Das Black Country

Kommen Sie hierher und lassen Sie sich von der Schönheit, Tradition und dem Talent überraschen, die in Black Country verborgen sind.

 

Darunter Städte wie Wolverhampton, Dudley, Smethwick und Walsall sowie die umliegende Landschaft und Dörfer, könnte das Schwarz Land seinen Namen von seiner Geschichte als die ursprüngliche Heimat der britischen Schwerindustrie und Fertigung verdient haben, aber es ist eine überraschend schöne Hauch Frischluft zu besuchen.

 

Ausflüge & Unternehmungen

Es gibt eine Vielzahl von Aktivitäten in der Schwarz Land zu tun, wenn Sie nach einem erlebnisreichen Tag bei Ihrem Besuch in Birmingham suchen.

Es gibt eine Reihe von beeindruckenden historischen Gebäuden im Schwarz Land zu erkunden.

Von den Plätzen wie Dudley Arts Gallery mit Werken von JMW Turner, den historischen Häusern mit William Morris Interieurs zu Kreativwirtschaft Veranstaltungsorten mit der weltweit besten Kristall und Glaswaren verpackt sind. Warum ein Stück selbst nicht in Auftrag geben?

The New Art Gallery Walsall The New Art Gallery Walsall ist eine spannende und architektonisch herausragenden Multimillionen-Pfund-Landmark-Gebäude. Es ist die Heimat der renommierten Garman Ryan Sammlung sowie Werke von so unterschiedlichen Künstlern wie William Blake, Van Gogh und Picasso. Mit der größten Sammlung zeitgenössischer Pop Art außerhalb von London, Wolverhampton Art Gallery ist ein Muss für einen Besuch.

Es gibt eine Fülle von Natur und Landschaft in der gesamten Schwarz Land. Trotz seiner reichen industriellen Erbe der Schwarz Land ist überraschend eine friedliche Oase für Wanderer und viel von dem Land aus den Kanälen zu sehen.

Eine Rundfahrt für zwei Tage im Black Country.

Kein Besuch in der Schwarz Land wäre komplett ohne einen Besuch in der Black Country Living Museum , in Dudley, wo kostümierte Demonstranten und Arbeitshandwerker bringen industrielle Blütezeit Großbritanniens wieder zum Leben mit ihren lokalen Kenntnisse, praktische Fertigkeiten und einzigartige Black Country Humor.

Es ist eine seltene Gelegenheit, richtig in der Zeit zurück zu treten. Historische Gebäude aus aller Schwarz Land wurden verschoben und authentisch im Museum wieder aufgebaut, um eine Hommage an die traditionellen Fähigkeiten und Unternehmens der Menschen, die einst im Herzen des Industriebritannien gelebt erstellen. Lesen Sie einen Blog über unseren Besuch hier .

Flamingos in Dudley Zoo Auch in Dudley ist die fantastische Dudley Zoological Gardens und das Schloss , das seit 1937 Gäste willkommen heißt und ist die Heimat einiger der seltensten und exotische Tiere der Welt. Die Burg wurde zum ersten Mal im Domesday Book im Jahre 1086 erwähnt.

Verpassen Sie nicht die Canal Vertrauen , auch in Dudley.

Die Black Country und Birmingham Canals haben einen einzigartigen Platz in der Geschichte der industriellen Revolution. Die erste erfolgreiche Newcomen Dampfmaschine wurde verwendet, um Wasser aus Kohlebergwerken in der Nähe von Dudley Castle im Jahre 1712 zu pumpen und John Wilkinson, ein anderes Eisenbahnbrecher, eingeführt Koks, seine Bradley Ofen bei Bilston in rund 1758. Allerdings war die Entstehung des Kanalsystems, das aus Industrialisierung entwickeln extrem schnell im Black Country.

Dudley Canal Vertrauen Am Canal Vertrauen können Sie mehr als 420 Millionen Jahre der Geschichte in 45 Minuten auf einer Kanalfahrt in Dudleys Kalksteinhöhlen erleben. Bestaunen Sie die von Männern geschnitzt, um Rohstoff zugreifen beeindruckende Kalksteinhöhlen an die Macht der industriellen Revolution.

Sie können tatsächlich laufen, Fahrrad oder zu Fuß von Birmingham nach dem Schwarz Land entlang der Kanäle, ausgehend von Gas Street im Zentrum der Stadt und auf den Dudley und Wolverhampton wenn Galton-Tal.

Wenn Sport ist Ihre Sache, besuchen Sie Wolverhampton Racecourse - Großbritanniens erste Flutlicht-Pferderennbahn bringt Sie den Nervenkitzel des Rennsports, Tag und Nacht oder ob Wolverhampton Wanderers , einer der Region bekanntesten Fußballmannschaften ist zu Hause zu spielen.

Möchtest geben Ihrem Zuhause einen neuen Look? Dann besuchen Sie die Regionen fantastischen IKEA, Birmingham mit fast fünfzig Zimmergarnituren, drei in voller Größe Häusern und über 9.500 Produkte. Zusammen mit ihren berühmten Frikadellen in ihrem Restaurant und Aktivitäten für Kinder während der Ferien kann es wirklich für jeden etwas zu bieten.

Für weitere Ideen der Orte zu besuchen, klicke auf Schwarz Land Tourismus-Website.

 

 

Essen und Trinken

Die Schwarz Land ist berühmt für Real Ale und eine ausgezeichnete Küche in einer vielfältigen Sammlung von Restaurants, Imbissbuden und Kneipen, die wirklich für jeden Geschmack zu bieten.

In den Städten finden Sie zahlreiche bekannte Namen sowie eine Vielzahl von großen unabhängigen Restaurants wie finden Di Napoli in Oldbury, einem hoch bewerteten italienischen oder Crooked House in Dudley, von einem Kritiker als "posh beschrieben, mit einem Schwarz Land drehen! "

Und es ist nicht nur in Birmingham, die Sie großen asiatischen Nahrung zu finden. Shalimar Indian Cuisine in West Bromwich und Suki Bar & Indian Restaurant in Darlaston, Wallsall, beide halten begehrten Black Country Tourism Awards für ihr Essen und Service.

Im Jahr 1797 gegründet und in Stourbridge, gelegen Nickolls & Perks ist die älteste Wein- und Spirituosenhändler in Großbritannien außerhalb von London. Bordeaux, Champagne, Vintage Port & Whisky sind ihre wichtigsten Fachgebieten, sie vor kurzem ernannt worden, mit dem Weinführer als "Die Bordeaux Wine Merchant Fach des UK". Sie veranstalten regelmäßig Proben für Privat- und Firmenkunden in ihren Century Keller aus dem 16. und an anderen Orten in den Midlands.

Grundlagen

Karten und Führer

Karten, Reiseführer für Ihren Besuch.

Weiterlesen

Fortbewegung

Unterwegs in Birmingham könnte nicht einfacher sein ...

Weiterlesen

Erkunden

Suche nach Orten, Veranstaltungen und Übernachtung ...

Weiterlesen

Feste & Veranstaltungen

Schauen Sie, was auf jetzt und hier kommen ...

Weiterlesen

FROM TWITTER

RT @WanderlustChloe: SOOOO excited for my festive trip to @visit_bham this weekend as part of my @VisitEngland ambassadorship! 🎉🇬🇧 It's goi…

RT @Selly_Manor: We can't wait until Saturday - it's the Selly Manor Christmas Craft Fair 2017, 11am - 4pm, and it's FREE ENTRY! Join us fo…

RT @BhamCityCouncil: Great festive performances this #ChristmasinBham with pantos, plays and ballets. Details and booking https://t.co/m4m0

RT @SinghLions: Looking forward to London's magical Christmas lights ❤️My family and I will be in London & Birmingham during Christmas🎄T…

Feste & Veranstaltungen

Sportliche Höhepunkte

Kultur

Kunstgalerien

Kunstsammlung von Birmingham ist so breit wie beeindruckend.

Weiterlesen

Film

Multiplexe, älteste noch funktionierende Kino oder Kunst Haus kühl im Vereinigten Königreich?

Weiterlesen

Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery

Eine lebendige Museum im Herzen der Stadt mit über 40 Galerien.

Weiterlesen

Tanz

Ein breites Spektrum von Tanzgruppen und Veranstaltungsorten.

Weiterlesen

Sehen Sie weitere, Fühlen Mehr

Kommen Sie, bleiben Sie und genießen Sie die Kultur in einer von Europas lebhaftesten Städte.

Weiterlesen

Einkaufen

Shoppinginbirmingham.com

Planen Sie den perfekten Shopping-Trip mit voller Geschäft, Zentrum und Markenverzeichnisse.

Weiterlesen

Einkaufszentren

Von der weltberühmten, 21. Jahrhundert Stierkampfarena in die viktorianische Eleganz der Great Western Arcade.

Weiterlesen

Lebendige Straßen

Die Verknüpfung der Zentren sind belebten Einkaufsstraßen von Birmingham, mit großen Marken und Boutique Unabhängigen...

Weiterlesen

Märkte

Verpassen Sie nicht Birminghams erstaunliche Märkte - ob die 850 Jahre alte Stierkampfarena Märkte oder...

Weiterlesen

Jewellery Quarter

Die Heimat von mehr Diamantringe, den letzten Schliff und Zeichen der Liebe als irgendwo sonst...

Weiterlesen

Erste Schritte in Birmingham Verheiratet

Wir haben alles von den Ringen bedeckt bis zum Veranstaltungsort selbst.

Weiterlesen

The Black Country

Come and be surprised by the beauty, heritage and talent hidden within the Black Country.

 

Including towns such as Wolverhampton, Dudley, Smethwick and Walsall as well as the surrounding countryside and villages, The Black Country might have earned its name from its history as the original home of British heavy industry and manufacturing, but it is a surprisingly beautiful breath of fresh air to visit.

 

Things to do

There is a multitude of things to do in the Black Country, if you are looking for a day out during your visit to Birmingham.

There are a number of stunning historic buildings to explore in the Black Country.

From places like Dudley Arts Gallery which includes works by J.M.W. Turner, to historic houses with William Morris interiors to creative industry venues packed with the world's best crystal and glassware. Why not commission a piece yourself?

The New Art Gallery WalsallThe New Art Gallery Walsall is an exciting and architecturally outstanding multimillion-pound landmark building. It is home to the prestigious Garman Ryan collection as well as works by artists as diverse as William Blake, Van Gogh and Picasso. With the largest collection of contemporary Pop Art outside London, Wolverhampton Art Gallery is a must to visit.

There is an abundance of nature and countryside throughout the Black Country. Despite its abundant industrial heritage the Black Country is surprisingly a peaceful haven for walkers and much of the countryside can be seen from the canals.

See an itinerary for two days in the Black Country.

No visit to the Black Country would be complete without a visit to the Black Country Living Museum, in Dudley, where costumed demonstrators and working craftsmen bring Britain’s industrial heyday back to life with their local knowledge, practical skills and unique Black Country humour.

It’s a rare opportunity to step right back in time. Historic buildings from all around the Black Country have been moved and authentically rebuilt at the Museum, to create a tribute to the traditional skills and enterprise of the people that once lived in the heart of industrial Britain. Read a blog about our visit here.

Flamingoes at Dudley ZooAlso in Dudley is the fantastic Dudley Zoological Gardens and Castle, which has been welcoming visitors since 1937 and is home to some of the world's rarest and most exotic animals. The castle was first mentioned in the Domesday Book in 1086.

Don’t miss the Canal Trust, also in Dudley.

The Black Country and Birmingham Canals have a unique place in the history of the Industrial Revolution. The first successful Newcomen steam engine was used to pump water from coalmines near Dudley Castle in 1712 and John Wilkinson, another iron pioneer, introduced coke to his Bradley Furnace at Bilston in around 1758. However it was the emergence of the canal system, which made industrialisation develop extremely rapidly in the Black Country.

Dudley Canal TrustAt the Canal Trust you can experience over 420 million years of history in 45 minutes on a canal trip into Dudley’s limestone caverns. Marvel at the impressive limestone caverns carved by men to access raw material to power the industrial revolution.

You can actually run, cycle or walk from Birmingham to the Black Country along the canals, starting from Gas Street in the centre of the city and on to Dudley and Wolverhampton though Galton Valley.

If sport’s your thing, visit Wolverhampton Racecourse - Britain's first floodlit horse racing track bringing you the thrills of racing, day and night or check whether Wolverhampton Wanderers, one of the region’s best known football teams is playing at home.

Fancy giving your home a makeover? Then visit the regions fantastic IKEA, Birmingham with nearly fifty room sets, three full size homes and over 9500 products. Along with their famous meatballs in their restaurant and children’s activities during holidays it really can offer something for everyone.

For more ideas of places to visit, check out the Black Country tourism website.

 

 

Eating and drinking

The Black Country is famous for real ale and excellent cuisine available in a diverse collection of restaurants, takeaways, and pubs that really do cater for everyone.

In the towns you’ll find plenty of familiar names as well as a host of great independent restaurants like Di Napoli in Oldbury, a highly-rated Italian or the Crooked House in Dudley, described by one reviewer as “posh, with a Black Country twist!”

And it’s not just in Birmingham that you’ll find great Asian food. Shalimar Indian Cuisine in West Bromwich and Suki’s Bar & Indian Restaurant in Darlaston, Wallsall, both hold coveted Black Country Tourism Awards for their food and service.

Established in the year 1797, situated in Stourbridge, Nickolls & Perks is the oldest wines and spirits merchant in the UK outside London. Bordeaux, Champagne, Vintage Port & Whisky are their main specialist areas, they have recently been named by Which Wine Guide as "The Bordeaux Wine Merchant Specialist of the UK". They regularly host tasting events for retail and corporate customers in their 16th Century Cellars and other venues in the Midlands.

Essentials

Maps & Guides

Maps & Guides for your visit.

Read More

Getting around

Getting around Birmingham couldn’t be easier...

Read More

Explore

Search for places, events & accommodation...

Read More

Festivals & events

Take a look at what’s on now and coming up here...

Read More

FROM TWITTER

RT @birminghammail: MOST READ: #Birmingham the place to visit in 2015 @RoughGuides @visit_bham http://t.co/5DUquCly8C http://t.co/xeIEMDYk9s

RT @RoughGuides: @tommymarlow @visit_bham Absolutely right. The list is in no order, so #Birmingham is indeed, technically, our joint top c…

RT @amandalowe_bham: Boom! #Brum in top 10 cities of 2015 in influential @RoughGuides... http://t.co/ASFIcb8Yfh …... Lovely stuff! @visit_b

Highlights

New Year's Eve

Top places to spend New Year’s Eve...

Read More

Staffordshire Hoard

Until 31 December - Uncovering a brand new gallery of the fascinating Staffordshire Hoard story.

Read More

Birmingham's Frankfurt Christmas Market & Craft Fair

Until 22 December - The largest authentic German market outside Germany and Austria.

Read More

More festivals & events

More festivals & events coming soon.

Read More

Featured Itineraries

Shopping

Shoppinginbirmingham.com

Plan the perfect shopping trip with full store, centre and brand directories.

Read More

Shopping centres

From the world-famous, 21st Century Bullring to the Victorian elegance of the Great Western Arcade.

Read More

Vibrant streets

Linking the centres are Birmingham’s bustling shopping streets, packed with major brands and boutique independents.

Read More

Markets

Don’t miss Birmingham’s amazing markets – whether it’s the 850-year old Bullring markets or the...

Read More

Jewellery Quarter

Home to more diamond rings, finishing touches and tokens of love than anywhere else in...

Read More

Getting Married in Birmingham

We have everything covered from the rings right up to the venue itself.

Read More

Culture

Art Galleries

Birmingham’s art collection is as wide as it is impressive. 

Read More

Theatre

From touring West End shows to showcasing local talent.

Read More

Music

A huge arena tour or an intimate gig?  You’ll find it here.

Read More

Film

Multiplexes, the UK’s oldest working cinema or art house cool?

Read More

Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery

A vibrant museum in the heart of the city with over 40 galleries.

Read More

Dance

A diverse range of dance groups and venues.

Read More

See More, Feel More

Come, stay and soak up the culture in one of Europe's most vibrant cities.

Read More

Sporting highlights

Rugby World Cup 2015

Birmingham will be playing a key role in the delivery of the Rugby World Cup...

Read More

Cricket

Edgbaston: synonymous with world class international cricket.

Read More

Football

With five top clubs there’s real football choice here.

Read More

Golf

Birmingham offers some outstanding golf courses.

Read More

All sporting events

There’s always something, or someone, to cheer for here

Read More