Exposition New Art West Midlands 2017

8 Février-14 mai 2017, Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery, mac birmingham, Worcester City Art Gallery & Museum et Wolverhampton Art Gallery

New Art West Midlands retourne en Février 2017 pour mettre en valeur certains des artistes émergents les plus passionnantes dans la région. 31 artistes ont été sélectionnés pour prendre part aux quatre New Art West Midlands 2017 expositions.

Ouverture le samedi 18 Février 2017, les expositions comprennent la marque de peinture nouvelle, installation, sculpture, photographie, vidéo, animation et œuvres numériques, et, ensemble, donnent un aperçu des dernières tendances et les préoccupations de l'art contemporain.

Faits saillants de New Art West Midlands 2017 comprennent des sculptures monumentales de 3 mètres de long métal de Yazmin Boyle Orbita (2016), en bracelet en acier industriel recouvert d'un imprimé dentelle féminin et formé dans des entonnoirs et des cercles en trois dimensions. Le spectacle à Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery, les sculptures portent sur des thèmes des stéréotypes de genre.

Un film chaleureux Amy Inston Pipe Dream tisse des images de glamour hollywoodien et le rêve américain avec des images de la vie intérieure réelle de sa classe ouvrière famille Birmingham. Pipe Dream explore la réalité quotidienne et la promesse de l'Amérique à travers des idées de la nostalgie, la vie de famille et des idéologies. Les deux mondes coexistent dans un choc de l'espoir et la réalité.

Beaucoup d'œuvres partagent un intérêt pour la science et la biologie. Installation Observations du Lindy Brett utilise la vidéo et le son du radiotélescope Lovell à Jodrell Bank, tandis que les œuvres vidéo de Susan Brisco examinent l' intelligence des plantes et neuro-biologie. Jade Hamilton 's utilise biomes en verre remplis de plantes dans un commentaire sur la pollution de l' air, tandis que Lisa Nash' s sculpture de lapins sont un commentaire sur les relations humaines avec les animaux. Gravures de Milly Rowland dépeignent un monde marin imaginé plein d'écosystèmes naturels et des formes mutées.

Thèmes de la mondialisation, de la migration et d'appartenance abondent. Peintures kitsch de l 'artiste thaïlandais Tuschara Kiewpukee ont un sens spirituel, mais sont remplis de personnages populaires de dessins animés américains dans une célébration de la culture pop. Kate Morgan Clare a interviewé les évacués de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, maintenant dans leurs années 80, pour informer son installation de robes de papier, qui sont décorées avec des impressions de tissu de la période. Son travail reflète également sur les expériences des familles fuyant le conflit actuel en Syrie.

Un sentiment d'appartenance peut être trouvée dans «sculpture s et Natalie Seymour 'Bruno Grilo collage photographique s d'une usine Smethwick abandonnée, un monde figé dans le temps. Foulards s 'Twist Poppy sont blasonnés avec des paroles du groupe des années 1960 de fille, rappelant sentiments d'anxiété et d' être perdus, communiquées par le biais de l'outil d'écriture. Megan Evans utilise make-up à peindre ses portraits de femmes subissant une chirurgie esthétique, et Lorna Brown utilise son propre corps dans une série de portraits examinant les perceptions de la beauté féminine noire.

Chacun des artistes exposant a gradué de l'une des six écoles d'art de la région au cours des trois dernières années: Birmingham City University, Université de Wolverhampton, Université de Worcester, Staffordshire University, Coventry University et Hereford College of Arts.

Plus de 180 personnes ont demandé de prendre part à New Art West Midlands 2017. Les 31 artistes à succès ont été choisis par un groupe de trois sélecteurs: Jason E. Bowman, artiste, conservateur et professeur à l'Université de Göteborg; conservateur et écrivain Angela Kingston et l'artiste basé à Birmingham Barbara Walker.

Avec quatre sites, six universités et collèges et 31 artistes, New Art West Midlands est la plus grande vitrine de son genre dans la région. Maintenant dans sa cinquième année, New Art West Midlands a imposé comme une aide importante dans le développement de la carrière des artistes. exposants précédents ont vu leur travail acheté pour la Collection nationale Art Council et ont continué à réaliser des expositions personnelles dans des galeries respectées.

L'exposition New Art West Midlands 2017 diplômés »est une initiative menée par New Art West Midlands, le réseau des arts visuels contemporains pour la région.

Anciennement connu sous le nom de Turning Point West Midlands, le réseau New Art West Midlands entraînera un certain nombre de programmes visant à soutenir et à promouvoir les arts visuels, la création d'opportunités de développement pour les artistes et les conservateurs, et le renforcement du secteur des arts visuels dans les West Midlands.

Essentiel

Cartes & Guides

Cartes & Guides pour votre visite.

En Savoir Plus

Se déplacer

Se déplacer Birmingham ne pouvait pas être plus facile ...

En Savoir Plus

Explorer

Rechercher des lieux, des événements et l'hébergement ...

En Savoir Plus

Festivals et événements

Jetez un oeil à ce qui est maintenant et à venir ici ...

En Savoir Plus

FROM TWITTER

RT @custardfactory: Remember when Digbeth became a movie set last summer? Well, now the first trailer for @readyplayerone has dropped!htt…

RT @WireBirmingham: STAY ON THE FOOTPATH 'An American Werewolf in London' screening inside the castle @dudleyzoo Sat 5 Aug @flatpack https:…

Festivals et événements

Articles faits saillants

Culture

Galeries d'art

La collection d'art de Birmingham est aussi large que ce est impressionnant.

En Savoir Plus

Film

Multiplexes, plus vieux cinéma de travail ou maison fraîche d'art du Royaume-Uni?

En Savoir Plus

Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery

Un musée dynamique au coeur de la ville avec plus de 40 galeries.

En Savoir Plus

Danse

Un large éventail de groupes de danse et des lieux.

En Savoir Plus

Voir Plus, se sentent plus

Venez, le séjour et se imprégner de la culture dans l'une des villes les plus dynamiques d'Europe.

En Savoir Plus

Shopping

Shoppinginbirmingham.com

Planifier le voyage de shopping parfait avec plein magasin, centre et répertoires de la marque.

En Savoir Plus

Centres commerciaux

De la célèbre, Arènes 21e siècle à l'élégance victorienne de la Grande Arcade occidentale.

En Savoir Plus

Rues animées

Reliant les centres des rues commerçantes animées de Birmingham, emballés avec de grandes marques et...

En Savoir Plus

Marchés

Ne manquez pas les marchés étonnantes de Birmingham - qu'il se agisse des marchés de...

En Savoir Plus

Jewellery Quarter

Accueil à plus de bagues de diamant, la finition des touches et des témoignages d'amour...

En Savoir Plus

Se marier à Birmingham

Nous avons tout couvert des anneaux jusqu'à la salle elle-même.

En Savoir Plus

New Art West Midlands Exhibition

Until 14 May,  Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery, mac birmingham, Worcester City Art Gallery & Museum and Wolverhampton Art Gallery

New Art West Midlands showcases some of the most exciting emerging artists in the region.  31 artists have been selected to take part in the four New Art West Midlands 2017 exhibitions.

The exhibitions include brand new painting, installation, sculpture, photography, video, animation and digital artworks, and together give an insight into the latest trends and concerns in contemporary art.

Highlights of New Art West Midlands 2017 include Yazmin Boyle’s monumental 3-metre-long metal sculptures Orbita (2016), made of industrial steel strap overlaid with a feminine lace print and formed into three-dimensional funnels and circles. On show at Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery, the sculptures touch on themes of gender stereotyping.

Amy Inston’s warm-hearted film Pipe Dream weaves images of Hollywood glamour and the American Dream with footage of the real domestic life of her working-class Birmingham family. Pipe Dream explores everyday reality and America’s promise through ideas of nostalgia, family life and ideologies. The two worlds co-exist in a clash of hope and reality.

Many works share an interest in science and biology. Lindy Brett’s installation Observations uses video and sound from the Lovell Radio Telescope at Jodrell Bank, whilst Susan Brisco’s video works examine plant intelligence and neuro-biology. Jade Hamilton’s uses glass biomes filled with plants in a comment on air pollution, whilst Lisa Nash’s sculpture of rabbits are a comment on human relationships with animals. Milly Rowland’s prints depict an imagined marine world full of natural ecosystems and mutated forms.

Themes of globalisation, migration and belonging abound. Thai artist Tuschara Kiewpukee’s kitsch paintings have a spiritual feel, yet are filled with popular American cartoon characters in a celebration of pop culture. Kate Morgan Clare interviewed World War II evacuees, now in their 80s, to inform her installation of paper dresses, which are decorated with fabric prints from the period. Her work also reflects on the experiences of families fleeing the current conflict in Syria.

A sense of place can be found in Bruno Grilo’s sculpture and in Natalie Seymour’s photographic collage of an abandoned Smethwick factory, a world frozen in time. Poppy Twist’s scarves are emblazoned with 1960s girl group lyrics, recalling feelings of anxiety and being lost, communicated through the tool of songwriting. Megan Evans uses make-up to paint her portraits of women undergoing cosmetic surgery, and Lorna Brown uses her own body in a series of portraits examining perceptions of Black female beauty.

Each of the exhibiting artists has graduated from one of the region’s six art schools within the last three years: Birmingham City University, University of Wolverhampton, University of Worcester, Staffordshire University, Coventry University and Hereford College of Arts.

Over 180 people applied to take part in New Art West Midlands 2017. The 31 successful artists were chosen by a group of three selectors: Jason E. Bowman, artist, curator and lecturer at University of Gothenburg; curator and writer Angela Kingston and the Birmingham-based artist Barbara Walker.

With four venues, six universities and colleges and 31 artists, New Art West Midlands is the largest showcase of its type in the region. Now in its fifth year, New Art West Midlands has established itself as an important aid in developing the careers of artists. Previous exhibitors have seen their work purchased for the national Art Council Collection and have gone on to achieve solo exhibitions in respected galleries.

The New Art West Midlands 2017 graduates' exhibition is an initiative led by New Art West Midlands, the contemporary visual arts network for the region.

Formerly known as Turning Point West Midlands, the New Art West Midlands network will lead a number of programmes designed to support and promote the visual arts, creating development opportunities for artists and curators, and strengthening the visual arts sector in the West Midlands.

Festivals & events

Essentials

Maps & Guides

Maps & Guides for your visit.

Read More

Getting around

Getting around Birmingham couldn’t be easier...

Read More

What's on

Search for places, events & accommodation...

Read More

Festivals & events

Take a look at what’s on now and coming up here...

Read More

FROM TWITTER

RT @Dine_Birmingham: Colmore Food Festival is this weekend!Here's what the guys at Purnell's will be serving up...@ColmoreBID @yummy_br

RT @ClareParslow: There's the winner of the #AegonClassic 2017 - congratulations Petra Kvitova @visit_bham yet another fantastic event in #…

RT @RofutoTweets: Our #graduation menu is £25 for two courses plus a complimentary bottle of prosecco when 4 or more people dine! https://t

Sporting highlights

All sporting events

There’s always something, or someone, to cheer for here

Read More

Culture

Art Galleries

Birmingham’s art collection is as wide as it is impressive. 

Read More

Stage & Screen

From touring West End shows to showcasing local talent.

Read More

Music

A huge arena tour or an intimate gig?  You’ll find it here.

Read More

Film

Multiplexes, the UK’s oldest working cinema or art house cool?

Read More

Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery

A vibrant museum in the heart of the city with over 40 galleries.

Read More

Dance

A diverse range of dance groups and venues.

Read More

See More, Feel More

Come, stay and soak up the culture in one of Europe's most vibrant cities.

Read More

Shopping

Shoppinginbirmingham.com

Plan the perfect shopping trip with full store, centre and brand directories.

Read More

Shopping centres

From the world-famous, 21st Century Bullring to the Victorian elegance of the Great Western Arcade.

Read More

Vibrant streets

Linking the centres are Birmingham’s bustling shopping streets, packed with major brands and boutique independents.

Read More

Markets

Don’t miss Birmingham’s amazing markets – whether it’s the 850-year old Bullring markets or the...

Read More

Jewellery Quarter

Home to more diamond rings, finishing touches and tokens of love than anywhere else in...

Read More

Getting Married in Birmingham

We have everything covered from the rings right up to the venue itself.

Read More

Featured Itineraries