New Art West Midlands Ausstellung 2017

8. Februar - 14. Mai 2017 Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery, mac Birmingham, Worcester City Art Gallery & Museum und Wolverhampton Art Gallery

New Art West Midlands kehrt im Jahr 2017 Februar einige der spannendsten jungen Künstlern in der Region zu präsentieren. 31 Künstler wurden zur Teilnahme an den vier New Art West Midlands 2017 Ausstellungen ausgewählt.

Eröffnung am Samstag, 18. Februar 2017, die Ausstellungen sind brandneue Malerei, Installation, Skulptur, Fotografie, Video, Animation und digitale Kunstwerke und zusammen geben einen Einblick in die neuesten Trends und Anliegen in der zeitgenössischen Kunst.

Höhepunkte von New Art West Midlands 2017 umfassen Yazmin Boyle 's monumentale 3 Meter langen Metallskulpturen Orbita (2016), der industriellen Stahlband mit einer weiblichen Spitzenaufdruck und gebildet in dreidimensionale Trichter und Kreisen überlagert gemacht. Zu sehen in Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery, berühren sich die Skulpturen auf Themen der Geschlechterklischees.

Amy Inston ist ein warmherziger Film Pipe Dream webt Bilder von Hollywood - Glamour und den amerikanischen Traum mit Aufnahmen des realen häuslichen Leben ihrer Arbeiterklasse Birmingham Familie. Pipe Dream erforscht Alltagsrealität und Amerikas Versprechen durch Ideen von Nostalgie, Familienleben und Ideologien. Die beiden Welten koexistieren in einem Kampf der Hoffnung und Realität.

Viele Werke haben ein gemeinsames Interesse an der Wissenschaft und Biologie. Lindy Bretts Installation Beobachtungen verwendet Video und Ton aus dem Lovell - Radioteleskop in Jodrell Bank, während Susan Brisco 's Videoarbeiten Plant Intelligence und Neurobiologie untersuchen. Jade Hamilton 's verwendet Glas mit Pflanzen in einem Kommentar über die Luftverschmutzung gefüllt Biome, während Lisa Nash' s Skulptur von Kaninchen ein Kommentar auf menschliche Beziehungen mit Tieren sind. Milly Rowland 's Drucke zeigen eine gedachte Wasserwelt voller natürlicher Ökosysteme und mutierte Formen.

Themen der Globalisierung, Migration und Zugehörigkeit gibt es zuhauf. Thai Künstler Tuschara Kiewpukee 's Kitsch Gemälde haben eine geistige Gefühl, noch sind mit populären amerikanischen Comic - Figuren in einer Feier der Popkultur gefüllt. Kate Morgan Clare interviewt Evakuierten dem Zweiten Weltkrieg, jetzt in ihren 80ern, ihre Installation von Papier Kleider zu informieren, die mit Stoffdrucke aus der Zeit eingerichtet sind. Ihre Arbeit spiegelt sich auch auf den Erfahrungen von Familien, den gegenwärtigen Konflikt in Syrien zu fliehen.

Ein Gefühl für den Ort in Bruno Grilo 's Skulptur und in Natalie Seymour' s fotografischen Collage eines verlassenen Smethwick Fabrik, einer Welt , eingefroren in der Zeit gefunden werden. Poppy Twist 's Schals prangen mit 1960 Mädchen Gruppe Texte, Gefühle von Angst erinnert und verloren, durch das Werkzeug des Songwritings mitgeteilt. Megan Evans nutzt Make-up zu ihren Porträts von Frauen , die sich kosmetische Chirurgie malen, und Lorna Brown nutzt ihren eigenen Körper in einer Reihe von Porträts Wahrnehmungen von Black weibliche Schönheit zu untersuchen.

Jeder der ausstellenden Künstler hat absolvierte einen der sechs Kunstschulen der Region innerhalb der letzten drei Jahre: Birmingham City University, University of Wolverhampton, University of Worcester, Staffordshire University, Coventry University und Hereford College of Arts.

Über 180 Menschen angewandt Teil in New Art West Midlands 2017. Die 31 erfolgreichsten Künstler zu nehmen von einer Gruppe von drei Selektoren gewählt wurden: Jason E. Bowman, Künstler, Kurator und Dozent an der Universität Göteborg; Kuratorin und Autorin Angela Kingston und die Birmingham lebende Künstlerin Barbara Walker.

Mit vier Spielstätten, sechs Universitäten und Hochschulen und 31 Künstler, ist New Art West Midlands das größte Schaufenster seiner Art in der Region. Jetzt in seinem fünften Jahr, neue Kunst-West Midlands hat sich als wichtiges Hilfsmittel etabliert in die Karrieren von Künstlern zu entwickeln. Zurück Aussteller haben ihre Arbeit für die nationale Art Council Collection erworben gesehen und auf Einzelausstellungen in renommierten Galerien zu erreichen gegangen.

Die neue Art West Midlands 2017 Absolventen Ausstellung ist eine Initiative der Leitung von New Art West Midlands, der zeitgenössischen bildenden Kunst Netzwerk für die Region.

Früher bekannt als Point West Midlands Drehen wird die neue Art West Midlands Netzwerk eine Reihe von Programmen, führen die bildende Kunst zu unterstützen und zu fördern, Entwicklungsmöglichkeiten für Künstler und Kuratoren zu schaffen, und die visuelle Kunstsektor in den West Midlands zu stärken.

Grundlagen

Karten und Führer

Karten, Reiseführer für Ihren Besuch.

Weiterlesen

Fortbewegung

Unterwegs in Birmingham könnte nicht einfacher sein ...

Weiterlesen

Erkunden

Suche nach Orten, Veranstaltungen und Übernachtung ...

Weiterlesen

Feste & Veranstaltungen

Schauen Sie, was auf jetzt und hier kommen ...

Weiterlesen

FROM TWITTER

RT @custardfactory: Remember when Digbeth became a movie set last summer? Well, now the first trailer for @readyplayerone has dropped!htt…

RT @WireBirmingham: STAY ON THE FOOTPATH 'An American Werewolf in London' screening inside the castle @dudleyzoo Sat 5 Aug @flatpack https:…

Feste & Veranstaltungen

Sportliche Höhepunkte

Kultur

Kunstgalerien

Kunstsammlung von Birmingham ist so breit wie beeindruckend.

Weiterlesen

Film

Multiplexe, älteste noch funktionierende Kino oder Kunst Haus kühl im Vereinigten Königreich?

Weiterlesen

Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery

Eine lebendige Museum im Herzen der Stadt mit über 40 Galerien.

Weiterlesen

Tanz

Ein breites Spektrum von Tanzgruppen und Veranstaltungsorten.

Weiterlesen

Sehen Sie weitere, Fühlen Mehr

Kommen Sie, bleiben Sie und genießen Sie die Kultur in einer von Europas lebhaftesten Städte.

Weiterlesen

Einkaufen

Shoppinginbirmingham.com

Planen Sie den perfekten Shopping-Trip mit voller Geschäft, Zentrum und Markenverzeichnisse.

Weiterlesen

Einkaufszentren

Von der weltberühmten, 21. Jahrhundert Stierkampfarena in die viktorianische Eleganz der Great Western Arcade.

Weiterlesen

Lebendige Straßen

Die Verknüpfung der Zentren sind belebten Einkaufsstraßen von Birmingham, mit großen Marken und Boutique Unabhängigen...

Weiterlesen

Märkte

Verpassen Sie nicht Birminghams erstaunliche Märkte - ob die 850 Jahre alte Stierkampfarena Märkte oder...

Weiterlesen

Jewellery Quarter

Die Heimat von mehr Diamantringe, den letzten Schliff und Zeichen der Liebe als irgendwo sonst...

Weiterlesen

Erste Schritte in Birmingham Verheiratet

Wir haben alles von den Ringen bedeckt bis zum Veranstaltungsort selbst.

Weiterlesen

New Art West Midlands Exhibition

Until 14 May,  Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery, mac birmingham, Worcester City Art Gallery & Museum and Wolverhampton Art Gallery

New Art West Midlands showcases some of the most exciting emerging artists in the region.  31 artists have been selected to take part in the four New Art West Midlands 2017 exhibitions.

The exhibitions include brand new painting, installation, sculpture, photography, video, animation and digital artworks, and together give an insight into the latest trends and concerns in contemporary art.

Highlights of New Art West Midlands 2017 include Yazmin Boyle’s monumental 3-metre-long metal sculptures Orbita (2016), made of industrial steel strap overlaid with a feminine lace print and formed into three-dimensional funnels and circles. On show at Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery, the sculptures touch on themes of gender stereotyping.

Amy Inston’s warm-hearted film Pipe Dream weaves images of Hollywood glamour and the American Dream with footage of the real domestic life of her working-class Birmingham family. Pipe Dream explores everyday reality and America’s promise through ideas of nostalgia, family life and ideologies. The two worlds co-exist in a clash of hope and reality.

Many works share an interest in science and biology. Lindy Brett’s installation Observations uses video and sound from the Lovell Radio Telescope at Jodrell Bank, whilst Susan Brisco’s video works examine plant intelligence and neuro-biology. Jade Hamilton’s uses glass biomes filled with plants in a comment on air pollution, whilst Lisa Nash’s sculpture of rabbits are a comment on human relationships with animals. Milly Rowland’s prints depict an imagined marine world full of natural ecosystems and mutated forms.

Themes of globalisation, migration and belonging abound. Thai artist Tuschara Kiewpukee’s kitsch paintings have a spiritual feel, yet are filled with popular American cartoon characters in a celebration of pop culture. Kate Morgan Clare interviewed World War II evacuees, now in their 80s, to inform her installation of paper dresses, which are decorated with fabric prints from the period. Her work also reflects on the experiences of families fleeing the current conflict in Syria.

A sense of place can be found in Bruno Grilo’s sculpture and in Natalie Seymour’s photographic collage of an abandoned Smethwick factory, a world frozen in time. Poppy Twist’s scarves are emblazoned with 1960s girl group lyrics, recalling feelings of anxiety and being lost, communicated through the tool of songwriting. Megan Evans uses make-up to paint her portraits of women undergoing cosmetic surgery, and Lorna Brown uses her own body in a series of portraits examining perceptions of Black female beauty.

Each of the exhibiting artists has graduated from one of the region’s six art schools within the last three years: Birmingham City University, University of Wolverhampton, University of Worcester, Staffordshire University, Coventry University and Hereford College of Arts.

Over 180 people applied to take part in New Art West Midlands 2017. The 31 successful artists were chosen by a group of three selectors: Jason E. Bowman, artist, curator and lecturer at University of Gothenburg; curator and writer Angela Kingston and the Birmingham-based artist Barbara Walker.

With four venues, six universities and colleges and 31 artists, New Art West Midlands is the largest showcase of its type in the region. Now in its fifth year, New Art West Midlands has established itself as an important aid in developing the careers of artists. Previous exhibitors have seen their work purchased for the national Art Council Collection and have gone on to achieve solo exhibitions in respected galleries.

The New Art West Midlands 2017 graduates' exhibition is an initiative led by New Art West Midlands, the contemporary visual arts network for the region.

Formerly known as Turning Point West Midlands, the New Art West Midlands network will lead a number of programmes designed to support and promote the visual arts, creating development opportunities for artists and curators, and strengthening the visual arts sector in the West Midlands.

Festivals & events

Essentials

Maps & Guides

Maps & Guides for your visit.

Read More

Getting around

Getting around Birmingham couldn’t be easier...

Read More

What's on

Search for places, events & accommodation...

Read More

Festivals & events

Take a look at what’s on now and coming up here...

Read More

FROM TWITTER

RT @Dine_Birmingham: Colmore Food Festival is this weekend!Here's what the guys at Purnell's will be serving up...@ColmoreBID @yummy_br

RT @ClareParslow: There's the winner of the #AegonClassic 2017 - congratulations Petra Kvitova @visit_bham yet another fantastic event in #…

RT @RofutoTweets: Our #graduation menu is £25 for two courses plus a complimentary bottle of prosecco when 4 or more people dine! https://t

Sporting highlights

All sporting events

There’s always something, or someone, to cheer for here

Read More

Culture

Art Galleries

Birmingham’s art collection is as wide as it is impressive. 

Read More

Stage & Screen

From touring West End shows to showcasing local talent.

Read More

Music

A huge arena tour or an intimate gig?  You’ll find it here.

Read More

Film

Multiplexes, the UK’s oldest working cinema or art house cool?

Read More

Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery

A vibrant museum in the heart of the city with over 40 galleries.

Read More

Dance

A diverse range of dance groups and venues.

Read More

See More, Feel More

Come, stay and soak up the culture in one of Europe's most vibrant cities.

Read More

Shopping

Shoppinginbirmingham.com

Plan the perfect shopping trip with full store, centre and brand directories.

Read More

Shopping centres

From the world-famous, 21st Century Bullring to the Victorian elegance of the Great Western Arcade.

Read More

Vibrant streets

Linking the centres are Birmingham’s bustling shopping streets, packed with major brands and boutique independents.

Read More

Markets

Don’t miss Birmingham’s amazing markets – whether it’s the 850-year old Bullring markets or the...

Read More

Jewellery Quarter

Home to more diamond rings, finishing touches and tokens of love than anywhere else in...

Read More

Getting Married in Birmingham

We have everything covered from the rings right up to the venue itself.

Read More

Featured Itineraries