黑色國家

來吧,由美,傳承和人才隱藏在黑色國家感到驚訝。

 

包括城鎮,如伍爾弗漢普頓,達德利,Smethwick和沃爾索爾以及周圍的鄉村和村莊,在黑色國家可能已經獲得了它的名字來自它的歷史,英國重工業和製造業的發源地,但它是一個令人驚訝的美麗氣息新鮮空氣參觀。

 

可以做的事

有許多事情要做,在黑色國家,如果你正在尋找一個一天的訪問期間,伯明翰。

有許多令人驚嘆的歷史建築在黑色國家探索。

從喜歡的地方達德利藝術畫廊 ,其中包括作品特納,與威廉·莫里斯的內飾來擠滿了世界上最好的水晶和玻璃器皿創意產業場地歷史建築。為什麼不委託一塊自己嗎?

新美術館沃爾索爾新美術館沃爾索爾是一個令人興奮和設計一流的數百萬英鎊的標誌性建築。它是家庭對著名加曼·瑞安收集以及藝術家等不同的威廉·布萊克,梵高和畢加索的作品。倫敦以外的當代波普藝術的大收藏, 伍爾弗漢普頓美術館是必須的訪問。

有自然和鄉村的豐富整個黑色國家。儘管其豐富的工業遺產的黑色國家是出奇的步行者一個寧靜的天堂和大部分農村能夠從運河可以看出。

看到一個行程在黑色國家兩天。

沒有訪問黑色國家將是不完整參觀布萊克地區生活博物館 ,達德利,其中打扮示威者和工匠的工作帶來英國的工業鼎盛時期回到生活與他們的當地知識,實踐技能和獨特的黑色幽默國家。

這是一個難得的機會,加強右後衛的時間。來自世界各地的黑色國家歷史建築都被感動,真正的重建在博物館,創建一個致敬傳統技能和企業,一旦住在英國工業的心臟的人。 看了我們的博客訪問這裡

火烈鳥在達德利動物園此外,在達德利是夢幻般的達德利動物園及城堡 ,已接待遊客自1937年以來,是家庭對一些世界上最稀有,最奇特的動物。城堡最早是在末日審判書於1086年提及。

千萬不要錯過運 ​​河信任 ,也達德利。

黑色國家和伯明翰運河在工業革命的歷史上獨特的地方。第一次成功的紐科門蒸汽機用於1712從近達德利城堡煤礦抽水和約翰·威爾金森,另一個鐵先鋒,推出焦炭他布拉德利爐比爾斯頓在1758年左右但是它是運河系統的出現,這使工業化在黑色國家發展極為迅速。

達德利運河信任在運河信任,你可以在45分鐘內的運河之旅達德利的石灰岩溶洞體驗超過420萬年的歷史。驚嘆於雕刻男人訪問原料石灰石令人印象深刻的洞穴,以工業革命提供動力。

實際上,你可以運行,週期或從伯明翰步行到黑色國家沿著運河,從天然氣街在城市的中心,到達德里和伍爾弗漢普頓,雖然高爾頓谷開始。

如果運動是你的事,請訪問伍爾弗漢普頓賽馬場 -英國第一個泛光燈照明的賽馬道帶給你的賽車,白天和夜間的驚險刺激,或檢查是否狼隊 ,該地區最知名的足球隊之一,又是主場作戰。

花式讓你的家改頭換面?然後參觀區域夢幻般的宜家,伯明翰近50套房,三全尺寸的家庭和超過9500的產品。除了其著名的肉丸在他們的餐廳,並在假期孩子們的活動真的可以提供每個人的東西。

對於地方參觀更多的想法,檢查出黑色國家旅遊網站。

 

 

飲食

黑色國家是著名的鮮啤酒和餐館,外賣店,酒吧和這確實滿足大家多樣化的收集提供一流的美食。

在城鎮,你會發現很多熟悉的名字,以及主機一樣偉大的獨立的餐廳的帝納波利奧爾德伯里,一個高度評價意大利或怪屋達德利,由一位評論家形容為“豪華,用黑色國家擰!“

而且它不只是在伯明翰,你會發現巨大的亞洲食品。 夏利馬爾印度菜在西布羅姆維奇和淑惠的酒吧和印度餐廳在Darlaston,Wallsall,都為他們的食物和服務持有覬覦黑色國家旅遊獎。

成立於公元1797年,坐落於Stourbridge的, Nickolls&心動是在倫敦, 波爾多,香檳之外,英國最古老的葡萄酒和烈性酒的商人,復古港口和威士忌是他們的主要專業領域,他們最近被評為由葡萄酒指南為“英國的波爾多酒商專家”。他們定期舉辦針對零售和企業客戶在他們的16世紀酒窖在中部地區品嚐活動等場地。

要點

地圖與指南

地圖和指南為您的光臨。

閱讀更多

四處逛逛

四處逛逛伯明翰再簡單不過了......

閱讀更多

探索

搜索地點,活動和住宿...

閱讀更多

節日及活動

一起來看看什麼在此時此地來了...

閱讀更多

FROM TWITTER

RT @BhamPhotoFest: EXTRA TICKETS RELEASED!! The original allocation of 100 tickets sold out in no time at all! As a result of this demand w…

RT @BM_AG: We're pleased to share this great news! Over a quarter of a million people visited #DippyonTour spending £4.2million in the city…

RT @JQBID: It's official, we have some truly amazing pubs in the #JQ 🍻! As featured in today's @birminghampost the @CAMRA_Official Good Bee…

體育亮點

文化

藝術畫廊

伯明翰的藝術收藏品是一樣寬,它是令人印象深刻。

閱讀更多

影片

复,英國最古老的電影院工作或美術家很酷?

閱讀更多

伯明翰博物館和藝術畫廊

一個充滿活力的博物館在城市的心臟有超過40個展廳。

閱讀更多

舞蹈

一個多元化的舞蹈團體和場所。

閱讀更多

看多了,覺得比較

得來,留得住,沉浸在文化在歐洲最具活力的城市之一。

閱讀更多

購物

Shoppinginbirmingham.com

計劃全店,中心和品牌目錄完美的購物之旅。

閱讀更多

購物中心

來自世界著名的,21世紀的鬥牛場的西部大商場的維多利亞式的優雅。

閱讀更多

充滿活力的街道

鏈接中心是伯明翰繁華的購物街,擠滿了各大品牌和精品獨立。

閱讀更多

市場

千萬不要錯過伯明翰的驚人的市場 - 無論是850歲的鬥牛市場或正規農貿市場。

閱讀更多

珠寶區

首頁更多的鑽戒,收尾和定情比其他地方的國家。

閱讀更多

在伯明翰結婚

我們擁有一切,從覆蓋環說得最多的場館本身。

閱讀更多

The Black Country

Come and be surprised by the beauty, heritage and talent hidden within the Black Country.

 

Including towns such as Wolverhampton, Dudley, Smethwick and Walsall as well as the surrounding countryside and villages, The Black Country might have earned its name from its history as the original home of British heavy industry and manufacturing, but it is a surprisingly beautiful breath of fresh air to visit.

 

Things to do

There is a multitude of things to do in the Black Country, if you are looking for a day out during your visit to Birmingham.

There are a number of stunning historic buildings to explore in the Black Country.

From places like Dudley Arts Gallery which includes works by J.M.W. Turner, to historic houses with William Morris interiors to creative industry venues packed with the world's best crystal and glassware. Why not commission a piece yourself?

The New Art Gallery WalsallThe New Art Gallery Walsall is an exciting and architecturally outstanding multimillion-pound landmark building. It is home to the prestigious Garman Ryan collection as well as works by artists as diverse as William Blake, Van Gogh and Picasso. With the largest collection of contemporary Pop Art outside London, Wolverhampton Art Gallery is a must to visit.

There is an abundance of nature and countryside throughout the Black Country. Despite its abundant industrial heritage the Black Country is surprisingly a peaceful haven for walkers and much of the countryside can be seen from the canals.

See an itinerary for two days in the Black Country.

No visit to the Black Country would be complete without a visit to the Black Country Living Museum, in Dudley, where costumed demonstrators and working craftsmen bring Britain’s industrial heyday back to life with their local knowledge, practical skills and unique Black Country humour.

It’s a rare opportunity to step right back in time. Historic buildings from all around the Black Country have been moved and authentically rebuilt at the Museum, to create a tribute to the traditional skills and enterprise of the people that once lived in the heart of industrial Britain. Read a blog about our visit here.

Flamingoes at Dudley ZooAlso in Dudley is the fantastic Dudley Zoological Gardens and Castle, which has been welcoming visitors since 1937 and is home to some of the world's rarest and most exotic animals. The castle was first mentioned in the Domesday Book in 1086.

Don’t miss the Canal Trust, also in Dudley.

The Black Country and Birmingham Canals have a unique place in the history of the Industrial Revolution. The first successful Newcomen steam engine was used to pump water from coalmines near Dudley Castle in 1712 and John Wilkinson, another iron pioneer, introduced coke to his Bradley Furnace at Bilston in around 1758. However it was the emergence of the canal system, which made industrialisation develop extremely rapidly in the Black Country.

Dudley Canal TrustAt the Canal Trust you can experience over 420 million years of history in 45 minutes on a canal trip into Dudley’s limestone caverns. Marvel at the impressive limestone caverns carved by men to access raw material to power the industrial revolution.

You can actually run, cycle or walk from Birmingham to the Black Country along the canals, starting from Gas Street in the centre of the city and on to Dudley and Wolverhampton though Galton Valley.

If sport’s your thing, visit Wolverhampton Racecourse - Britain's first floodlit horse racing track bringing you the thrills of racing, day and night or check whether Wolverhampton Wanderers, one of the region’s best known football teams is playing at home.

Fancy giving your home a makeover? Then visit the regions fantastic IKEA, Birmingham with nearly fifty room sets, three full size homes and over 9500 products. Along with their famous meatballs in their restaurant and children’s activities during holidays it really can offer something for everyone.

For more ideas of places to visit, check out the Black Country tourism website.

 

 

Eating and drinking

The Black Country is famous for real ale and excellent cuisine available in a diverse collection of restaurants, takeaways, and pubs that really do cater for everyone.

In the towns you’ll find plenty of familiar names as well as a host of great independent restaurants like Di Napoli in Oldbury, a highly-rated Italian or the Crooked House in Dudley, described by one reviewer as “posh, with a Black Country twist!”

And it’s not just in Birmingham that you’ll find great Asian food. Shalimar Indian Cuisine in West Bromwich and Suki’s Bar & Indian Restaurant in Darlaston, Wallsall, both hold coveted Black Country Tourism Awards for their food and service.

Established in the year 1797, situated in Stourbridge, Nickolls & Perks is the oldest wines and spirits merchant in the UK outside London. Bordeaux, Champagne, Vintage Port & Whisky are their main specialist areas, they have recently been named by Which Wine Guide as "The Bordeaux Wine Merchant Specialist of the UK". They regularly host tasting events for retail and corporate customers in their 16th Century Cellars and other venues in the Midlands.

Essentials

Maps & Guides

Maps & Guides for your visit.

Read More

Getting around

Getting around Birmingham couldn’t be easier...

Read More

Explore

Search for places, events & accommodation...

Read More

Festivals & events

Take a look at what’s on now and coming up here...

Read More

FROM TWITTER

RT @birminghammail: MOST READ: #Birmingham the place to visit in 2015 @RoughGuides @visit_bham http://t.co/5DUquCly8C http://t.co/xeIEMDYk9s

RT @RoughGuides: @tommymarlow @visit_bham Absolutely right. The list is in no order, so #Birmingham is indeed, technically, our joint top c…

RT @amandalowe_bham: Boom! #Brum in top 10 cities of 2015 in influential @RoughGuides... http://t.co/ASFIcb8Yfh …... Lovely stuff! @visit_b

Highlights

New Year's Eve

Top places to spend New Year’s Eve...

Read More

Staffordshire Hoard

Until 31 December - Uncovering a brand new gallery of the fascinating Staffordshire Hoard story.

Read More

Birmingham's Frankfurt Christmas Market & Craft Fair

Until 22 December - The largest authentic German market outside Germany and Austria.

Read More

More festivals & events

More festivals & events coming soon.

Read More

Featured Itineraries

Shopping

Shoppinginbirmingham.com

Plan the perfect shopping trip with full store, centre and brand directories.

Read More

Shopping centres

From the world-famous, 21st Century Bullring to the Victorian elegance of the Great Western Arcade.

Read More

Vibrant streets

Linking the centres are Birmingham’s bustling shopping streets, packed with major brands and boutique independents.

Read More

Markets

Don’t miss Birmingham’s amazing markets – whether it’s the 850-year old Bullring markets or the...

Read More

Jewellery Quarter

Home to more diamond rings, finishing touches and tokens of love than anywhere else in...

Read More

Getting Married in Birmingham

We have everything covered from the rings right up to the venue itself.

Read More

Culture

Art Galleries

Birmingham’s art collection is as wide as it is impressive. 

Read More

Theatre

From touring West End shows to showcasing local talent.

Read More

Music

A huge arena tour or an intimate gig?  You’ll find it here.

Read More

Film

Multiplexes, the UK’s oldest working cinema or art house cool?

Read More

Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery

A vibrant museum in the heart of the city with over 40 galleries.

Read More

Dance

A diverse range of dance groups and venues.

Read More

See More, Feel More

Come, stay and soak up the culture in one of Europe's most vibrant cities.

Read More

Sporting highlights

Rugby World Cup 2015

Birmingham will be playing a key role in the delivery of the Rugby World Cup...

Read More

Cricket

Edgbaston: synonymous with world class international cricket.

Read More

Football

With five top clubs there’s real football choice here.

Read More

Golf

Birmingham offers some outstanding golf courses.

Read More

All sporting events

There’s always something, or someone, to cheer for here

Read More