Le Black Country

Venez et soyez surpris par la beauté, l'héritage et les talents cachés de Black Country.

 

Y compris des villes comme Wolverhampton, Dudley, Smethwick et Walsall ainsi que la campagne environnante et les villages, Le Pays Noir aurait valu son appellation de son histoire comme le foyer d'origine de l'industrie lourde et de la fabrication britannique, mais ce est une belle surprise souffle de l'air frais à visiter.

 

Choses à faire

Il ya une multitude de choses à faire dans le Pays Noir, si vous cherchez une journée au cours de votre visite à Birmingham.

Il ya un certain nombre de magnifiques bâtiments historiques à explorer dans le Pays Noir.

Des endroits comme Dudley Gallery Arts qui comprend des œuvres de JMW Turner, jusqu'aux maisons historiques avec des intérieurs de William Morris à des lieux de l'industrie créative emballés avec le meilleur cristal et la verrerie du monde. Pourquoi ne pas commander une pièce vous-même?

Le New Art Gallery Walsall Le New Art Gallery Walsall est un bâtiment emblématique de plusieurs millions de livres passionnant et l'architecture exceptionnelle. Il est le foyer de la prestigieuse collection Garman Ryan ainsi que des œuvres d'artistes aussi divers que William Blake, Van Gogh et Picasso. Avec la plus grande collection de Pop Art contemporain en dehors de Londres, Wolverhampton Art Gallery est un must à visiter.

Il ya une abondance de la nature et de la campagne dans tout le Pays Noir. Malgré son patrimoine industriel abondante Black Country est étonnamment un havre de paix pour les marcheurs et beaucoup de la campagne peut être vu à partir des canaux.

Voir un itinéraire pendant deux jours dans le Pays Noir.

Aucune visite de la Black Country ne serait complet sans une visite à la Black Country Living Museum , à Dudley, où des manifestants costumés et artisans travaillant apporter apogée industrielle de la Grande-Bretagne à la vie avec leurs connaissances locales, des compétences pratiques et unique humour noir du pays.

Ce est une occasion rare à l'étape de retour dans le temps. Les bâtiments historiques de partout dans le Pays Noir ont été déplacés et authentiquement reconstruit au Musée, pour créer un hommage aux compétences et à l'entreprise des gens qui vivaient autrefois au coeur de la Grande-Bretagne industrielle traditionnels. Lire un blog au sujet de notre visite ici .

Flamants roses au zoo de Dudley Dudley est aussi fantastiques les Dudley Zoological Gardens et Château , qui accueille les visiteurs depuis 1937 et est le foyer de certains des animaux les plus rares et les plus exotiques du monde. Le château a été mentionné dans le Domesday Book en 1086.

Ne manquez pas la confiance Canal , également à Dudley.

Les Black Country et Birmingham canaux ont une place unique dans l'histoire de la révolution industrielle. Le premier moteur à vapeur de Newcomen succès a été utilisé pour pomper l'eau des mines de charbon près de Dudley Castle en 1712 et John Wilkinson, un autre pionnier de fer, a présenté le coke à son Bradley four à Bilston dans environ 1758. Toutefois, il a été l'émergence du système de canal, qui a fait l'industrialisation développer extrêmement rapidement dans le Pays Noir.

Dudley Canal fiducie Au Canal confiance que vous pourrez découvrir plus de 420 millions d'années d'histoire en 45 minutes sur un voyage de canal dans les cavernes calcaires de Dudley. Admirez les impressionnantes cavernes calcaires sculptés par les hommes pour accéder à la matière première pour alimenter la révolution industrielle.

Vous pouvez réellement à bicyclette ou à pied de Birmingham au Pays noir le long des canaux, à partir de Gas Street dans le centre de la ville et à Dudley et Wolverhampton si Galton Valley.

Si le sport est votre truc, visitez Wolverhampton Racecourse - première piste de courses de chevaux éclairé de la Grande-Bretagne en vous apportant les sensations de course, jour et nuit ou vérifier si Wolverhampton Wanderers , l'une des équipes de football les plus connus de la région joue à la maison.

Fantaisie donner à votre maison une cure de jouvence? Puis visite des régions fantastique IKEA, Birmingham avec près de cinquante ensembles de chambre, trois maisons en taille et plus de 9500 produits. Avec leurs boulettes célèbres dans leur restaurant et les activités pour les enfants pendant les vacances il peut vraiment offrir quelque chose pour tout le monde.

Pour plus d'idées d'endroits à visiter, consultez le noir Pays site touristique.

 

 

Manger et prendre un verre

The Black Country est célèbre pour la vraie bière et une excellente cuisine disponible dans une collection variée de restaurants, plats à emporter, et des pubs qui ne répondent vraiment pour tout le monde.

Dans les villes, vous trouverez beaucoup de noms familiers ainsi que d'un grand nombre de restaurants indépendants comme Di Napoli à Oldbury, un coté italien ou l' Crooked House à Dudley, décrit par un critique comme «chic, avec un noir Pays tordre! "

Et ce ne est pas seulement à Birmingham que vous trouverez une excellente cuisine asiatique. Shalimar Indian Cuisine à West Bromwich et Bar & Indian Restaurant de Suki Darlaston, Wallsall, les deux se tiennent convoités noir Pays Prix du tourisme pour leur nourriture et le service.

Créé en l'an 1797, situé dans Stourbridge, Nickolls & Perks est le plus anciens vins et spiritueux marchand au Royaume-Uni en dehors de Londres. Bordeaux, Champagne, Port & Whisky Vintage sont leurs principaux domaines de spécialisation, ils ont récemment été nommés par Which Wine Guide que "Le spécialiste de Bordeaux Wine Merchant du Royaume-Uni". Ils organisent régulièrement des événements de dégustation pour les clients particuliers et aux entreprises dans leurs caves du 16ème siècle et d'autres lieux dans les Midlands.

Essentiel

Cartes & Guides

Cartes & Guides pour votre visite.

En Savoir Plus

Se déplacer

Se déplacer Birmingham ne pouvait pas être plus facile ...

En Savoir Plus

Explorer

Rechercher des lieux, des événements et l'hébergement ...

En Savoir Plus

Festivals et événements

Jetez un oeil à ce qui est maintenant et à venir ici ...

En Savoir Plus

FROM TWITTER

RT @WanderlustChloe: SOOOO excited for my festive trip to @visit_bham this weekend as part of my @VisitEngland ambassadorship! 🎉🇬🇧 It's goi…

RT @Selly_Manor: We can't wait until Saturday - it's the Selly Manor Christmas Craft Fair 2017, 11am - 4pm, and it's FREE ENTRY! Join us fo…

RT @BhamCityCouncil: Great festive performances this #ChristmasinBham with pantos, plays and ballets. Details and booking https://t.co/m4m0

RT @SinghLions: Looking forward to London's magical Christmas lights ❤️My family and I will be in London & Birmingham during Christmas🎄T…

Festivals et événements

Articles faits saillants

Culture

Galeries d'art

La collection d'art de Birmingham est aussi large que ce est impressionnant.

En Savoir Plus

Film

Multiplexes, plus vieux cinéma de travail ou maison fraîche d'art du Royaume-Uni?

En Savoir Plus

Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery

Un musée dynamique au coeur de la ville avec plus de 40 galeries.

En Savoir Plus

Danse

Un large éventail de groupes de danse et des lieux.

En Savoir Plus

Voir Plus, se sentent plus

Venez, le séjour et se imprégner de la culture dans l'une des villes les plus dynamiques d'Europe.

En Savoir Plus

Shopping

Shoppinginbirmingham.com

Planifier le voyage de shopping parfait avec plein magasin, centre et répertoires de la marque.

En Savoir Plus

Centres commerciaux

De la célèbre, Arènes 21e siècle à l'élégance victorienne de la Grande Arcade occidentale.

En Savoir Plus

Rues animées

Reliant les centres des rues commerçantes animées de Birmingham, emballés avec de grandes marques et...

En Savoir Plus

Marchés

Ne manquez pas les marchés étonnantes de Birmingham - qu'il se agisse des marchés de...

En Savoir Plus

Jewellery Quarter

Accueil à plus de bagues de diamant, la finition des touches et des témoignages d'amour...

En Savoir Plus

Se marier à Birmingham

Nous avons tout couvert des anneaux jusqu'à la salle elle-même.

En Savoir Plus

The Black Country

Come and be surprised by the beauty, heritage and talent hidden within the Black Country.

 

Including towns such as Wolverhampton, Dudley, Smethwick and Walsall as well as the surrounding countryside and villages, The Black Country might have earned its name from its history as the original home of British heavy industry and manufacturing, but it is a surprisingly beautiful breath of fresh air to visit.

 

Things to do

There is a multitude of things to do in the Black Country, if you are looking for a day out during your visit to Birmingham.

There are a number of stunning historic buildings to explore in the Black Country.

From places like Dudley Arts Gallery which includes works by J.M.W. Turner, to historic houses with William Morris interiors to creative industry venues packed with the world's best crystal and glassware. Why not commission a piece yourself?

The New Art Gallery WalsallThe New Art Gallery Walsall is an exciting and architecturally outstanding multimillion-pound landmark building. It is home to the prestigious Garman Ryan collection as well as works by artists as diverse as William Blake, Van Gogh and Picasso. With the largest collection of contemporary Pop Art outside London, Wolverhampton Art Gallery is a must to visit.

There is an abundance of nature and countryside throughout the Black Country. Despite its abundant industrial heritage the Black Country is surprisingly a peaceful haven for walkers and much of the countryside can be seen from the canals.

See an itinerary for two days in the Black Country.

No visit to the Black Country would be complete without a visit to the Black Country Living Museum, in Dudley, where costumed demonstrators and working craftsmen bring Britain’s industrial heyday back to life with their local knowledge, practical skills and unique Black Country humour.

It’s a rare opportunity to step right back in time. Historic buildings from all around the Black Country have been moved and authentically rebuilt at the Museum, to create a tribute to the traditional skills and enterprise of the people that once lived in the heart of industrial Britain. Read a blog about our visit here.

Flamingoes at Dudley ZooAlso in Dudley is the fantastic Dudley Zoological Gardens and Castle, which has been welcoming visitors since 1937 and is home to some of the world's rarest and most exotic animals. The castle was first mentioned in the Domesday Book in 1086.

Don’t miss the Canal Trust, also in Dudley.

The Black Country and Birmingham Canals have a unique place in the history of the Industrial Revolution. The first successful Newcomen steam engine was used to pump water from coalmines near Dudley Castle in 1712 and John Wilkinson, another iron pioneer, introduced coke to his Bradley Furnace at Bilston in around 1758. However it was the emergence of the canal system, which made industrialisation develop extremely rapidly in the Black Country.

Dudley Canal TrustAt the Canal Trust you can experience over 420 million years of history in 45 minutes on a canal trip into Dudley’s limestone caverns. Marvel at the impressive limestone caverns carved by men to access raw material to power the industrial revolution.

You can actually run, cycle or walk from Birmingham to the Black Country along the canals, starting from Gas Street in the centre of the city and on to Dudley and Wolverhampton though Galton Valley.

If sport’s your thing, visit Wolverhampton Racecourse - Britain's first floodlit horse racing track bringing you the thrills of racing, day and night or check whether Wolverhampton Wanderers, one of the region’s best known football teams is playing at home.

Fancy giving your home a makeover? Then visit the regions fantastic IKEA, Birmingham with nearly fifty room sets, three full size homes and over 9500 products. Along with their famous meatballs in their restaurant and children’s activities during holidays it really can offer something for everyone.

For more ideas of places to visit, check out the Black Country tourism website.

 

 

Eating and drinking

The Black Country is famous for real ale and excellent cuisine available in a diverse collection of restaurants, takeaways, and pubs that really do cater for everyone.

In the towns you’ll find plenty of familiar names as well as a host of great independent restaurants like Di Napoli in Oldbury, a highly-rated Italian or the Crooked House in Dudley, described by one reviewer as “posh, with a Black Country twist!”

And it’s not just in Birmingham that you’ll find great Asian food. Shalimar Indian Cuisine in West Bromwich and Suki’s Bar & Indian Restaurant in Darlaston, Wallsall, both hold coveted Black Country Tourism Awards for their food and service.

Established in the year 1797, situated in Stourbridge, Nickolls & Perks is the oldest wines and spirits merchant in the UK outside London. Bordeaux, Champagne, Vintage Port & Whisky are their main specialist areas, they have recently been named by Which Wine Guide as "The Bordeaux Wine Merchant Specialist of the UK". They regularly host tasting events for retail and corporate customers in their 16th Century Cellars and other venues in the Midlands.

Essentials

Maps & Guides

Maps & Guides for your visit.

Read More

Getting around

Getting around Birmingham couldn’t be easier...

Read More

Explore

Search for places, events & accommodation...

Read More

Festivals & events

Take a look at what’s on now and coming up here...

Read More

FROM TWITTER

RT @birminghammail: MOST READ: #Birmingham the place to visit in 2015 @RoughGuides @visit_bham http://t.co/5DUquCly8C http://t.co/xeIEMDYk9s

RT @RoughGuides: @tommymarlow @visit_bham Absolutely right. The list is in no order, so #Birmingham is indeed, technically, our joint top c…

RT @amandalowe_bham: Boom! #Brum in top 10 cities of 2015 in influential @RoughGuides... http://t.co/ASFIcb8Yfh …... Lovely stuff! @visit_b

Highlights

New Year's Eve

Top places to spend New Year’s Eve...

Read More

Staffordshire Hoard

Until 31 December - Uncovering a brand new gallery of the fascinating Staffordshire Hoard story.

Read More

Birmingham's Frankfurt Christmas Market & Craft Fair

Until 22 December - The largest authentic German market outside Germany and Austria.

Read More

More festivals & events

More festivals & events coming soon.

Read More

Featured Itineraries

Shopping

Shoppinginbirmingham.com

Plan the perfect shopping trip with full store, centre and brand directories.

Read More

Shopping centres

From the world-famous, 21st Century Bullring to the Victorian elegance of the Great Western Arcade.

Read More

Vibrant streets

Linking the centres are Birmingham’s bustling shopping streets, packed with major brands and boutique independents.

Read More

Markets

Don’t miss Birmingham’s amazing markets – whether it’s the 850-year old Bullring markets or the...

Read More

Jewellery Quarter

Home to more diamond rings, finishing touches and tokens of love than anywhere else in...

Read More

Getting Married in Birmingham

We have everything covered from the rings right up to the venue itself.

Read More

Culture

Art Galleries

Birmingham’s art collection is as wide as it is impressive. 

Read More

Theatre

From touring West End shows to showcasing local talent.

Read More

Music

A huge arena tour or an intimate gig?  You’ll find it here.

Read More

Film

Multiplexes, the UK’s oldest working cinema or art house cool?

Read More

Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery

A vibrant museum in the heart of the city with over 40 galleries.

Read More

Dance

A diverse range of dance groups and venues.

Read More

See More, Feel More

Come, stay and soak up the culture in one of Europe's most vibrant cities.

Read More

Sporting highlights

Rugby World Cup 2015

Birmingham will be playing a key role in the delivery of the Rugby World Cup...

Read More

Cricket

Edgbaston: synonymous with world class international cricket.

Read More

Football

With five top clubs there’s real football choice here.

Read More

Golf

Birmingham offers some outstanding golf courses.

Read More

All sporting events

There’s always something, or someone, to cheer for here

Read More