival will debut this spring with a series of exciting and innovative events to inspire the public, creative communities, construction professionals and architects alike to engage with our ‘Second City’ in fun, inventive and thought-provoking ways.

 

The theme for the festival is 'Take A Second Look'. No matter how long we have been inhabitants of a certain place, there is always something new to discover. The city of Birmingham is a vibrant, dynamic and ever-changing place and the festival aims to celebrate the quirks that make up this wonderful multi-cultural melting pot.

BAF2013 will host a range of events such as tours, lectures, exhibitions, screenings and workshops, all with the aim of celebrating the city, its architecture, its spaces and its inhabitants and hopefully encouraging all of us to take a second look.

 

The programme

Tours

Architectura Victoriana – Delivered by Laira Piccinato, Director of the Birmingham Architecture Festival and Ben Waddington, Director of the Still Walking Festival
The joint forces of Still Walking, Ikon gallery and Birmingham Architecture Festival invite you to come on a parallel guided walk of Architectura Victoriana.

Using John Henry Chamberlain’s masterworks as the lens with which to view the Victorian era, two tours will run side by side. The first, an emotional journey delving into the heart of the master’s portfolio, exploring the artistic notes his buildings left on the city. The second celebrating technical achievement, stripping down the façade of his work, metaphorically exposing the bricks and mortar and what may lie beneath. Which will you choose?

Wild Walls – Delivered by Ellen Pisolkar, Local Ecologist
Ever stopped to have a look at how many different plants and creatures actually live on the Architecture of our city? Join our local ecologist, with magnifying glass in hand, on a fascinating tour to investigate the secret lives of the wild walls of Birmingham.

Material World – Delivered by Ben Waddington, Director of Still Walking Festival
Every inch of the town and city around us has been designed, shaped and has a job to do. Material World examines the urban fabric of Birmingham to tell the story of the city, its natural resources and changing building methods, and provides a fascinating insight into the movement of valuable material around the world.

Jewellery Quarter Photoschool & Digbeth Photoschool Walks – Delivered by Matt and Pete’s Photoschool
In the words of Matt and Pete’s Photoschool: “we run a number of guided Photo Walks through the streets of Birmingham. A bucket of local history, hidden knowledge and unsubstantiated myth combine with tips and techniques to improve your photography. On a photo walk we Slow Down and Look Closer. Averaging a walking speed of 0.5mph you are encouraged to pay attention to your surroundings and dwell on parts of the city usually rushed through. These walks can be interesting even if you’re not into photography. By following our pace and guidelines you can see your city with fresh eyes, an approach which will stay with you.”

Derelict Buildings Tour – Delivered by Laira Piccinato, Director of the Birmingham Architecture Festival
The Director of the Birmingham Architecture Festival will be taking you on a tour of the Jewellery Quarter showing you around some of the most interesting derelict sites in the city. Birmingham has a large portfolio of derelict buildings within the city boundary. This tour will explore why so many buildings have become dilapidated, what their history/ use was before dereliction and ask the question: What can we do to save our buildings?

 

Workshops

Pinhole camera Workshop – Delivered by Matt and Pete’s Photoschool, Laira Piccinato, Director of the Birmingham Architecture Festival and Jenny Duffin Festival Coordinator, Photographer and Artist
The day will start with 2 short talks: the first on the Architecture of Colmore Business District and the second on the origins and principles of pinhole photography. You will then be taught how a pinhole camera works and have the exciting task of building your very own camera. Once built, you will be free to take up to 10 photographs of the Architecture of the area, which we will then aid you in developing within the dark room.

Green Infrastructure for Ecosystem Services in the built environment – Delivered by RESET Development
This workshop will explore issues facing Birmingham of surface water management, urban heat island, and the quality of air, water and biodiversity. Led by experts in urban green infrastructure design, policy and implementation, this event will explore the local potential to adapt our towns and cities to climate change by working with the grain of nature.

 

Film Screenings

Series of Shorts – Delivered by Kino 10
Join us for an evening of short films curated by Kino 10. Highlights will include ‘Up there’ a short documentary about the life of billboard artists, ‘The Madman and the Cathedral’ the story of a man following his dream to build his own cathedral and ‘Pixels’ :when a series of 8 bit icons attack and engulf new york, one ‘block’ at a time.

Chico & Rita – Delivered by Kino 10
Join us for the beautifully animated Chico & Rita and be lured into a world of love, Jazz, betrayal and gorgeously drawn buildings. You will be transported from Cuba to New York to experience the exquisite delights of architectural drawing like no other.

You’ve Been Trumped – Delivered by Kino 10
Join us for this exclusive screening of one of the best documentaries of the last decade. Set in the Menie estate near Aberdeen, the film tells the story of how Donald Trump, American Tycoon, manages to overturn Scottish planning laws in order to build a golf course in one of Europe’s most environmentally sensitive stretches of coast, described by one leading scientist as Scotland’s Amazon rain forest. Funny, inspiring and heart-breaking, the film brings to light the appalling way Trump abused the residents of the estate, destroyed an ecosystem and broke promises he never intended to keep.

 

Exhibitions

Sara Preisler
Sara Preisler will be producing a collection of contemporary jewellery inspired by the Architecture of Birmingham especially for the Birmingham Architecture Festival. Originally a sculptor, she has since built a reputation for originality of design and quality within the contemporary jewellery arena. In developing and promoting her collections of sculptural jewellery, she now stocks her work in a large variety of selected stores and galleries in the UK and the EU. During her time in business she has been selected to design and make jewellery for many prestigious clients including The Royal Shakespeare Company, The Birmingham Royal Ballet, Selfridges, London and The Van Gogh Museum in Amsterdam.

Centre for Alternative Technology, Professional Diploma Exhibition
The Centre for Alternative Technology in Wales provides the UK’s leading courses in sustainable design within the context of the built environment. They will be exhibiting 3 of the finest Professional Diploma projects showcasing some of the UK’s leading talents in this arena.

Photography Exhibitions
We are delighted to announce that all of the participants of the photography events during the course of the festival will have the opportunity to exhibit their work to be admired by the general public.

Lecture series:
In the run up to the festival weekend there will be a lecture series delivered by MADE.

 

Essentials

Maps & Guides

Maps & Guides for your visit.

Read More

Getting around

Getting around Birmingham couldn’t be easier...

Read More

What's on

Search for places, events & accommodation...

Read More

Festivals & events

Take a look at what’s on now and coming up here...

Read More

FROM TWITTER

RT @MPW_Birmingham: Welcome to MPW @VeuveClicquotUK! We're launching #VeuveClicquotRich out on our terrace this evening... https://t.co/LuN

RT @CoffinWorks: As part of the #JewelleryQuarterFestival we have a brilliant evening of folk music! Book your tickets here! https://t.co/t

RT @thegastrocard: #WinningWednesday #Birmingham 💕@TheCBSO @staying_cool @flybe ✈️ @SummerSolihull @Lemar @HogarthsHotel @harry_moseley htt…

Festivals & events

Sporting highlights

Culture

Art Galleries

Birmingham’s art collection is as wide as it is impressive. 

Read More

Stage & Screen

From touring West End shows to showcasing local talent.

Read More

Music

A huge arena tour or an intimate gig?  You’ll find it here.

Read More

Film

Multiplexes, the UK’s oldest working cinema or art house cool?

Read More

Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery

A vibrant museum in the heart of the city with over 40 galleries.

Read More

Dance

A diverse range of dance groups and venues.

Read More

See More, Feel More

Come, stay and soak up the culture in one of Europe's most vibrant cities.

Read More

Shopping

Shoppinginbirmingham.com

Plan the perfect shopping trip with full store, centre and brand directories.

Read More

Shopping centres

From the world-famous, 21st Century Bullring to the Victorian elegance of the Great Western Arcade.

Read More

Vibrant streets

Linking the centres are Birmingham’s bustling shopping streets, packed with major brands and boutique independents.

Read More

Markets

Don’t miss Birmingham’s amazing markets – whether it’s the 850-year old Bullring markets or the...

Read More

Jewellery Quarter

Home to more diamond rings, finishing touches and tokens of love than anywhere else in...

Read More

Getting Married in Birmingham

We have everything covered from the rings right up to the venue itself.

Read More