第一次世界大戰紀念

今年是第一次世界大戰100週年。在這裡,在伯明翰有許多事件正在發生,以確保伯明翰榮譽和記住那些戰鬥在第一次世界大戰死亡。

Blakesley大廳和第一次世界大戰-一個家庭的故事(展覽),4月12日至11月2日, Blakesley大廳

在Blakesley大廳,一個新的展覽“湯姆,弗蘭克和五月”打開4月12日2014年展會上推出了遊客風流托馬斯和他的妻子伊麗莎白誰住在Blakesley廳從1901年- 1932年。像許多家庭的時候,夫妻倆的孩子(湯姆,弗蘭克和五月)都在第一次世界大戰的鬥爭中發揮了作用,但在非常不同的方式。湯姆加入了軍隊服務團(負責許多軍隊後勤),弗蘭克是藝術家步槍的一部分,在法國一家軍醫院工作月。通過視頻,照片,獎章和來自家庭的檔案信件,遊客Blakesley大廳可以發現在一個家庭戰爭的真實效果。

學校車間都可用。

圖片來源:弗蘭克,湯姆和伊麗莎白風流,前門廊,Blakesley大廳©風流家族

戰地記者伯明翰眾議員 ,4月26日至27日

從作曲家海倫·查德威克和編舞家史蒂芬Hoggett(瘋狂大會,黑​​色手錶)的第二首戲劇表演的萬眾矚目的全球首發,標誌著第一次世界大戰一百週年。雖然報告戰爭爆發以來,一名記者保持在槍口下,夾在沒有人的土地兩個國家之間。證詞,音樂和肉體融合成一個強大的,多學科的歌曲循環性能其中描繪了非凡的故事和戰爭的記者改變生活的經歷 - 男人和女人誰冒著生命危險在極端情況下。

私人和平邁克爾Morpurgo, 伯明翰眾議員 ,5月19日至24日

私人和平浮雕私人Tommo和平,一個年輕的第一次世界大戰士兵等待行刑隊在黎明的生活。在晚上,他回顧了自己短暫而快樂的過去成長起來的德文農村:他精彩的最初幾天在學校;事故發生在殺害了他的父親林;他的冒險與莫莉,他對生活的熱愛;而戰鬥和戰爭不公正的給他帶來了前線。

 

“一個適應性貿易”:珠寶區和第一次世界大戰(展覽) 館珠寶區的 ,2014年6月14日至2015年6月

從2014年6月14日的珠寶區博物館將展出“一個適應性強貿易:珠寶區的戰爭”。 1914年,珠寶區高峰期和本次展會將探討第一次世界大戰對貿易的影響,以及它適應了不同的方式。注重通過文物,海報,照片和個人物品的顯示本地珠寶企業和故事,“一個適應性強貿易”講述招募士兵從珠寶區歷史上,婦女在行業角色的轉變和挑戰和機遇戰爭帶來的貿易。此外,在2014年9月,將有一系列的特殊長廊話劇表演,在史密斯和辣椒廠的歷史氛圍,讓遊客有機會以滿足戰爭的英雄,並獲得一個獨特的洞察珠寶區的過程中不斷變化的貿易這場戰爭。

斯通修道院第一次世界大戰展,推出的7月27日

發現部分斯通修道院在第一次世界大戰和家庭在當時生活在那裡播放。跨越戰爭(4年)的長度的展覽展示如何在房屋及其家人的生活展現在這個動盪的時期。享受專業講座由作家對戰爭,看到藝術和詩歌從當地學校誰已經攪拌的戰爭,它影響。您也可以將自己的時光倒流通過探索小地道10噸營地。

準備戰爭,   布萊克地區生活博物館 ,週二7月22日-太陽8月31日

整個學校暑假布萊克地區生活博物館將邀請孩子們參與的演習,使1914年的烹飪示範,並提供其他狡猾的活動,讓年輕人和老年人都參加歐戰的紀念活動。

文娛活動

市中心遊行,8月3日

通過市中心廣場巡遊,紀念涉及軍事團體和當地企業的爆發。

兩分鐘的沉默,2014年8月4日,市中心

兩分鐘的沉默將會發生的事情,以紀念那些在第一次世界大戰死亡。

最低紀念碑,張伯倫廣場,2014年8月2日

巴西藝術家NELE阿澤維多,營造出獨特的公共藝術展覽有超過1000的數字做出來的冰。市民被邀請將雕塑的張伯倫廣場的台階上,在兩到三個小時的數字冰開始融 ​​化。 NELE的工作特意慶祝普通人,這一塊將是大約不僅表彰那些誰打的戰爭,但那些誰犧牲自己的親人或受到影響的家庭。

 

士兵的故事:伯明翰皇家沃里克郡團1914-1918(展)   伯明翰博物館和藝術畫廊 ,8月2日

展覽題為“士兵的故事:伯明翰皇家軍團”將在英國伯明翰博物館和藝術畫廊2月開2014年的展覽匯集了個人物品,獎牌和信件屬於男人誰打整個歐洲和更遠的皇家沃里克郡現場團。此外,在整個2014年,伯明翰博物館和藝術畫廊將舉辦一系列的畫廊之旅伯明翰歷史畫廊,側重於伯明翰的家門前,在特定行業中的作用,效果戰爭對家庭,伯明翰在其傳統的城市。

圖片來源伯明翰帕爾斯大隊招聘徽章,1914©伯明翰博物館信託

布萊克地區生活博物館

燭光紀念 ,8月4日

今天晚上反射服務將圍繞博物館的教堂和戰爭紀念館(更廣泛的博物館網站不會公開)居中。門票將是免費的,但只有提前預訂車票。

 

1914年夏天,週六8月30日

加入我們的街頭戲劇,講故事和音樂設在歷史悠久的村莊的一天。我們將喚起1914年夏天的氛圍,探索如何在戰爭開始影響到普通百姓的黑色國家。會有手放在孩子的活動。

托爾金和大戰爭 (展覽),沙熱後坊,2014年9月至2014年10月

托爾金徵於1915年和戰鬥在法國,它被認為這段經歷深深地影響了作家。少尉在蘭開夏郡近衛他訓練的坎諾克蔡斯之前,1916年6月去法國4,並在去年10月份1916年,他被送回家與戰壕熱在1916年11月的索姆河。

 

 

 

 

 

要點

地圖與指南

地圖和指南為您的光臨。

閱讀更多

四處逛逛

四處逛逛伯明翰再簡單不過了......

閱讀更多

探索

搜索地點,活動和住宿...

閱讀更多

節日及活動

一起來看看什麼在此時此地來了...

閱讀更多

體育亮點

文化

藝術畫廊

伯明翰的藝術收藏品是一樣寬,它是令人印象深刻。

閱讀更多

影片

复,英國最古老的電影院工作或美術家很酷?

閱讀更多

伯明翰博物館和藝術畫廊

一個充滿活力的博物館在城市的心臟有超過40個展廳。

閱讀更多

舞蹈

一個多元化的舞蹈團體和場所。

閱讀更多

看多了,覺得比較

得來,留得住,沉浸在文化在歐洲最具活力的城市之一。

閱讀更多

購物

Shoppinginbirmingham.com

計劃全店,中心和品牌目錄完美的購物之旅。

閱讀更多

購物中心

來自世界著名的,21世紀的鬥牛場的西部大商場的維多利亞式的優雅。

閱讀更多

充滿活力的街道

鏈接中心是伯明翰繁華的購物街,擠滿了各大品牌和精品獨立。

閱讀更多

市場

千萬不要錯過伯明翰的驚人的市場 - 無論是850歲的鬥牛市場或正規農貿市場。

閱讀更多

珠寶區

首頁更多的鑽戒,收尾和定情比其他地方的國家。

閱讀更多

在伯明翰結婚

我們擁有一切,從覆蓋環說得最多的場館本身。

閱讀更多

First World War Commemorations

This year marks the 100th anniversary of the First World War. Here in Birmingham there are many events taking place to ensure that Birmingham honours and remembers those that fought and died in the Great War. 

Blakesley Hall and the First World War – A Family’s Tale (exhibition), 12 April until 2 November, Blakesley Hall

At Blakesley Hall, a new exhibition ‘Tom, Frank and May’ opens 12 April 2014. This exhibition introduces visitors to Thomas Merry and his wife Elizabeth who lived in Blakesley Hall from 1901 - 1932. Like many families at the time, the couple’s children (Tom, Frank and May) all played a part in the struggle of the First World War, but in very different ways. Tom joined up with the Army Service Corps (responsible for many of the logistics of the army), Frank was part of the Artists Rifles, and May worked in a military hospital in France. Through video, photographs, medals and letters from the family’s archive, visitors to Blakesley Hall can discover the true effect of the war on one family. 

Workshop for schools are available.

Photo credits: Frank, Tom and Elizabeth Merry, Front Porch, Blakesley Hall © The Merry Family

 

War Correspondents  Birmingham Rep, 26-27 April

The much-anticipated world premiere of the second song theatre performance from composer Helen Chadwick and choreographer Steven Hoggett (Frantic Assembly, Black Watch) marks the centenary of the First World War. Whilst reporting the outbreak of war, a journalist is held at gunpoint, caught in the no-man’s land between two nations. Testimonies, music and physicality fuse into a powerful, multi-disciplined song cycle performance which depicts the extraordinary stories and life changing experiences of war journalists – men and women who risk their lives in extreme circumstances.

 

Private Peaceful by Michael Morpurgo, Birmingham Rep, 19-24 May

Private Peaceful relives the life of Private Tommo Peaceful, a young First World War soldier awaiting the firing squad at dawn. During the night he looks back at his short but joyful past growing up in rural Devon: his exciting first days at school; the accident in the forest that killed his father; his adventures with Molly, the love of his life; and the battles and injustices of war that brought him to the front line.

 

'An Adaptable Trade’: The Jewellery Quarter and the First World War (exhibition) Museum of the Jewellery Quarter, 14 June 2014 until June 2015

From 14 June 2014, the Museum of the Jewellery Quarter will be displaying ‘An Adaptable Trade: The Jewellery Quarter at War’. In 1914, the Jewellery Quarter was at its peak and this exhibition will explore the effects of the First World War on the trade and the different ways in which it adapted. Focusing on the stories of local jewellery firms and through the display of artefacts, posters, photographs and personal items, ‘An Adaptable Trade’ tells the history of recruitment of soldiers from the Jewellery Quarter, the changing role of women in the industry and the challenges and opportunities the war brought to the trade. In addition, in September 2014, there will be a series of special promenade drama performances in the historic setting of the Smith & Pepper factory, giving visitors a chance to meet war heroes and gain a unique insight into the changing trade of the Jewellery Quarter during the war.

 

Stoneleigh Abbey First World War Exhibition, launch 27 July

Discover the part that Stoneleigh Abbey played in the First World War and the family living there at the time. The exhibition that spans the length of the war (4 year) show you how the house and its family’s lives unfolded in this turbulent time. Enjoy specialist talks by authors on the war and see art and poetry from local schools who have been stirred by the war and it effect. You can also transform yourself back in time by exploring a small authentic tent encampment.

 

Preparing for War, Black Country Living MuseumTue 22 Jul – Sun 31 Aug

Throughout the school summer holidays Black Country Living Museum will be inviting kids to get involved in drills, giving demonstrations of 1914 cookery and offering other crafty events that will allow young and old alike to join in the commemorations of WWI.

 

Civic Events

City Centre Parade, 3 August

A parade through city centre squares to commemorate the outbreak involving military groups and local businesses. 

Two Minutes Silence, 4 August 2014, City Centre

Two minutes of silence will be happening to commemorate all those that died in the Great War.

 Minimum Monument, Chamberlain Square, 2 August 2014

Brazilian artist Nele Azevedo, creates an unusual public art exhibit with more than 1,000 figures made out of ice. The public are invited to place the sculptures on the steps of Chamberlain Square and over two to three hours the ice figures begin to melt. Nele’s work deliberately celebrates the common man, this piece will be about honouring not only those who fought in the war but the families of those whose who sacrificed their loved ones or were affected. 

 

Soldiers' Stories: Birmingham and the Royal Warwickshire Regiment 1914-1918 (Exhibition) Birmingham Museum and Art Gallery2 August

An exhibition entitled ‘Soldier's Stories: Birmingham and the Royal Regiment’ will open at Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery 2 August 2014. The exhibition brings together personal items, medals and correspondence belonging to men who fought throughout Europe and further a field in the Royal Warwickshire Regiment. In addition, throughout 2014, Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery will be holding a series of gallery tours in the Birmingham History Galleries, focussing on Birmingham and the home front, in particular the role of industry, the effect the war had on families in Birmingham, an its legacy on the city.

Photo credits Birmingham Pals Battalion recruitment badge, 1914 © Birmingham Museums Trust 

 

Black Country Living Museum 

Candlelit Commemoration4 August

This evening service of reflection will be centred around the Museum’s Chapel and the War Memorial (the wider museum site will not be open). Admission will be free of charge but by pre-booked ticket only.

 

Summer 1914, Sat 30 August

Join us for a day of street theatre, storytelling and music based in the historic village. We will be evoking the atmosphere of the summer of 1914 and exploring how the start of the war affected ordinary people in the Black Country. There will be hands on activities for kids.

 

Tolkien and the Great War (exhibition), Sarehole Mill, September 2014 until October 2014

Tolkien enlisted in 1915 and fought in France and it is believed that this experience deeply affected the writer.   Second Lieutenant in the Lancashire fusiliers he trained on Cannock Chase before going to France on 4 June 1916, and was at the Somme in October 1916. He was sent home with Trench Fever in November 1916.

 

 

 

 

 

Essentials

Maps & Guides

Maps & Guides for your visit.

Read More

Getting around

Getting around Birmingham couldn’t be easier...

Read More

What's on

Search for places, events & accommodation...

Read More

Festivals & events

Take a look at what’s on now and coming up here...

Read More

FROM TWITTER

RT @MPW_Birmingham: Welcome to MPW @VeuveClicquotUK! We're launching #VeuveClicquotRich out on our terrace this evening... https://t.co/LuN

RT @CoffinWorks: As part of the #JewelleryQuarterFestival we have a brilliant evening of folk music! Book your tickets here! https://t.co/t

Festivals & events

Sporting highlights

Culture

Art Galleries

Birmingham’s art collection is as wide as it is impressive. 

Read More

Stage & Screen

From touring West End shows to showcasing local talent.

Read More

Music

A huge arena tour or an intimate gig?  You’ll find it here.

Read More

Film

Multiplexes, the UK’s oldest working cinema or art house cool?

Read More

Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery

A vibrant museum in the heart of the city with over 40 galleries.

Read More

Dance

A diverse range of dance groups and venues.

Read More

See More, Feel More

Come, stay and soak up the culture in one of Europe's most vibrant cities.

Read More

Shopping

Shoppinginbirmingham.com

Plan the perfect shopping trip with full store, centre and brand directories.

Read More

Shopping centres

From the world-famous, 21st Century Bullring to the Victorian elegance of the Great Western Arcade.

Read More

Vibrant streets

Linking the centres are Birmingham’s bustling shopping streets, packed with major brands and boutique independents.

Read More

Markets

Don’t miss Birmingham’s amazing markets – whether it’s the 850-year old Bullring markets or the...

Read More

Jewellery Quarter

Home to more diamond rings, finishing touches and tokens of love than anywhere else in...

Read More

Getting Married in Birmingham

We have everything covered from the rings right up to the venue itself.

Read More